Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toilet Phonecall

• 05-06-2014 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭

Do you talk to people on your phone while using the toilet? I've seen/heard a lot of guys doing this in work recently, and I can't imagine doing it myself. Even at home I think I'd call back afterwards rather than take the call. Is this weird or is it just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Haha. Same thing happens in my place too. It's really bizarre, have they no fcuking shame?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Hold on, I'll check my log.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Sometimes if I am in the middle of a lengthy chat with a friend on the phone, I will have a wee while talking to them... I put loo roll down the toilet first so they don't hear it. I am classy like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

They're either talking shyte, or just taking the pi55.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

ElleEm wrote: »
    Sometimes if I am in the middle of a lengthy chat with a friend on the phone, I will have a wee while talking to them... I put loo roll down the toilet first so they don't hear it. I am classy like that!

Spose you dont flush either in case they here that?! yeah, very classy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

I just don't get it! Talking to a customer or to a sales rep or something while having a sh!te, why do it?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

I sometimes would. Remember doing it to a friend once (he wont even let a woman pour wine at the table he's so feckin uppity and French) - he didn't realise I was in the loo until he heard the toilet flushing in the background. Haha.There aren't enough minutes in the day to get everything done! I would buy time if I could!

...and yet I'm on Boards...hmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I remember the tale of a lad using a public loo in an airport one day.

He was having a poo when he heard a voice from the next cubicle asking him how we was keeping?
    Bemused, he just said "ok" :confused:

"what ye up to?" said the stranger in next cubicle....

"ummmm, not much, just having a poo" he shouted back.

The next he heard was "Jim I'll call you back, some eejit in the next cubicle keeps shouting at me." :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Hang on, can you hold the line....hunnnnnnnf aaah....uuuumf oohh oh god. ...aw yeah...you were saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

The one part of the day where you have a bit of privacy, what would you be doing on the phone for jaysis sake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Hang on, can you hold the line....hunnnnnnnf aaah....uuuumf oohh oh god. ...aw yeah...you were saying?

Its using the bog while on the phone not having a shag ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Have taken phonecalls, but would never make them. However, I always catch up on text and email correspondence while on the throne. My sister complained recently that I often respond to texts 1-2 days later, so had to explain why that was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

No I wouldn't make a call or even answer the phone while I'm on the toilet. But I have had a few calls before to friends when all of a sudden I hear a toilet flush. Dirty bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I worked in 11850 years ago and at the time we were bombarded with call after call. So people ringing the service would be put on hold until they got through to one of us.
    So I finish a call and the next one comes up... "Welcome to 11850" I say and all I hear was the biggest pissing sound. Of course I was like "erm, hello?" but clearly do to the fact he couldnt hear me, or should I say due to the blatant noise he must of had the mobile next to his knob or something :pac:

You heard him muttering to himself too. Sounded locked off his face. Was only 12pm in the day :pac:

Why. Just why would you take a slash while on hold? lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

I worked in 11850 years ago and at the time we were bombarded with call after call. So people ringing the service would be put on hold until they got through.

I didn't think they even had phones 11850 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

Having a chat while pinching a loaf, what harm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I'd have a quiet pee while on the loo, never a poo though. It would only happen if I was already talking to someone and needed to go, I wouldn't ordinarily bring my phone to the bathroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Certainly not. If having a textbook turd then you should use the time to relax and practice some relaxation and mindfulness techniques. You can ring the person when you've finished. Can't be that time poor.

If enduring a more distressing movement (say after a feed of Guinness and curry) then the last thing the caller at the other end of the line needs to hear is gasps, moans, sighs, farts, squeaks and curses. Leave it off. You can close the business deal once you've managed to tidy up after the fiasco. You'll be calmer and less distracted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

Eat more fibre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

I do it the odd time :o

I wander around the house if I'm on a long phone call to one of my best friends, so if I need to go I'll go. They're sort of used to it.

I like to include my friends in the nitty gritty of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Danjamin1 wrote: »
    Do you talk to people on your phone while using the toilet? I've seen/heard a lot of guys doing this in work recently, and I can't imagine doing it myself. Even at home I think I'd call back afterwards rather than take the call. Is this weird or is it just me?

It's called multitasking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Danjamin1 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

feargale wrote: »

It's called having a sh!t while you're talking to someone and I find it weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Have taken phonecalls, but would never make them. However, I always catch up on text and email correspondence while on the throne. My sister complained recently that I often respond to texts 1-2 days later, so had to explain why that was.

have you tried more fibre in your diet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

My old housemate would do that, and flush the toilet while still on the phone. He was only ever on to his ma though, so I suppose she didn't mind. He used to also take his laptop in if he was watching something. That was weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Gongoozler wrote: »
    My old housemate would do that, and flush the toilet while still on the phone. He was only ever on to his ma though, so I suppose she didn't mind. He used to also take his laptop in if he was watching something. That was weird.

Ehhh taking the laptop , I'd imagine he's decided to crack one off to whatever art film hes watching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Ehhh taking the laptop , I'd imagine he's decided to crack one off to whatever art film hes watching.

I don't doubt it was art films but unfortunately the walls were thin enough for me to know he was taking a poo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭shalalala

I suffer with Crohns, so when I am in work, I spend a lot of my breaks on the loo doing either thing so I have to make calls while I am there. It is grand til you have to flush! That can be embarrassing :o