Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Case 885XL

• 16-06-2014 8:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43

I have a 1991 Case 885XL. I dont use it too often. If it is not started for a week when I go to start it the engine turns over for ages before it will start and then only runs very low even with full throttle. No smoke from exhaust either for first while. It is as if it is not getting the diesel. Once running for a minute or so it goes grand. Any ideas how to resolve?

the diesel pump was done about a year ago.

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I'd have thought its a diesel supply issue..
    How about the diesel filters - have you tried changing them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 gjb

Probably over a year but it does not do alot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gazahayes

Check under the tank where the diesel comes out. There's a mesh filter on the end of the bolt that holds the pipe could be a bit of gunk slowing down the flow.
    Sorry that should be banjo bolt under the diesel tank couldn't remember the name of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

had mf going like that for a while too went back. to injector reconditioning man and his advice was drain and clean tank and put soltron or anti-diesel-bug additive in tank, stopped gunk and helped running after week, he recons dsl-bug thrives where condensation in tanks turns to small amounts of water and can be found frequently in filters of tractors not used constantly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 gjb

sounds good stuff. where do you get it? is it expensive?

expensive enough. can get it in coop hardware stores locally now it's around €50 per half litre but i get smaller quantity now,start by adding 20ml to 50 lt in tractor tank and then add 10 ml per 50 lt to main dsl tank as well. run engine for about half hour to get into pumps injectors and work as usual. but after doing so i gave it a miss a few times since,i add it to car diesel occasionally as i got washed dsl somewhere . reputable diesel supplier is important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭greek88

We have an 86 885xl something similar happens with ours only it runs fine for about 10 minutes no problem starting, but then suddenly looses power runs very low and cuts out if you dont have the throttle down fully. it can happen anywhere even if driving on the road full throttle and she nearly cuts out. any suggestions?

Shes is heating a bit so not sure if the radiator core is blocked even though we had a few people look at it and they reckon its fine, cleaned out etc, thermostat is out and cap is off.

sorry but anyone got any suggestions??? thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

greek88 wrote: »
    We have an 86 885xl something similar happens with ours only it runs fine for about 10 minutes no problem starting, but then suddenly looses power runs very low and cuts out if you dont have the throttle down fully. it can happen anywhere even if driving on the road full throttle and she nearly cuts out. any suggestions?

Shes is heating a bit so not sure if the radiator core is blocked even though we had a few people look at it and they reckon its fine, cleaned out etc, thermostat is out and cap is off.

sorry but anyone got any suggestions??? thanks

Are the top and bottom radiator hoses the same temp?

had an issue with 399 similar to yours while mowing lately, it turned out to be choked filters or so i thought( but they were filthy), anyways when filters were changed i could not get dsl into injector pump and went to open banjo bolt on dsl lift pump, it was very slightly loose drawing air when tractor was under pressure going across sloping field,
    neighbour had similar, but his culprit turned out to be pin hole in dsl pipe.a flexible braided dsl hose between the plastic and steel pipes from tank.
    it sounds like fuel starvation so check for any dsl gauze on the dsl line especially blockage on line from tank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭greek88

I ripped the banjo bolt underneath diesel tank about a week ago gauze covered in dirt power washed out the tank which was filthy. Tractor seems to be running fine now apart from the radiation issue we have but it's not under too much pressure by us so well loom at that down the line. Tractor was starved for fuel basically lot of lads complaining about dirty diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭orm0nd

greek88 wrote: »
    I ripped the banjo bolt underneath diesel tank about a week ago gauze covered in dirt power washed out the tank which was filthy. Tractor seems to be running fine now apart from the radiation issue we have but it's not under too much pressure by us so well loom at that down the line. Tractor was starved for fuel basically lot of lads complaining about dirty diesel

the gunk in them tanks usually gets in through the vent pipe , have inverted the pipe in 2 we have here about 15 years ago & no problems since

i had another session with mine but this time it turned out to be the gunk under the gauze in the primer pump, it was full of gunk, wouldn't mind too much about it only the place it stopped in highest field in locality, half an hour with all friends in townland passing and giving a friendly 2 minute blare of horn as they passed back and forth:eek: , im planning revenge already :)
    dirty diesel as in plain dirt you will get over its the fungally infected sort that can cost an injector pump that i got hit with, thats why im adding soltron to all diesel now.
    worse still is the fecking laundered diesel that ruins all, if your lucky enough to hear the warning pinking type sound of it a sound like a petrol engine labouring or like a fistful of ball bearings falling into a plastic cup you may well be able to save your engine if you act immediatly

orm0nd wrote: »
    the gunk in them tanks usually gets in through the vent pipe , have inverted the pipe in 2 we have here about 15 years ago & no problems since

not sure of what you refer to there, but in 390 and 399 mf that i now have, i had problems with water getting in via the cover of diesel tank, neighbour with a 398 came up with solution of cutting a used engine oil filter in half and putting it on over the cap down to below rubber level, looks quare but it works

in regards to overheating problem i certainly would not ignore it. i would get a mechanic to pressure test the coiling system in case a gasket is on verge of blowing between cylinder and water way in block if you get my drift as opposed to blowing oil into cooling system

what do mean when you say cap is off, removing cap will prevent proper cooling of engine. i know of several engines ruined by removing cap when engine was overheating while working. removing it using a long stick if that is possible when boiling may lead to clearing out radiator but you risk getting scalded in process

just wondering would removing thermostat be best policy either, id get new thermostat and fit. another culprit can often be the radiator cap itself ie. it may not be capable of holding the pressure required, can they be tested or just replace altogether.