Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Constructive dismissal

Options
  • 30-05-2014 10:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

So I'm a chef/kitchen manager in a private school cooking for 80 staff and pupils a day. I have oversight on food prep and service, as well as managing the kitchen and cleaning staff. As I am head chef I have responsibilities for health and safety and Haccp.
    So my issue is that I have a kitchen porter who's cleaning standards are very bad, she hands me back kitchen equipment that's meant to be cleaned and are filthy, for example I handed her a chopping board that had raw meat on it and it came back to me supposedly clean still with raw meat on it. Now here's the crux, my boss won't let me fire the KP, despite my written complaints to her about it. So I have to keep an eagle eye out to make sure everything is spotless. Basically we're on a collision course for someone to get sick.
    The legal ramifications of this is that I am criminally liable for prosecution should this arise not to mention if we get a Environmental Health officer visit.
    <snip>

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 21,242 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

goingquiet, I have removed the part asking if you have a case, as that question is specifically not allowed here. Maybe there's other useful suggestions you may get here, so I'll leave the rest of the post here.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,755 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

OP, you can't just fire them (at least not if they've been there a year).

What have you done to get their performance to improve?

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser