Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving a car with no bumpers

• 15-06-2014 3:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭

can you legally drive a car with no bumpers
    front and back just the plastic removed as i'm getting them resprayed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

dunworth1 wrote: »

Alot of sharp edges behind some bumpers so doubt it.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Missing safety equipment. I don't think it would be legal. I presume your reg would be in the window?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭dunworth1

Sitec wrote: »
    If you hit a pedestrian or another car you won't have a leg to stand on. The Gardai will be all over you if they caught a glimpse of a car in that condition on the road.

figured it wouldn't be but anyways

why though? its just the plastic covers that's being removed the crash bars
    will be still in place

if i was to hit something with/without the bumpers i doubt there would be much if any difference.

ah well guess itd be safer to just get the bus to work for a day or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You'd fail an nct for a crack on the bumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Tape any sharp edges over and you should be alright, and your rear number plate should be illuminated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

figured it wouldn't be but anyways

why though? its just the plastic covers that's being removed the crash bars
    will be still in place

if i was to hit something with/without the bumpers i doubt there would be much if any difference.

ah well guess itd be safer to just get the bus to work for a day or two

Id say the difference between hitting a pedestrian with bumpers and hitting them with with exposed metal is probably quite significant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I had to drive round for a while with a missing bumper (I hit a hare and it obliterated half of it). Plate on the dash, grand job

It's fairly frowned upon, sharp edges and all that, I wouldn't recommend it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭irishmays

If you hit a pedestrian or another car you won't have a leg to stand on. The Gardai will be all over you if they caught a glimpse of a car in that condition on the road.

Nor will the pedestrian because you'll have taken his legs clean off even at low speed a bit of common sense needed here I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭irishmays

So every pedestrian hit by a car looses their legs? Any form of protection is a good thing, it's the reason why new cars have massive bumpers and swept bonnets.

No only cars with no bumpers read the post carefully before you jump down my throat good lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

You car will not be road legal, so no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I drove a car past a Garda speed check with no bonnet. The 3 lads had a good gawk at me alright, but didn't try to pull me over or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Front bumper deffo, but rear could be covered up.