Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ragwort in silage ground

• 12-06-2014 2:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭

Have a bit of ragworth in 14 acres of silage ground that I intend to mow tomorrow and put into the pit. Should they be pulled or just leave em off into the harvester

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ferger1 wrote: »
    Have a bit of ragworth in 14 acres of silage ground that I intend to mow tomorrow and put into the pit. Should they be pulled or just leave em off into the harvester

I'd pull it if it wasn't too much bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Wouldn't like it to be honest. Is there to much to pull? It's still very bad for cattle in silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Wouldn't like the idea of it in silage at all. Pain but pulling may be needed. At least ground is soft with recent rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭ferger1

Reggie. wrote: »
    I'd pull it if it wasn't too much bother

bit of work in it alrite, could they be harmful to in calf sucklers eating pit silage

Wouldn't like it to be honest. Is there to much to pull? It's still very bad for cattle in silage.

To be honest I hadn't even spotted them until we got the heavy rain and it flattened the grass and they started standing tall. Never noticed them before. Bit of work in pulling them on your own!

The problem is the unknown !!

If you cut them and leave them lying on a field they are poisonous for 3-4 weeks.. But preserving them in silage - there would be a serious fear that the poisonous element would still be there at feeding time. Its a cumulative effect too, meaning you could feed an amount and everything seemed fine - then suddenly the symptoms appear and AFAIK there is no going back then !!

I wouldn't be having them in the silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

would it be an option to do hay in the field, the ragworth dies in hay but is preserved in silage,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

To be honest I hadn't even spotted them until we got the heavy rain and it flattened the grass and they started standing tall. Never noticed them before. Bit of work in pulling them on your own!

Better off pulling them for peace of mind. We did ours during the week, its not too bad if u have company

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

_Brian wrote: »

If you cut them and leave them lying on a field they are poisonous for 3-4 weeks.. But preserving them in silage - there would be a serious fear that the poisonous element would still be there at feeding time. Its a cumulative effect too, meaning you could feed an amount and everything seemed fine - then suddenly the symptoms appear and AFAIK there is no going back then !!

+1 it's the liver that it hits and that's irreversible damage. Could you round up a few young lads and belf at it for an hour or two?

We pulled ours today. There was 3 of them in it.

whelan2 wrote: »
    We pulled ours today. There was 3 of them in it.

Your heart must have been broke

yup and my back. seriously if there was alot in it i wouldnt be doing silage on it

Mind made up so, ill just have to pull the most of them

And you need gloves because the chemical can be absorbed through the hands and will affect your liver too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭paulbok

And you need gloves because the chemical can be absorbed through the hands and will affect your liver too..

Leave that to your few pints after the silage is done ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Pull them. Wouldn't take the chsnce. We had 28 acres full of them 5 yrs ago. Pulled them for two seasons and have no more. Father rounded us all up 2 or 3 nights each week and we got it done.
    The cows might seem fine when there eating the silage but 3 months later you will be wondering why you have sick cows

Pull them. Wouldn't take the chsnce. We had 28 acres full of them 5 yrs ago. Pulled them for two seasons and have no more. Father rounded us all up 2 or 3 nights each week and we got it done.
    The cows might seem fine when there eating the silage but 3 months later you will be wondering why you have sick cows

Pullin them all evenin...not long finished. Got the majority of them, still a few left. A handful would hardly make much of a difference would it?

Good point, would never have thought of that

Pullin them all evenin...not long finished. Got the majority of them, still a few left. A handful would hardly make much of a difference would it?

The more you can get the better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Pull All you can see. Better be safe than sorry. Bit of work but there a horrid yoke if cattle eat them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I declared war on ragworts last summer. Every time I was down the fields I'd pull afew and bring them up with me. This year I have yet to see one anywhere on the farm! Progress!!!!

Timmaay wrote: »
    I declared war on ragworts last summer. Every time I was down the fields I'd pull afew and bring them up with me. This year I have yet to see one anywhere on the farm! Progress!!!!

That's genocide :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Why are you even asking that! Pull them all or you could have dead cattle. You need a shoe in the hole :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Timmaay wrote: »
    I have being doing that for years now. There's no point throwing them in the corner of a field as they will seed and blow around. I don't think I have seen one this year yet.
    I reckon if you keep pulling them, the work goes down about 90% every year. I wish rushes were as easy to get rid of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

That's genocide :D

no its manual herbicide :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 sueonmull

Sorry to butt in but wanted to add a couple of points. Agree ragwort poisoning is cumulative which is one of the worst things about ragwort, you don’t usually see any symptoms until it’s too late. But the other thing is that it is toxic even when dead so, whether it’s in silage or hay, ragwort remains just as poisonous as when it was living. When wilted it looses its bitter taste so animals will eat it which is why it is also never a good idea to cut and leave it in a field where grazing animals can get to it. Young stock are particularly vulnerable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Welcome to boards, by the way.....and feel free to but in anytime.;)

Thanks onyerbikepat ....don't encourage me!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

How would you see it in the field up to now? It sticks out like a sows ear after flowering but impossible to find at the rosette stage.

sueonmull wrote: »
    Sorry to butt in but wanted to add a couple of points. Agree ragwort poisoning is cumulative which is one of the worst things about ragwort, you don’t usually see any symptoms until it’s too late. But the other thing is that it is toxic even when dead so, whether it’s in silage or hay, ragwort remains just as poisonous as when it was living. When wilted it looses its bitter taste so animals will eat it which is why it is also never a good idea to cut and leave it in a field where grazing animals can get to it. Young stock are particularly vulnerable.
    have done a good bit of study on ragworth- lost some purchased in animals afew years ago:(- cattle will only eat ragworth while it is standing if there is nothing else for them to eat-bare pasture-. Ragworth is palatable when dying, so if you spray them make sure they are fully dead before letting cattle graze again, can take up to 3 weeks for them to die fully. If you spray and there is frost, this will hamper the kill and they will only half die thus making them palatable. Ragworth is preserved in silage so they will eat it. In hay it is dead and the research says they wont eat it as it is dead-but it could be wrong. If you pull the ragworth dispose of it where no stock can get it.

whelan2 wrote: »
    have done a good bit of study on ragworth- lost some purchased in animals afew years ago:(- cattle will only eat ragworth while it is standing if there is nothing else for them to eat-bare pasture-. Ragworth is palatable when dying, so if you spray them make sure they are fully dead before letting cattle graze again, can take up to 3 weeks for them to die fully. If you spray and there is frost, this will hamper the kill and they will only half die thus making them palatable. Ragworth is preserved in silage so they will eat it. In hay it is dead and the research says they wont eat it as it is dead-but it could be wrong. If you pull the ragworth dispose of it where no stock can get it.

Indeed..
    So say if there were some in a topped field, three weeks should see them ok to let stock back onto??

I spot sprayed our only field with them last summer and it made a huge difference..

Indeed..
    So say if there were some in a topped field, three weeks should see them ok to let stock back onto??

I spot sprayed our only field with them last summer and it made a huge difference..
    once they are fully dead they are supposed to be unpalatable. I pull alot of them every year, they are mostly under the electric fences, not as many around this year- thank fook- went through fields i am doing for silage bales yesterday there was feck all regworth in them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

http://www.teagasc.ie/horticulture/advisory/vegetable/ragwort.asp

Poisoning

Ragwort is a highly poisonous plant if eaten. Ragwort is toxic to cattle, horses, deer, goats, pigs and chickens. Sheep are less affected by it but some trials would suggest lower thrive due to eating ragwort The poisonous substances in ragwort are toxic alkaloids (Jacobine, Jacodine and Jaconine). These cause the liver to accumulate copper, causing ill heath and death. On good pastures livestock avoid eating ragwort, as it is unpalatable, but where there is over-stocking and grass is scarce the weed is unavoidably eaten. The poisonous material contained in ragwort is not destroyed by drying. Hay containing ragwort is particularly dangerous. Grass silage containing ragwort is also a serious source of poisoning. Cases of poisoning occurring in late winter and spring often result from the feeding for some months previously of hay or silage cut from ragwort infested swards.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

http://www.ceh.ac.uk/sci_programmes/documents/ragwort.pdf

Most poisoning incidents occur as a result of eating hay or cut grass in which Ragwort is present.
    The loss of unpalatability allows consumption of greater quantities of dried, than of live material,
    therefore increasing the relative exposure to alkaloids. Indeed, the material may even become
    attractive to livestock when cut. It is therefore very important when controlling this species that
    livestock are excluded from the site until after complete decomposition of the plant has taken
    place.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

Thanks greysides, I've just spent the past few minutes writing a reply/spellchecking and you pretty much said everything was going to say!!!
    Ragwort causes a lot of animated discussion between livestock keepers and conservationists but one thing they all agree on is that ragwort is toxic at all stages of its lifecycle and particularly dangerous when wilted/dried and baled in hay or silage. Anyone with any queries should have a chat with their vet for their opinion.
    The cumulative nature of the damage caused by ragwort means that a toxic dose doesn’t have to be eaten in one go, it can be eaten over a period or months or even years. As has been said, once the symptoms are seen damage to the liver is substantial, then all that can be done, if anything, is to preserve what little liver function is left – economically this is unlikely to be viable in farm stock but careful control of diet and lifestyle can sometimes help companion grazing animals.

sueonmull wrote: »
    Thanks greysides, I've just spent the past few minutes writing a reply/spellchecking and you pretty much said everything was going to say!!!
    Ragwort causes a lot of animated discussion between livestock keepers and conservationists but one thing they all agree on is that ragwort is toxic at all stages of its lifecycle and particularly dangerous when wilted/dried and baled in hay or silage. Anyone with any queries should have a chat with their vet for their opinion.
    The cumulative nature of the damage caused by ragwort means that a toxic dose doesn’t have to be eaten in one go, it can be eaten over a period or months or even years. As has been said, once the symptoms are seen damage to the liver is substantial, then all that can be done, if anything, is to preserve what little liver function is left – economically this is unlikely to be viable in farm stock but careful control of diet and lifestyle can sometimes help companion grazing animals.
    slow and painful death, wouldnt wish it on anyone, all for the sake of either spraying or picking them. To sell animals to anyone knowing they have eaten it is the lowest of the low imo

munkus wrote: »
    Why are you even asking that! Pull them all or you could have dead cattle. You need a shoe in the hole :pac:

You misunderstood, what I meant was maybe there is some that I ve just missed, like smaller ones that may not have outgrown the silage...anything that's visible is gone. Not avoiding picking them at all!!

greysides wrote: »
    http://www.teagasc.ie/horticulture/advisory/vegetable/ragwort.asp

Poisoning

Ragwort is a highly poisonous plant if eaten. Ragwort is toxic to cattle, horses, deer, goats, pigs and chickens. Sheep are less affected by it but some trials would suggest lower thrive due to eating ragwort The poisonous substances in ragwort are toxic alkaloids (Jacobine, Jacodine and Jaconine). These cause the liver to accumulate copper, causing ill heath and death. On good pastures livestock avoid eating ragwort, as it is unpalatable, but where there is over-stocking and grass is scarce the weed is unavoidably eaten. The poisonous material contained in ragwort is not destroyed by drying. Hay containing ragwort is particularly dangerous. Grass silage containing ragwort is also a serious source of poisoning. Cases of poisoning occurring in late winter and spring often result from the feeding for some months previously of hay or silage cut from ragwort infested swards.
    thanks.... hate ragworth:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

A little help from those friends of ours maguire and patterson is the only really 100% way to be sure their not in the wrong place after pulling them....

Zr105 wrote: »
    A little help from those friends of ours maguire and patterson is the only really 100% way to be sure their not in the wrong place after pulling them....
    i put them in the skip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Take the lazy man option. Cut bale sell

satstheway wrote: »
    Take the lazy man option. Cut bale sell

Bad karma there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

munkus wrote: »

I thought ragworth was ok in silage, it was only when it was in hay it was poisonous?

Ignore - I see the post someone put from Teagasc, saying its possibly poisons in silage too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Bellview

I really hate ragworth. The neighbouring farm to me is a waster and on his own he will ensure that pest of a weed will survive. I would love if sfp included weed control.

sprayed under some of the electric fence with roundup/graz on last week, ragworth are really easy to pull up now. Going to do the same on the rest of the fences, saves alot of hard work