Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tyres on silage pit

• 02-06-2014 3:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭

Anyone use the tyres bolted together on silage pit?
    Are they easy to pick up with grab?
    Or has anyone done a DIY job on them, wondering if could tie them together and run a bar through the top row....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Not used them but would think you would want a telescopic handler to put them on the pit when you are sheeting it.
    Be a good job then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

49801 wrote: »
    Not used them but would think you would want a telescopic handler to put them on the pit when you are sheeting it.
    Be a good job then!

You'd get away with ordinary loader, stretch out the covers then roll it back from one end and drive up onto the pit with them and roll cover back out as you work! Even using single tires its the way to go, saves lugging tires the length of the pit, which also saves heaps of foot prints in the covers from walking up and back so many times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Zr105 wrote: »
    You'd get away with ordinary loader, stretch out the covers then roll it back from one end and drive up onto the pit with them and roll cover back out as you work! Even using single tires its the way to go, saves lugging tires the length of the pit, which also saves heaps of foot prints in the covers from walking up and back so many times

I thought that was the only way to do it.
    I've tyres bolted together, really handy but there is a knack. Keeps them really tidy for the winter as you remove

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Best job is to stack up the tires tidy on about 6in of sand. When the pit is rolled the man on the loading shovel can scoop up the tires with the buck rake and carry them up the pit as you roll down the plastic he can reverse down with ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

How many do ye bolt together?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Reggie. wrote: »
    Best job is to stack up the tires tidy on about 6in of sand. When the pit is rolled the man on the loading shovel can scoop up the tires with the buck rake and carry them up the pit as you roll down the plastic he can reverse down with ye.

The sand nowtheres a good idea

munkus wrote: »
    How many do ye bolt together?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Is it some sort of self tapper that you just drill in

keep going wrote: »
    Is it some sort of self tapper that you just drill in

Special tapper and it threads bolt also. Landlord got these done but after using Yesterday I'm getting mine done. I'll get more info and pm you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Special tapper and it threads bolt also. Landlord got these done but after using Yesterday I'm getting mine done. I'll get more info and pm you

Could you include me on that Frazzle?
    Use conveyor belting here but it's a dose. Thanks.

I thought that was the only way to do it.
    I've tyres bolted together, really handy but there is a knack. Keeps them really tidy for the winter as you remove

I am an award article... I drap the walls befor grass starts going in. The under sheet is pulled front to back. Then pull the sides from left and right sides. Then a top sheet front to back.

So can't pull the plastic as you go when it comes to the tyres. Super seal though! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

I am an award article... I drap the walls befor grass starts going in. The under sheet is pulled front to back. Then pull the sides from left and right sides. Then a top sheet front to back.

So can't pull the plastic as you go when it comes to the tyres. Super seal though! :D

Wow that's a lot of plastic you are using there!!

Panch18 wrote: »
    Wow that's a lot of plastic you are using there!!

We reuse the sheets though.
    Only buy one new one each year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

That sounds like a serious seal alright, when you say under sheet do you mean you cover the floor down? Is that not a major pain at feed out? Or do you leave the last little bit on the ground and tidy up with the sprong after?

We sheeted the side walls but they only come up the first say 10feet of the top as we were only really having problems along the very edge of wall, no real problems up top. Means we can drive up the middle between side sheets with tires!

Got sand bags to go along the walls this year 2 as when the pit settles we reckon no matter how good you get tires their still not in contact with that last 3 or 4 inches of cover along the wall.

Neighbours worker was telling them that in his country they roll the pit with a tank for a few days and dont bother covering at all! :D would be some crack on a pit in a tank :D:D

Acting the eejit one evening

That sounds like a serious seal alright, when you say under sheet do you mean you cover the floor down? Is that not a major pain at feed out? Or do you leave the last little bit on the ground and tidy up with the sprong after?

We sheeted the side walls but they only come up the first say 10feet of the top as we were only really having problems along the very edge of wall, no real problems up top. Means we can drive up the middle between side sheets with tires!

Plastic on the the floor.... Now that is a good idea!!!:pac:

I ain't that bad;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 F1 Transportation Services

Neighbours worker was telling them that in his country they roll the pit with a tank for a few days and dont bother covering at all! :D would be some crack on a pit in a tank :D:D

Nice lol a tank :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

use the digger here to tidy the pit and put the tyres on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

would it be like the one in this video??

http://www.uniqueinventionsco.ie/tyremats/tyremats.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

John_F wrote: »
    would it be like the one in this video??

http://www.uniqueinventionsco.ie/tyremats/tyremats.htm

Saw him at ploughing. Reckon need to make attachment for loader to hook into tires. Not cheap either. Worth it though for pit opening again.
    On sealing by walls, I used always place strip over wall to fold in, always some waste though. Did silage ourselves last year, made sure packed along by wall. No waste. Contractors were not packing by wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Good few lads that make pits around here use track machines .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

moy83 wrote: »
    Good few lads that make pits around here use track machines .

i use both and find that the tractor gives better compaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e2G_lRTOtF4
    Go to the 3 minute mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

handy to have a track machine around for when the lads get stuck sure :o

this is a good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 F1 Transportation Services

John_F wrote: »
    handy to have a track machine around for when the lads get stuck sure :o