Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

turf plot

• 12-06-2014 2:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭

hello all. I just started this thread in regards to a turf plot that me and my father had used close up to 30 years for rearing turf. it belonged to a neighbour of ours who was a good friend with my father. he used to bring home our turf using a tractor and trailer because we are not farmers and hence do not own any farm machinery. we also used to help him out with his turf too as payment for bringing home our turf.

my father died from cancer in 2011 and in 2012 my neighbour right at the last minute when the machines were on the bog cutting turf told me that he was taking the plot away from me and was going to give it to his daughter and her husband so they can have turf. I said that was okay although I thought he left it too late to be telling me this but I was lucky enough to get another plot right at the last minute.

a year after that in 2013 I was out one night when someone I know told me that the neighbour in question his daughter did not burn any turf in her house and he just threw me off the plot that we had for so long because he just wanted to keep it all for himself. I was told that it was not exactly fair what this guy did (he has a reputation for being quite mean) and this guy who told me all of this said in a joking way that I should claim squatters rights. this man also told me that he in turn heard this from two different people so I don't think I am being lied to or codded. I trust this man he always had time for me.

I just thought I would put this up on boards.ie just to see what other people would have to say about it. it goes round and round in my head every year and I feel quite hard done by even though I know that I did not own that bit of bog where we used to rear the turf. I of course said nothing to the man in question about it because I know he can do what he likes with it.

It was all done one year after my dad passed away and I know this neighbour would not have done it if my dad was alive as the two of them were great friends. Me and my neighbour have never had a falling out or anything and we always got along quite well, we went to his daughters wedding some years ago so we were always quite friendly.

I know it happened 2 years ago now but I just would love some feedback if at all possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

The unfortunate thing is that even tho you used it. The bank didn't belong to you. It was an agreement between your father and another man.

Could you approach him and ask him about getting turf even if you had to pay for the cutting yourself. The way I look at it is that in the end he owns the bog bank so he can do whatever he wishes with it I'm afraid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

It's his turf bank
    Would you not be very grateful for his generosity over the years and say thanks

Ps he probably was afraid that you may claim a squatters right on it that's why he asked you to move

I personally would luck down on someone that would make a claim on someone else's property

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I dont know how you can feel hard done by, its his turf bank, he gave your father turf , not you and the lad spouting sh1te down the pub sounds like hes just stirring the pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

I'd offer him a few quid for it, as the other fellas said you got it long enough for free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

I'd offer him a few quid for it, as the other fellas said you got it long enough for free

As mentioned above it's his bank to do as he pleases. He had an srrangement with your father and ended when he passed away. I would leave it be. Lad in pub looks like he is stirring trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭thrashmetalfan

Reggie. wrote: »
    The unfortunate thing is that even tho you used it. The bank didn't belong to you. It was an agreement between your father and another man.

Could you approach him and ask him about getting turf even if you had to pay for the cutting yourself. The way I look at it is that in the end he owns the bog bank so he can do whatever he wishes with it I'm afraid

sorry reggie for not making this clear, but we always paid for our turf to be cut ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

Its his land hes entitled to do what he wants with it. Don't get how you feel hard done by.

epfff wrote: »
    It's his turf bank
    Would you not be very grateful for his generosity over the years and say thanks

Ps he probably was afraid that you may claim a squatters right on it that's why he asked you to move

I personally would luck down on someone that would make a claim on someone else's property

I never made a claim on someone else's property. stop trying to stir it.

h2005 wrote: »
    Its his land hes entitled to do what he wants with it. Don't get how you feel hard done by.

if that's the case why did he lie to me then? the guy down the pub I trust him and I know he is not telling me lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

[MOD]

thrashmetalfan you asked for feedback, so don't take offence when you get it

[/MOD]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

if that's the case why did he lie to me then? the guy down the pub I trust him and I know he is not telling me lies.

I don't know either guy. Either way its not your land maybe it was the easiest way for him to move you from it?

Oldtree wrote: »
    [MOD]

thrashmetalfan you asked for feedback, so don't take offence when you get it

[/MOD]

not taking offence. just don't like it when someone twists my words around like that. I don't make a claim on anyone's property. he twisted my words around. you have some neck on you to be at this craic oldtree. cop on to yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Jeefff

not taking offence. just don't like it when someone twists my words around like that. I don't make a claim on anyone's property. he twisted my words around. you have some neck on you to be at this craic oldtree. cop on to yourself

Wow, you're not coming off well with your attitude, no wonder yer man got you off his turf bank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Trashmetal, you are being wound up by the lad down the pub.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

[MOD]

thrashmetalfan has been banned for a week for the above post.

Thread closed

[/MOD]