Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you buy this tractor?

• 09-06-2014 3:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭

Neighbour has this one on loan for a few days. Spotless inside and out. He reckons its going great. Personally, the hours would put me off (approx 7600). Just wondering what others thought. I don't have a price yet but will find that out.....so how much would ye give for it? (Hope link works.)

http://breensfarmmachinery.blog.com/2013/09/14/2005-renault-celtis-446-rx-4wd/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Parishlad wrote: »
    Neighbour has this one on loan for a few days. Spotless inside and out. He reckons its going great. Personally, the hours would put me off (approx 7600). Just wondering what others thought. I don't have a price yet but will find that out.....so how much would ye give for it? (Hope link works.)

http://breensfarmmachinery.blog.com/2013/09/14/2005-renault-celtis-446-rx-4wd/

Worked on one for 2 years on neighbours farm.
    I found it great tractor for the farm.
    Not to big but still plenty of power for a farm tractor.
    I ploughed with a 3 sod reversible plough pulled it easily, drew corn, stacked bales etc.
    Tbh I cannot fault it at all.
    That comes in a class aswell exact same nearly, john Deere engine.
    It was bought 3 years ago and I think he paid 23 for it. Not a bad price I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

a 2005 renult? must have been old stock the Claas name was on them from '03

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

If it was priced right I see no reason. Hours on a tractor are different to years ago. Then it was work hours as opposed to running hours now. the hours work out at about 850/year or about 16/week. Not low but not outrageous. As micraX says it might not have been registered for a year or two.

I get a good mechanic to check it out. A lad that know renaults would be ideal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

If it was priced right I see no reason. Hours on a tractor are different to years ago. Then it was work hours as opposed to running hours now. the hours work out at about 850/year or about 16/week. Not low but not outrageous. As micraX says it might not have been registered for a year or two.

I get a good mechanic to check it out. A lad that know renaults would be ideal

My yoke finds it hard to do 5 hrs a week sometimes

micraX wrote: »
    a 2005 renult? must have been old stock the Claas name was on them from '03

You can buy that tractor as a claas aswell it's the exact same.
    The one I worked with was 05 aswell

Reggie. wrote: »

Sometimes lads with newish tractors want to show them off take them to Co-op shop, and go in and leave it running for an hour while some lad is admiring it. If you had a tractor that new you be in it half the week as well.

I must say it's looks like it was very well looked after

Sometimes lads with newish tractors want to show them off take them to Co-op shop, and go in and leave it running for an hour while some lad is admiring it. If you had a tractor that new you be in it half the week as well.

Ah mine is close to that condition ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Ah mine is close to that condition ;)

Mine isn't :)

Don't you start ya pup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

But your only a lazy aul goat :D

*Hides*

Damo810 wrote: »
    But your only a lazy aul goat :D

*Hides*

See that red dot near ya ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Right...just had a quick spin in it. I'll admit I don't know a whole lot about tractors but couldn't really fault it. It ran very well, very smooth up and down through the gears. It is very clean and does look well minded. New tyres all round also. I spoke with salesman earlier this evening. He is looking for €30k for it. Seems a bit on the high side. Would have though initially €25k would be enough for it. He is ringing me back tomorrow with other tractors from another branch in Cashel. So will see what else he has and sus out how far he might budge on the price for this one.

Parishlad wrote: »
    Right...just had a quick spin in it. I'll admit I don't know a whole lot about tractors but couldn't really fault it. It ran very well, very smooth up and down through the gears. It is very clean and does look well minded. New tyres all round also. I spoke with salesman earlier this evening. He is looking for €30k for it. Seems a bit on the high side. Would have though initially €25k would be enough for it. He is ringing me back tomorrow with other tractors from another branch in Cashel. So will see what else he has and sus out how far he might budge on the price for this one.

Best of luck. Don't forget its a buyers market

Cheers Reggie. Not 100% sure I'll be buying right away. It is something that's needed so no harm in looking around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

what horse power is she.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

leg wax wrote: »
    what horse power is she.

The wonder of google :)

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The wonder of google :)

Don't think that link is working sam

leg wax wrote: »
    what horse power is she.

95hp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Fair lift capacity at the rear. Nearly 6 tonnes

The way they check the lift capacity of tractors actually makes them look better than they actually are. I think it is a vertical lift at rear of arms. If you have an implement hanging 10 feet back off arms it lift weight is heavier than it actually weight. The law of the lever come into play