Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tricky situation with turf

• 09-06-2014 11:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭

For the last 3 years i have bought and harvested a plot of turf. The chap who sells it harvests his own and spreads it on a field he has rights to. He has a local guy who takes the money and allocates the plots on his behalf.

All went well up to this year. The 'agent' for want of a better word, told me when i was ordering this years lot that the seller was taking the money up front as some people never paid for what they got previously. This was grand as i always pay upfront anyway
    I was the fourth person to pay so i got the fourth plot. It was marked out with my name by the agent.

The agent phoned me to say that another guy, who hasn't paid for anything, was working on my turf and that he felt threatened when he confronted the guy.

I phoned the guy who basically told me to f off, that he had this plot for years and the agent had no right to allocate it to me. This is not true, I have had it for the last 2 years.

I went down in a fit of temper and demolished the interference he carried out.

Not sure where to go from here, in hindsight i should probably have let it go and got another plot but this area suits me as i can get my car and trailer in, hence i ordered it early.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Turf wars?:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

When it's 3/4 reddy bring her home fast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

When it's 3/4 reddy bring her home fast!

good thinking!

Ive decided to let it go, missus and daughter upset over it. Not worth the hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

If you have a problem...

If no one else can help...

And if you can find him...

Maybe you can hire...

Mr T...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

sparksfly wrote: »
    good thinking!

Ive decided to let it go, missus and daughter upset over it. Not worth the hassle.

Put a few <MOD Snip> in yer man's sods before he brings it home, only problem is you'd want to switch to firewood for next year.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

blue5000 wrote: »
    Put a few <MOD Snip> in yer man's sods before he brings it home, only problem is you'd want to switch to firewood for next year.

Iv herd of that done before, it's supposed to be the right way to get the bang for your buck with turf !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Not nice but it's not worth the hassle op.

Get a different plot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Ming might sort it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Would a pallet of coal not be the answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Would a pallet of coal not be the answer

Sure turf is a way of life lad...on a serious note I seen some blood feuds start over turf plots and the like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

[MOD]

Please refrain from making very dangerous suggestions.

blue5000 and Reggie both received yellow cards for theirs.

[/MOD]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Oldtree wrote: »
    [MOD]

Please refrain from making very dangerous suggestions.

blue5000 and Reggie both received yellow cards for theirs.

[/MOD]
    Come on, yellow cards?

Tongues firmly in cheeks and everyone knows it!!

Come on, yellow cards?

Tongues firmly in cheeks and everyone knows it!!

Your better off leaving it mate. No need to start something off. Can only speak for myself but my own fault for posting it up anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

[MOD]

frazzledhome has received a red card for breach of forum charter. Questioning a Mod action in thread will not be tolerated.

[/MOD]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Turf isn't worth the hassle unless you get it free or very cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Never was turf as popular. Money is scarce and people can save alot if willing to put in a bit of graft.

Sure it's great if you've kids. A productive way for them to contribute to the household without having to break open their piggy banks for the oilman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Muckit wrote: »
    Never was turf as popular. Money is scarce and people can save alot if willing to put in a bit of graft.

Sure it's great if you've kids. A productive way for them to contribute to the household without having to break open their piggy banks for the oilman!

I think kids are so spoilt now that they would nearly tell you to split open their piggy bank sooner than turn turf , and maybe they're fecking right !

There is some quare blood in us when we will fight over a plot of turf .

moy83 wrote: »
    I think kids are so spoilt now that they would nearly tell you to split open their piggy bank sooner than turn turf , and maybe they're fecking right !

There is some quare blood in us when we will fight over a plot of turf .

Never did me any harm....or did it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

op
    the guy organising and who took ur money for the turf should have a bit more cop on, and know what he's at in all fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Turf luck .....

Reggie. wrote: »
    Never did me any harm....or did it :rolleyes:

I think it might have , if you still like the bog :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Maybe tell the other guy to sod off.........

I think it might have , if you still like the bog :D

Strangely the year ain't the same if ya dont go through the "experience"

Not the same but maybe better :D

Well the fathers behind does be warmer because of it

Other way around here , usually the father saves my turf :D Its about the only spoiling he does on me

Lazy git

Lazy git

I'm just not a bogger :p

Oh insults now...Ya wouldn't have the backbone anyways :D

Oh the bogger insults used be good craic in shcool :D

The smell of sticks off ya

I wouldnt mind but I went to school with mostly connemara people and they used be calling me a sheep shagger :rolleyes:

Sure if that's what ya were :p

Still find it hard to pass a nicely shorn ewe :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

If the ewe fits, hah :D

Still find it hard to pass a nicely shorn ewe :D

They weren't far from the mark so :D