Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddle type / ducks foot bale handler

• 01-06-2014 11:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭

Does anyone on here use a paddle type bale handler to stack bales two or three high with a front loader. I know the hydraulic one with the rollers are probly best but don't want to spend that much on one this year. I never see any paddle type for sale with loader brackets are they any good thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

agriman27 wrote: »
    Does anyone on here use a paddle type bale handler to stack bales two or three high with a front loader. I know the hydraulic one with the rollers are probly best but don't want to spend that much on one this year. I never see any paddle type for sale with loader brackets are they any good thanks

Have a set here. Haven't used in yrs. They work fine but ye can rip bales easy with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

There not great, I'm drawing a trailer being loaded by one as I write this. They make it very difficult to stack bales on top of one another. The boss is buying a hydraulic roller one ASAP, the paddles are a disaster tbh. If the bale is any soft you'll have a hoor of a job to lift it without tearing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I use one and no hassle lifting bales that are baled right. The only time I had trouble was when the bales were way out of shape. Lads even have me loading straw with then as they don't want the middle of the bale tore out with a spike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

Reggie. wrote: »
    I use one and no hassle lifting bales that are baled right. The only time I had trouble was when the bales were way out of shape. Lads even have me loading straw with then as they don't want the middle of the bale tore out with a spike

Well the bales I do make are usually good and round because I mow myself and ted out so there is always a lot of stuff packed into them, I wouldn't be drawing them far to the yard. I have a bale lifter with long tines so I might try and get paddles to put over them.

Were about are ye? I'll ask the father if he wants the set we have here

I'm in cavan:rolleyes:

Small trek to Wexford so ha

Your snag there is the hydraulics ain't holding the bale tight

image.jpg

I was going by this cashel bale stacker with paddles they don't move laterally either

image.jpg

I was going by this cashel bale stacker with paddles they don't move laterally either

My mistake I thought you were on about the front loader paddles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Have a locally made one here for years, it fits front of the digger or back of tractor, mind it hasn't really been on digger since the mchale arrived for tractor.

Dad did all the bale stacking with it for years on the digger, the trick with them is you put the bales down not quite directly on top of each other but just a little to the side you want it, then lower handler and reverse away and let the bale roll down into the valley between the bottom bales, its handy enough to do but the hydraulic is still an awful lot handier,