Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

field trial standard.

• 15-06-2014 7:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5

I am well aware of the work required to get a dog to field trial standard , ive attended a few trials and ive read multiple books and watched multiple dvds. I am also aware that many of ye are against trialling.

But my questions is as follows: how do you know if your dog is up to field trialling standard??

I have a springer which I personally think might have the potential to become a trialling dog, but I do not want to enter him and be let down/embarrassed.

Is there any assessment tests which can be done before trialling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

1. What part of the country are you in?
    2. What age is the dog?
    There are tests coming up one in Slane on the 22nd of this month and one in Mountbellew the end of July. It's a great way of meeting lads that are into trailing and rough shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

I am well aware of the work required to get a dog to field trial standard , ive attended a few trials and ive read multiple books and watched multiple dvds. I am also aware that many of ye are against trialling.

But my questions is as follows: how do you know if your dog is up to field trialling standard??

I have a springer which I personally think might have the potential to become a trialling dog, but I do not want to enter him and be let down/embarrassed.

To know if he'll be a good trial dog all u have to do is bring him out make him quarter for at least 45 min trough 5 dummys and then if he walks behind u for the rest of the day he'll be up to standard, Joke ' well !

allan450 wrote: »
    There are tests coming up one in Slane on the 22nd of this month and one in Mountbellew the end of July.
    Is that mountbellew in Galway.

Ya in galway.my cocker is 11 months so you can enter a puppy test until they are 18 months. I'm only trying it for a bit of craic and getting to know lads. You get no awards for tests so its a great way of seen if you like it.

Whats involved in the puppy is you hunt them on in a quartering pattern when they fire the shot they have to [drop to shot]. Then you sit them up for a mark on a dummy[seen retrieve] with a perfect delivery. Thats it really for puppy.novice is much the same with a blind retrieve and i think some water work.

Just because a few lads trail doesn't mean they don't have some serious rough shooting dogs also. Few lads to come down from Galway to me i have some serious rabbit ground great for steadying dogs to flush they also rough shoot over their spaniels. Trialing at the highest level isnt for me. I dont mind trailing but i dont agree with line breeding and going through dogs like ****, but when money is involved the fun goes out of it. So i'll do these few tests, make a few more contacts, and stick to the rough shooting.

Each to their own

Can u let me know the date and exact place i'd like to go have a look. PLEASE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Kinzig

snipe49 wrote: »
    To know if he'll be a good trial dog all u have to do is bring him out make him quarter for at least 45 min trough 5 dummys and then if he walks behind u for the rest of the day he'll be up to standard, Joke ' well !

youll know if hes a good roughshooters dog when hes hunting in the next parish:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Kinzig wrote: »
    youll know if hes a good roughshooters dog when hes hunting in the next parish:pac:

Massive +1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭ESB Spaniel

snipe49 wrote: »
    Can u let me know the date and exact place i'd like to go have a look. PLEASE.

27th of july Mountbellew Galway

Cheer's pal.

might see you there, a friend running his bitch there i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭hathcock

you'll know when he can polish your shoes for twenty minutes,be totally reliant on instruction to do anything,be half the size of a normal springer,and be almost totally white,with these attributes he'll be up to trial standard.

not in mountbellew different camp west of ireland spaniel club is.their more into rough shooting trailing comes 2nd.

well lads my friends bitch that running in that is one of the hardest bitchs i have ever seen(in cover), so some can do it all i guess.

might see you there, a friend running his bitch there i think.
    Can u enter the dog on the day,

yes you can il find out just incase

Good man.

do the dog's have to ikc reg to enter. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Beretta man

Ya the dog has to be reg..

grand that rules me out then, would prob have won.:pac: Do u know that time it starts pal ?

the last one started at 10am.try their facebook page west of ireland spaniel club.

I'll have a look now pal.