Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gameboy Color - Unopened

• 01-06-2014 8:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭

Hey Guys

Found this in my house, brand new and unopened. Just wondering would anyone know how much this is worth?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,677 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

You seem to have someone offering you €80 for it on Adverts though, and it's your asking price.
    Bad form to withdraw now simply because you have a notion is worth more.
    And regarding its value, check Ebay or just Google it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    You seem to have someone offering you €80 for it on Adverts though, and it's your asking price.
    Bad form to withdraw now simply because you have a notion is worth more.
    And regarding its value, check Ebay or just Google it.

Why dont you get off your high horse??

First of all I own the Gameboy and I can do with it whatever I want. If I do want to remove from adverts then that is my right. I would love to see your view of "bad form" if you where been ripped off?

Second the "buyer" will have it back on adverts 10 seconds later for twice the price

Third I am asking to keep for myself, not to stick up at a higher price. I just thought I would ask a question as I thought that is what forums where for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Wow what an absolutely rude person you are.
    "Bad form" means you put a product on adverts.ie without doing research and then didn't sell it.
    And then came looking for advice afterwards.
    So how do you think the person that offered the money for that transaction feels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

Big Nelly wrote: »
    Why dont you get off your high horse??

First of all I own the Gameboy and I can do with it whatever I want. If I do want to remove from adverts then that is my right. I would love to see your view of "bad form" if you where been ripped off?

Second the "buyer" will have it back on adverts 10 seconds later for twice the price

Third I am asking to keep for myself, not to stick up at a higher price. I just thought I would ask a question as I thought that is what forums where for.

You put something up for 80 quid & received an offer of asking price.
    Now you think you can get more for it.

Ciderman is correct in saying its bad form, I'd be a bit annoyed if someone wouldn't sell something to me after I offered the asking price. Its also against adverts rules.

That advert is a prime example with what is wrong with adverts.ie.
    Two buyers arguing like children, one offering over asking price and the seller ignoring the offer of asking in the first place now that he thinks he has undervalued it.

This forum is for discussion, you will get different opinions and not just the answer you want to hear.
    No high horses in my opinion, just Ciderman calling it as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

That ad has now been removed. Any more messing like this, please click report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Jaysus some serious double standards here lads.

There were posts lately about the bargains ye picked up in tesco and sold on for profit in places like cex, or when ye found some underpriced gem in the rage.

The chap has something that he undervalued, so he pulled the ad. What sane person wouldn't??

Not having a go here, we all like a bargain, but nobody wants to lose out if they realise they messed up, ya know?

Los Lobos wrote: »

There were posts lately about the bargains ye picked up in tesco and sold on for profit in places like cex, or when ye found some underpriced gem in the rage.

The chap has something that he undervalued, so he pulled the ad. What sane person wouldn't??

Not having a go here, we all like a bargain, but nobody wants to lose out if they realise they messed up, ya know?

People undervalue and overvalue stuff every day of the week but this is not about anyone buying to resell for profit.

The OP knows the rules of adverts.
    If he thought he undervalued the item why didn't he withdraw the advert if he made a mistake.
    He got an offer of asking price and ignored it.
    Rather than pulling the advert last night like he should have, he came on here today to see how much its worth.

That type of carry on is why I closed my adverts account.
    If you make a mistake you should pull the ad and apologise to the potential buyer, rather than leaving him hanging like he did.

Los Lobos wrote: »

Just to make the point. He didn't pull the ad though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

So couple of things to point out:

I never made reference to the adverts post. The "mod" started off that row. I asked a simple question, well what I thought was a simple question.

I did not accept or reject the users offer on adverts. I was just trying to do a small check in background.

I did not pull down the ad on adverts with no explanation to the person who had bid on the item.

Anyway I am going to keep it for the moment myself........

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,677 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I'm closing this thread seeing as it has gotten out of hand.
    My point remains though, the individual had a live ad, had been offered the asking and after that, he posted up here looking for a valuation.
    No "high horse" here, we have people posting here on numerous occasions and look for the value on item they happen to have and, nice times out of ten, they are asked to google it or look on ebay, seeing as such posts typically lead to off thread dealing or, in this case, to the possibility of someone who has made a bid to match the asking was going to have the deal yanked on the strength of the information provided.
    I do not apologise for pointing out this in the reply.
    His rude reply was unwarranted.
    Honestly, he can do what he pleases with his advert, no problem.
    But I draw the line at regular users here being asked to be party to it.
    Adverts only ever worked based on good form, based on people being true to their word.
    Unlike other sites there are no contracts there barring gentlemens agreements.
    If someone is posting an item it is up to them to establish the value beforehand.
    Had the OP asked here prior to the sale there would have been little said aside from a warning about soliciting off-thread deals.
    But he didn't.
    And, by valuing it at €80 to start with he knew it was worth something.
    So, no need for crosses or nails here.
    Any sympathy I might have rests with the adverts user who offered the asking and saw his offer ignored and the ad pulled as a result of all this.