Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

three-held-as-fake-persil-scam-is-all-washed up

• 09-06-2014 9:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭

A secret factory making the counterfeit Persil washing powder, at an industrial premises at the Greenogue Business Park in Rathcoole, was raided.

Three men were arrested in the long-running investigation.

The probe into the fake laundry product is understood to have been initiated after a complaint by Unilever, the makers of the authentic Persil range.

A source said the company had purchased and analysed a number of products that were on sale outside the traditional groups or retailers as Persil under a suspicion that they were fake.

After testing confirmed its suspicions, Unilever is said to have made a complaint to gardai who set up an investigation.

Following a surveillance operation, the premises in Rathcoole was raided at noon yesterday and goods to the value of €40,000 were seized.

A statement issued by gardai said the operation was part of the ongoing investigation into organised crime and the sale and supply of counterfeit laundry products.

The three men, aged from their mid-30s to late 50s, were brought to Clondalkin and Ballyfermot garda stations and detained under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act.

All three men were later released without charge. A file is being prepared for the Director of Public Prosecutions.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/three-held-as-fake-persil-scam-is-all-washed-up-30339049.html

Jaysus they will counterfeit anything these days,

Wonder will the men arrested be hung out to dry or will they be deemed whiter than white,wonder what there daz have to say about it all ...

-

• Registered Users Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

I hope they come clean about all this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Were-they-held-and-arrested-one-at-a-time-?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

It will all come out in the wash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I'd say it was a money laundering cover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

The Independant article is just spin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

It'll be all white

• Registered Users Posts: 10,067 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Now this is a soap you can believe in...

...ugh, feel ashamed after that one :(

This thread will be a pun-miester's wet dream!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

They were going to fake Ariel but it got a poor reception...

If only they had been Bold enough to add softener...

• Registered Users Posts: 20,409 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Common knowledge all of that market stuff is fake I thought.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

This thread will be a pun-miester's wet dream!

With the sheets carefully washed afterwards

• Registered Users Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭SeanW

I wonder how they laundered the proceeds? ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Let's just hope the guys caught will clean up there act after this!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

I hear the guards are keeping their powder dry.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

IT will all come out in the wash .

• Registered Users Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I heard they were cutting it with Tesco Value stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Thats the kind of scam ,old Arthur Daley (Minder) would think up .http://youtu.be/IhSOOESBb1I

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

So what are you in for?

eh powder...washing powder

awkward silence