Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

two wheeled tractor

• 04-06-2014 9:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭

Anyone know anything about these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

Lot around north county Dublin on veg packers, front axle is taken off and put at the back and a Curtin sided packer is pur on with an arm. Company called pelican converted loads of David Brown's and case ih's. There's also a lindini one in lusk. I'll post some photos tomorrow:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That was a mountain bike you seen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Askim

Yes, guy I rent the acre has one, use it for rotovating, hoeing between drills & digging potatoes, its a diesel one, makes gardening a lot easier.
    What do you want to use it for ???

A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Aghoney

I have been using a BCS two wheel tractor for a few months. In addition to the rototiller attachment that I have used this spring to prepare the soil for potatoes and other vegetables, I bought a cutter bar that I used to clear the vegetation from 2 acres of land that was covered in rushes, blackberry and nettle. (Pigs are now clearing what is left, and I hope to reseed the pasture in September). I am now thinking of buying a fertilizer spreader attachment to use to spread granulated lime and fertilizer. Overall I like the unit a lot, and I find it quite useful. For any job that is too big for the two wheel tractor, I can ask a neighbour for help with his tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

tattycat wrote: »
    Anyone know anything about these?

Tabbycat, please don't start the same thread in 2 forums. Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭tattycat

Oldtree. Sorry. Thought it was 2 different forums. Smallholding, & Farming nd Forestry.
    Askim. I'm looking to use it as a rotovator, for hay, for cleaning out stables, for topping fields. Only on 3-4 acres.
    Aghoney, did you buy it new here, or did you import it? If so from where? I guess from what you say you've found it really useful. Are the different attatchments easy enough to come by, and what's it been like to maintain? Sorry to ask so many questions. ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Hi Tattycat, I've had a BCS for about 5 years. I've got the Rotivator, plough, shredder, motorised plough, potatoe lifter and scythe.

They're "OK", but if I had to do it all over again I'd maybe do something different.

What do you want it to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭monkeynuz

tattycat, I had an Agria two wheeled tractor some years ago, very good 5 forward gears and reverse, adaptable handlebars and reversible, pto shaft too.

They are excellent pieces of kit and worth investing in, there is a firm in west cork I believe that are agents for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

1024px-2011_Dec_Bangladesh_014.JPG

Is this what you are talking about?

Sam great picture, thanks for posting.

I remember on holiday, seeing the old boys in Gozo going to the local bar on similar, if smaller, vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Don't mean to be crass lads but what sort of money are ye talking??

If you were to pick up a diesel one and a few implements??

I was of the opinion that they were maybe 80% the price if a nice 35x and not as useful.

_Brian wrote: »
    Don't mean to be crass lads but what sort of money are ye talking??

If you were to pick up a diesel one and a few implements??

I was of the opinion that they were maybe 80% the price if a nice 35x and not as useful.

Brian, that's probably not a bad rule of thumb costwise - new 2 wheel to s/h 35, but usefulness depends a lot on what you need.

If you've got 1 acre and you want to grow spuds, a 2 wheel will probably do all you need.

£4K for the topdog tractor.

Prices here http://www.tracmaster.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Maphisto wrote: »
    Brian, that's probably not a bad rule of thumb costwise - new 2 wheel to s/h 35, but usefulness depends a lot on what you need.

If you've got 1 acre and you want to grow spuds, a 2 wheel will probably do all you need.

£4K for the topdog tractor.

Prices here http://www.tracmaster.co.uk/

Steep enough when you add on a few implements.
    But on smaller veg gardens I could see the manuverability being superior over a small tractor. Bit you'd nearly need to be commercial to warrant the spend.

_Brian wrote: »
    Steep enough when you add on a few implements.
    But on smaller veg gardens I could see the manuverability being superior over a small tractor. Bit you'd nearly need to be commercial to warrant the spend.

Agree. We moved back here in 2008 and I went the 2 wheel route. I kind of regret it now - but then I do most things arse backwards.

Just picked up a Massey 20. Grand little yoke and if you've the space for it, you can do so much more with a four wheeeler. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Fruithill farm in bantry sell the Agria ones. a friend has a S.E.P. , (which he has a small power harrow,and a flail mower,and a small plough for...) .
    Very handy if you want specific pieces of small kit...
    Good few manufacturers out there ,and some decent second hand machines out there (landscapers use them )

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭tattycat

Thanks folks. Some good points to take into account. Cost and availability always. OH suffers with his back, how much 'grunt' is needed to manoeuvre them?
    We've got about 4 acres nd wanted it for preparing bed's, mucking out stables, cutting hay, topping, nd possible use for pto...

tattycat wrote: »
    Thanks folks. Some good points to take into account. Cost and availability always. OH suffers with his back, how much 'grunt' is needed to manoeuvre them?
    We've got about 4 acres nd wanted it for preparing bed's, mucking out stables, cutting hay, topping, nd possible use for pto...

If it were me, I wouldn't go down the 2 wheel route.

If OH suffers with back pain, he will feel it when using the motorised plough. Depending on your ground you need a bit of effort/strength from the user as it tries to veer off course.

If you are making hay (when the sun shines :)) the scythe cutter is OK. The hay rake, I've only seen pictures of, but wasn't that impressed. Are you planning to bale it? The 2W will be of little help with handling the bales. Whereas even the smallest 4W tractor you can stick 3 or 4 bales on the transport box. With a bit of practice you could even pick them up with the transport box. It's quicker when you're working against the weather and easier on OH's back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭Markcheese

You'd pick up a small iseki(or similar) 4 wheel drive tractor for smallish money, and could use second hand small implements ,
    There'd be a lot more pulling and hauling with a two wheeler....

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

for the same price as a new two wh
    eeler, you could pick up a smallish International oe similar. much more versatile and when you are talking about four acres to plough and till, a more practical proposition. Bad backs don't get better by hard work. I have a Howard Gem, and I would hate to have to face into four acres with it. A single furrow 12 inch plough Will do about an acre a day, and inivolve walking 11 miles.i