Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Switch on steering column of 2004 vectra

• 03-06-2014 3:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭

Hey lads,

I just bought a 2004 vectra and it has a switch beside the ignition with a red LED on it, the LED only comes on when i turn the lights on, any idea what its for?

Any help is appreciated!

john

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Has it got front fogs or something? I'm assuming the switch isn't factory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

I'm not sure if its factory but I can't find anything inline about it. Its annoying me so I keep going out and messing around with it. Just pulled it out and it has a black and red cable attached and some insulating tape wrapped around the housing of the switch.

It only gets power to it when I turn on front lights so must be fog lights but I can't get them on just yet!

Still hoping its nitro :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

In before the flux capacitator

Fire extinguisher?

Nah tje boot is in tact so no second engine. Looks like I'm gonna have to spend money to find out what it does. At the very least I hope its a turbo switch

Can't wire up the new radio I bought so bringing it down to the garage in the morning to have it looked at

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

Did you check the back of the fogs for a black and red wire? Would you not just pop the bonnet or climb underneath and follow the wires?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Maybe Vin Diesel owned it before you and fitted NOS. :D

Check the boot for the NOS tank.

roadsmart wrote: »
    Did you check the back of the fogs for a black and red wire? Would you not just pop the bonnet or climb underneath and follow the wires?

Hey kiddo its lashing rain out! And I dont know cars that well but I'm sure black and red cables will be all over the place! :o

I know one of the boy racers who hang around these forums are gonna come on saying they installed it and it switches on the cigarette lighter and the car has been clocked

Might be for the sirens, probably an ex garda car.
    Almost certainly.

Could be for a taxi light too.

Might be for a James Bond style number plate flipper for when the previous owner was robbing petrol or going through the m50 toll

007-plate.jpg

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Might be for the sirens, probably an ex garda car.
    Almost certainly.

Could be for a taxi light too.

Now your scaring me

Hey kiddo its lashing rain out! And I dont know cars that well but I'm sure black and red cables will be all over the place! :o

I know one of the boy racers who hang around these forums are gonna come on saying they installed it and it switches on the cigarette lighter and the car has been clocked

Any factory fitted wiring will be coated and won't have electrical tape on it. If the same taped wires are at the back of the fogs it's a safe bet they're connected.

just had a quick look and cant see any wired going to the fog light but the ground is wet so i didnt get under the car.

What should i look for to help identifying if its an ex garda car/taxi?

No screw holes in the dash from a meter and no major wear to the back seats either.

It has 82000 miles so i think its fair to say if it was a garda car it wasnt clocked!:confused:

Too many maybes. Just burn it out and claim the insurance money.

seriously though. Relax, its probably just a foglight switch

Colm you should offer you come up and check it out for me as part of your mod responsibilities

Can't this evening, all the mods are at the opening of The National Mark 1 Toyota Previa Museum

44785.jpg

so had a real good luck just now and noticed that the four corners of the car have a hole each which have been covered up with reflectors.makes me think it was an unmarked car and the switch is the siren and lights, is it a good thing or bad thing?? the car runs like a dream, very clean and im assuming that the guards would have to have a car to very high spec??

What's the reg on the car?

not being smart but why you ask? Dont really wanna put the reg up on the fora

Fair enough, you can tell a bit about a car by the reg, especially the reg of the cars immediately before and after.

I doubt its a garda car to be fair.

The plot ripens a little. So I had a friend look at the car with me and we found that the wires leading from the switch on the steering wheel do indeed go to the 4 corners of the car.

But same friend said that garda cars all have Dublin regs and mine is a mh so newest theory is it was a customs or immigration car.

I pulled out the housing where the ashtray goes and found a port which looks like a computer may have been plugged in to.

Can't wait to look in the boot tomorrow to see if they left any loot under the spare wheel!

Now my next question, could I do anything with the switch now for little money? Like a night rider light on the front or coloured LEDs on the side? Don't want to put nitro in it anymore :)

Obd port is usually under ashtray anyway

Would it be a black vectra by any chance?

roadsmart wrote: »
    Would it be a black vectra by any chance?

Nah she's silver. Spotless and runs awesome