Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mountain Bike, Road Bike or Hybrid

Options
  • 02-06-2014 7:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭

Complete newbie here...

I used to play a lot of squash but have had to give it up after having surgery on my Achilles last year.

My surgeon suggested that I take up cycling, because it's low impact.

So for a few weeks now, I've borrowed a neighbour's mountain bike and am enjoying cycling in the evening, usually short distances of around 10km.

So now I'm going to buy my own bike on the cycle to work scheme.

The roads that I cycle on are country roads, so I'd worry that a road bike wouldn't be suitable. The mountain bike seems to be suitable.

So can anyone advise what type of by bike I should get?

Any other tips on helmets, cycling gear e.g locks, clothes, etc?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

boobar wrote: »
    Complete newbie here...

I used to play a lot of squash but have had to give it up after having surgery on my Achilles last year.

My surgeon suggested that I take up cycling, because it's low impact.

So for a few weeks now, I've borrowed a neighbour's mountain bike and am enjoying cycling in the evening, usually short distances of around 10km.

So now I'm going to buy my own bike on the cycle to work scheme.

The roads that I cycle on are country roads, so I'd worry that a road bike wouldn't be suitable. The mountain bike seems to be suitable.

So can anyone advise what type of by bike I should get?

Any other tips on helmets, cycling gear e.g locks, clothes, etc?

I'm by no means an expert but I'll give you my experience.