Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sports and Tattoos

• 03-06-2014 2:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭

Currently I have 5 tattoos and for a while I've wanted one on my thigh, my own design as well...

BUT....

I play Camogie and I wanted to know what people's opinions are on tattoos on a person that plays sports, especially if it's a big design?

Would you say that my managers would have a problem, team mates or sports club?

Opinions are greatly appreciated

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Currently I have 5 tattoos and for a while I've wanted one on my thigh, my own design as well...

BUT....

I play Camogie and I wanted to know what people's opinions are on tattoos on a person that plays sports, especially if it's a big design?

Would you say that my managers would have a problem, team mates or sports club?

Opinions are greatly appreciated

Can't see it been a problem, tats are very prominent on sports people now. Have seen them on calves of cyclists and arms, back, shoulders, chest of GAA/soccer/rugby players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I think they look hideous and scummy.

But that's just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Big fan of tattoos meself

Not a big fan of poncey soccer stars swanning around with the now obligatory sleeve.

You'll be grand in annyways, get it done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭conditioned games

Tattoos make you look like dirt. But don't think there is any law against them which is a shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    I think they look hideous and scummy.

But that's just me.
    Tattoos make you look like dirt. But don't think there is any law against them which is a shame.

Ah get off your f*ckin' high horses!

What a person does with their body is their own business. Why should yee get all preachy and judgmental about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

You might get a friendly bollocking if they're **** tattoos like barbed wire or a Jesus cross but otherwise there seems to be no issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

What a person does with their body is their own business. Why should yee get all preachy and judgmental about it?

Maybe because the OP went on a public internet forum and asked people for their opinions? What do you expect people to offer up an opinion on....the price of potatoes? :rolleyes:

I think they are awful looking yokes myself, especially if they are very big and are on a body part that very visible, such as the arm. They may look great when they are first done, but I think that they can look really awful as the person gets older & their skin tone and skin elasticity changes as they age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Not mad on them myself (runs for cover).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

tats are for knackerrs, esp ones on your neck.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

It's your body, do what you like with it, but as with anything you do other people will judge you for it. From a rule point of view there's nothing against them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

I quite like tattoos, although don't have any. I couldn't imagine any team getting upset about them, unless you're playing for Tipp and get a Kilkenny crest tattooed on your forehead or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

No need to quote nice guy there, stated his opinion. Not on any high horse

Second comment probably went to far, and deserved to be called up on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭petronius

I wonder if you tattooed an advert or company logo to your body would RTE or SKY blur it out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭BeatlesFan1992

Thanks for the replies guys.

As for the nay sayers, tattoos are not for "knackers", as one might quote. All my tattoos have meanings. Some are hidden and some are on show. But the one that I want to get its a lot larger than the others and would like to get it on my thigh. I was just wondering if sports clubs would have a problem as I know there are some hardcore GAA supporters out there who would happily judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭petronius

Would they object to logos of foreign soccer teams as tattoos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

I don't think there is a GAA club in the country that can have a problem with a member having tattoos. Some people might not like the look of it but each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Not a big fan of tattoos myself, but I can't see there being a problem with a visible tattoo... maybe you'd get a bit of personal slagging, but no one's going to stop you playing, and I doubt anyone's going to say anything serious.

That's assuming that the tattoo isn't of something particularly offensive or something, I can't imagine a swastika tattoo would go down very well for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

Amazing(and great) how few gaa players have tatoos,considering how prevelant they are in society. As well as the other reasons not to like them they really are a tired cliche at this stage,and about as "edgy" as pat kenny using yoofspeak. Galvin is the only one i can think of with one off the top of my head. Reminds me of something Guardiola said a few yars ago- "Iniestas a proper footballer-no earrings and no tatoos!".

ps lads-the beard has reached the cliche stage in the fashion cycle now as well. Clean shaven is the new black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭BKWDR

Thanks for the replies guys.

As for the nay sayers, tattoos are not for "knackers", as one might quote. All my tattoos have meanings. Some are hidden and some are on show. But the one that I want to get its a lot larger than the others and would like to get it on my thigh. I was just wondering if sports clubs would have a problem as I know there are some hardcore GAA supporters out there who would happily judge.

My tupponce: if you seem unsure (posting here) about it maybe sleep on it. I find people who get tattoos get them for themselves and generally don't give a rats about what other people think...if you are unsure that it will put you in a negative light with *whomever* and this worries you enough to ask others advice , maybe just have a think about it and think.

I don't have any tats but I have friends who have and don't care what others think and those who regret getting certain tattoos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

harpsman wrote: »
    Amazing(and great) how few gaa players have tatoos,considering how prevelant they are in society. As well as the other reasons not to like them they really are a tired cliche at this stage,and about as "edgy" as pat kenny using yoofspeak. Galvin is the only one i can think of with one off the top of my head. Reminds me of something Guardiola said a few yars ago- "Iniestas a proper footballer-no earrings and no tatoos!".

ps lads-the beard has reached the cliche stage in the fashion cycle now as well. Clean shaven is the new black.

Plenty of heads out there who were tattooed long before the hipster/soccer player craze for em came along :mad:

The beard thing is just retarded, I blame the special forces guys coming back from afghanistan for that particular car crash

BKWDR wrote: »
    My tupponce: if you seem unsure (posting here) about it maybe sleep on it. I find people who get tattoos get them for themselves and generally don't give a rats about what other people think...if you are unsure that it will put you in a negative light with *whomever* and this worries you enough to ask others advice , maybe just have a think about it and think.

I don't have any tats but I have friends who have and don't care what others think and those who regret getting certain tattoos.

Usually I wouldn't care. I just get my tattoos and love them. Other people's opinions never phase me but I love playing for my team and last thing I want is to be told I have to leave because my tattoo is on show. I was just hoping that team coaches would be able to let me know if tatts are an issue. I am still going to get it done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭conditioned games

Usually I wouldn't care. I just get my tattoos and love them. Other people's opinions never phase me but I love playing for my team and last thing I want is to be told I have to leave because my tattoo is on show. I was just hoping that team coaches would be able to let me know if tatts are an issue. I am still going to get it done.

Looks like you already had your mind made up and were now looking for attention.

Or opinions...

Only asking is all. Sorry for trying.