Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Audax - INNER RING 200 - Kerry Aug 2

• 01-06-2014 9:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭

There is a new 200k Audax ride on this years calendar.
    AFAIK it is the first Audax that is entirely in Kerry (Maybe CRAM can confirm).

Date Aug 2 (It states Aug 3 on Audax Ireland website but this is incorrect).

Start: 8am Muckross Road carpark, Killarney.

Map: http://ridewithgps.com/routes/4894126

Entry: €5 or €10 if Audax medal is required (cheque or PO only - no Paypal whatsoever).

Address: John McElligott, Oakfield Lodge, Killowen, Kenmare, Co. Kerry

Audax Ireland link: http://www.audaxireland.org/calendar/gazetteer/Inner-Ring-200/

It is a great and very challenging route. with a combination of very queiet roads and some very challenging climbs. However it is very doable. I did the mide 150k a few weeks back with not much cycling done and got through it just fine.

Lots of places tp stop for refreshment in the first half of the route, but not so much in the second half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

ROK ON wrote: »

Date Aug 2 (It states Aug 3 on Audax Ireland website but this is incorrect).

Start: 8am Muckross Road carpark, Killarney.

Map: http://ridewithgps.com/routes/4894126

Entry: €5 or €10 if Audax medal is required (cheque or PO only - no Paypal whatsoever).

Address: John McElligott, Oakfield Lodge, Killowen, Kenmare, Co. Kerry

Audax Ireland link: http://www.audaxireland.org/calendar/gazetteer/Inner-Ring-200/

It is a great and very challenging route. with a combination of very queiet roads and some very challenging climbs. However it is very doable. I did the mide 150k a few weeks back with not much cycling done and got through it just fine.

Lots of places tp stop for refreshment in the first half of the route, but not so much in the second half.

I'm in, great name for route will have a look at route later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

ford2600 wrote: »
    I'm in, great name for route will have a look at route later
    Nasty little inclusion at 113km, I just descended that on Sunday was thinking it would be horrible to climb

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Not sure if its the first, definitely the only one currently with a few of the Midleton ones, skimming the edge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

^
    Yep. It's a toughie all right.
    1.3k @ 11.4%.
    it must be the mist stunning steep climb in the country. On a clear day you can see Dingle. On any other day you won't see your hand.

I will be having a control at the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Looking forward to getting down for this. Never cycled around that part of the country yet.(hangs head in shame):o

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Looking forward to getting down for this. Never cycled around that part of the country yet.(hangs head in shame):o

I was down there last week. Did two days around Kenmare and 1 day around Bera. Fantastic. Really enjoyed Healy's Pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 John McClane

is this similar to ROK, i.e can anyone register to do it or is it part of a race series?

godtabh wrote: »
    I was down there last week. Did two days around Kenmare and 1 day around Bera. Fantastic. Really enjoyed Healy's Pass.

I bumped into ROK ON after the Giro stage in Dublin and he certainly painted a lovely picture of the area and route......weather permitting. :D

is this similar to ROK, i.e can anyone register to do it or is it part of a race series?
    Anyone can do it but Audax is about as far away from racing as you could get. The idea is you stay between 15 and 30kmph on average. On a ride like this, you would be doing well to break the 30kmph average but its something to note.

Yep
    As Cram said anyone can do this. Simply register by following the instructions on Audax Ireland link.

These events tend to be small and this is likely to be very small.
    This means that if you have a mechanical or can't keep up (or are too brisk) with other riders that you will be on your own.

There is no support/no broom wagon/no medical back up.
    If you break your body or your bike then tough luck but no one is coming to help you.
    Other than that all are welcome.

I am aiming to have two manned controls where there will be water and a few snacks.

There is no support/no broom wagon/no medical back up.
    If you break your body or your bike then tough luck but no one is coming to help you.
    Other than that all are welcome.
    Just to be clear, in case anyone is put off, people breaking themselves (physically, mentally is another story) or their bikes is a rarity, and you can call someone you know to collect you if you want.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

CramCycle wrote: »
    Just to be clear, in case anyone is put off, people breaking themselves (physically, mentally is another story) or their bikes is a rarity, and you can call someone you know to collect you if you want.

taking standard precautions you would do on any cycle and you will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 John McClane

godtabh wrote: »
    taking standard precautions you would do on any cycle and you will be fine.

Thanks for that, did ROK last year with avg around 25kph so should be ok for this
    hadn't made up my mind about doing ROK this year before it was closed so looking for alternatives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭downwiththatsor

Looks like a tough challenge but a stunning route and small numbers make it even more appealing.
    Looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭dragratchet

how does this size up against the mick byrne route lads?

Bumping this.

Closing date for entries is 25 July.

Printed off the entry form this morning.
    I'll be sticking the money in with it, don't have a cheque book and have you seen the queues in post offices these days.

Printed off the entry form this morning.
    I'll be sticking the money in with it, don't have a cheque book and have you seen the queues in post offices these days.

Make sure the envelope is brown.
    Always wanted to get a brown envelope stashed with filthy lucre.

Make sure the envelope is brown.
    Always wanted to get a brown envelope stashed with filthy lucre.

I can bulk it up with a load of note sized blanks for that added effect. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 hodgkin

On the Audax Ireland site there is a list of suitable stops for refreshments: might I suggest Jack's in Killorglin (it is on the right just as you come in to Killorglin on the Annadale Road, opposite Bianconi's). Delicious cakes and other goodies. On the second half of the route there aren't too many possibilities: the Climber's Inn in Glencar (about 1 km off the route just after Ballagh Oisin) does nice toasted sandwiches (but slow!). Petit Delice café in Caherciveen is the best coffee shop in Kerry, but it's about 2 km off the route, in the centre of town on the opposite side of the road from the Church.

Thanks for that.
    When I test rode the route earlier this year I stopped at Jacks and had 3 mini apple tarts. They kept me going for the rest of the day.
    Lovely spot.

Just a reminder that closing date for entries is this Friday - 25 July.
    Entry - a fiver or €7 for those who do not have a CI license.

http://www.audaxireland.org/calendar/gazetteer/Inner-Ring-200/
    Thank you
    J

Hello Killarney!!
    It's been a while.

Chapeau ROK ON on the inaugural running of the Inner Ring 200. Great event and some stunning scenery to take your mind off the pain. Found the route tough,though that may have something to do with last weeks efforts.
    I'll stick up some details when I get back home tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 hodgkin

Thanks ROK ON for a fantastic day out yesterday. Our first Audax... maybe not our last... ask me in a few days!
    Toughest I have ever done but well worth it.

Thanks to all who completed the Inner Ring yesterday. 19 entrants and 16 signed on yesterday. TaxMan travelled from Dublin, a husband and wife from Marble City Cycling attended, a Dutchman via Clare, a husband and wife from Tralee a big gang from the Chain Gang and a band of three brothers from the tip of the Iveragh peninsula via London, as well as a handful of cyclists from around.

We were blessed with the day relative to the weather in the rest of the country. A couple of showers and a stiff wind but mostly dry and sunny.

It's a bloody tough cycle over hard dead roads but I think the scenery is spectacular. All competitors made it around, the first got home about 4pm and the last after 11oclock. We'll done to all - you deserve a big pint.

Things to learn:
    3 controls is too many,
    Spread the two manned controls further - was touch and go with the timing (and I missed the two front runners).

If people have feedback to improve the cycle I would be interested. I think I got the numbers correct - I set it at 20.
    To do more I would need volunteers and I am happy to do it solo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

Well done John.
    Thanks to all who completed the Inner Ring yesterday. 19 entrants and 16 signed on yesterday. TaxMan travelled from Dublin, a husband and wife from Marble City Cycling attended, a Dutchman via Clare, a husband and wife from Tralee a big gang from the Chain Gang and a band of three brothers from the tip of the Iveragh peninsula via London, as well as a handful of cyclists from around.

We were blessed with the day relative to the weather in the rest of the country. A couple of showers and a stiff wind but mostly dry and sunny.

It's a bloody tough cycle over hard dead roads but I think the scenery is spectacular. All competitors made it around, the first got home about 4pm and the last after 11oclock. We'll done to all - you deserve a big pint.

Things to learn:
    3 controls is too many,
    Spread the two manned controls further - was touch and go with the timing (and I missed the two front runners).

If people have feedback to improve the cycle I would be interested. I think I got the numbers correct - I set it at 20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

Well done John.

Things to learn:
    3 controls is too many,

Inner Ring 200

My day started off nice and early,had to ask the hotel if I could have breakfast before they opened the restaurant for business but they helpfully obliged to my request. Some of the staff may have cursed me because once I was seen going in it opened the floodgates.

Got my bike ready,filled pockets and bottles. Went to stick my Garmin on the bike and couldn't find it. Ran back to my room thinking I left it there but it wasn't,back to the van and found it buried down the bottom of the bag I'd brought from my room.

Tight on time now I had a route loaded on the Garmin to get me to the start point,my second error of the day. As I reached what I thought was the start point there was no one to be seen. I doubled back just in case I'd missed it as I was pushing it down the road running late. Decided to head on into the route where I saw ROK ON waving from his car,phew.
    Upon sign-on I was told that everyone else had already started,no big deal with me,I'm used to riding solo with the voices in my head. While talking with RO I had set my Garmin to load the route and it was staying on the "calculating" stage for quite some time but it sometimes takes awhile to sort itself out,so I set off thinking it'll spring into life and do it's thing.

Half way up Molls Gap and after two resets I finally gave up on my Garmin guiding me around for the day but I'd also lost my mileage total to read the route sheet.Figured out I could overlay the route on the map and just follow the breadcrumb trail for basic guidance. Reached the top of the gap and took out my gilet for the descent but it decided to eat itself on it's own zip,I was now thinking it's going to be one of these days. Eventually freed the zip and headed off on the descent towards Kenmare.

The route turned right before Kenmare and I got my first taste of the wind,stuck the head down and got on with it. Turning again and out of the wind I found myself climbing again and passed someone that may have been taking part on the 200. I rain shower kept me nice and cool on the climb.

With the route using the same sections of road going in different directions the breadcrumb trail on the Garmin could've sent me in the wrong direction but ROK ON's superb junction descriptions on the route sheet had me in no doubt on the correct way to go. I didn't know at the time but the climb I'd just come up was back towards Molls Gap again and had me heading down into the Black Valley along some fairly heavy and rough roads.

Soon enough the road headed upwards and up and up some more. Not knowing the area I didn't realise I was climbing up the non-famous side of the Gap of Dunloe. Cresting the climb I soon knew where I was,I've seen the postcards and tourist shots. Tricky descent with road conditions,horses and their shît and plenty of tourists on foot. There was an unmanned control point at the gap but I wasn't going near any of the tourist trap shops for a receipt. Found a shop a few kms down the road and stocked up on water.

The next few Km's were fairly uneventful except for the women that tried her best to door me on the way out of Killorglin.The route headed back inland and took us around Lough Caragh and it's lovely scenery.Back out towards the coast and towards the second checkpoint of the day where RO made us feel welcome with a grand spread of food and drink.
    Some of the other riders were just setting off as I arrived. RO then pointed them out and I turned to see them climbing a wall of tarmac draped over the side of a mountain.

Stalled as long as I could but eventually set off again and up Rossbeigh which was tough. Along the N70 out towards Cahersiveen with the Atlantic on the right. Head wind along this stretch and then some crazy cross winds coming down off the hills that lay between me and the ocean as I neared Cahersiveen.

The route then turned back towards Killarney and a welcome tailwind to boot.
    Passed a wind farm at Knockeneden and had to stop at just stare in awe at the size of these turbines. I've never been up close to one before and to hear the whoosh from the blades as they turned. Some may not like them,I'm fascinated by them on the engineering front and that they remind me of the Tripods from WOTW film.

TBC....

cont'd......

The next challenge to tackle was the Ballaghisheen Pass.Steady enough climb which ramps up towards it's summit. Once there you're greeted with a stunning view to the wide open valley below and a great descent with sweeping corners which had viewable lines through them.

More rolling roads lay ahead and towards Ballaghbeama Gap. As the road started to rise and fall I was trying to figure out what direction the road was taking. I had a steep rugged mountain to my right and a smaller one off to the left. I was trying to follow the fence posts as a guide to my direction but they disappeared to often to get any grasp of the direction. It soon dawned on me that the road was going up through the narrow gap.

The legs were hurting by now,the past few weeks had taken their toll. I took my mind off the pain by looking and laughing to myself at the sheep that where perched way up on the rock face. Is there some magical grass up that high? There was plenty of the stuff at a much safer and easier level to be had.
    The road kept turning around blind bends and soon it straightened up enough for me to see what lay ahead.

A magnificent climb walled in one either side by rock face which closed in more and more as you climbed eventually opening back out towards it's summit.
    A don't know how I stayed on the tarmac with my head gazing around the place at the views.

Found the third and final checkpoint at the summit. RO had more of the same spread on offer which was very welcome at this stage. Again I just arrived as the others were about to set off. I didn't hang around too long as the wind was cutting through the gap and I was getting cold. Thanked RO for a brilliant and very well run day and set off for the final leg.

Mainly downhill till the final drag up towards Molls Gap again. With the route crossing itself again a quick check of the route sheet kept me on course. The drag up wasn't too bad although the wind was picking up on the exposed parts. At the top I could see a rain shower approaching from my left and I tried in vain to outrun it on the descent but it caught and passed me fairly quick.

The road back through the Killarney National Park was akin to O'Connell st on Christmas eve. Hit a major tailback and I was grinning from ear to ear that I wasn't in a car. After passing several cars I happened upon a 40ft heading in the opposite direction. It was trying to get around a tight left hand bend and with the inside wheels riding up over the corner and it's trailer starting to lean over at a very disconcerting angle I got the hell clear of it sharpish. More delays ahead by coaches, they soon eased as the bends eased off.
    Final push and made the finish line.

As I said I found the day tough but that may have been my own doing. Would love to ride the route again with fresher legs.
    A big thanks and congratulations to ROK ON for a fabulous route on very quite roads,for running the day on his own and looking after everyone.

One for the calender folks.;)

http://www.strava.com/activities/174931319

I arrived home today to a nice surprise. One of the cyclists that completed the Inner Ring made me a present of a clock, with a map of the route embossed as the face of the clock.

Really touched by that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Pics?...