Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

does this type of grammar bother you when used on social networking??

• 02-06-2014 11:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭

or does it matter? phrases like these :

anal = and all
    youse/yiz/yas = referring to 'you' in plural form
    dem/dat/dey = them/ that/ they
    dis =this

you get the idea...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Yes, it bothers me whenever it's used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Hmm,not sure could you explain it again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭murray.eoghan

yes it does, cuz it shows dat de person wo wrote it is vry lzy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

It's spelling you are worried about, OP - not grammar. For example:
    yes it does, cuz it shows dat de person wo wrote it is vry lzy

Grammar, 10/10 - txtspk 10/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

There, means a place.

They're is an abbreviation for they are.

Their, means ownership by more than one person or indeterminate

Please learn the ****ing difference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

There, means a place.

They're is an abbreviation for they are.

Their, means ownership by more than one person or indeterminate

Please learn the ****ing difference

Their their now calm down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭tom_k

Their their now calm down.

U should of spelt it "They're, they're".:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Don't see why anyone would be bothered about how language is presented so long as they can understand it adequately. There are far worse things in life to concern oneself with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

Don't see why anyone would be bothered about how language is presented so long as they can understand it adequately. There are far worse things in life to concern oneself with.
    This, as long as it's understandable, I don't care, a lot of my friends can't be bothered to type out full words, hell, I don't even do it when I'm on my phone, I don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

It is a pet hate of mine.

ALSO PEOPLE WHO INSIST ON TYPING IN ALL CAPS FOR SOME REASON.

Also people who refuse to punctuate and turn their status updates into one long barely-readable sentence like this one lad I know who has a bloody law degree and uses social media all the time but for some reason just refuses to punctuate his damn sentences yeah that really pisses me off no end what do ye think