Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FUSION 3

• 28-05-2014 11:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭

Just in the door from xhifting a few bales for a neighbourmade with a fusion 3 and boy were they some bales, like barrels filled out to the last rock hard and heavy.we did the maths and they come in at 50 cubic feet which is always regarded as a ton of silage and id say these were definitely in the 850 900 kilo range and couldbe more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

keep going wrote: »
    Just in the door from xhifting a few bales for a neighbourmade with a fusion 3 and boy were they some bales, like barrels filled out to the last rock hard and heavy.we did the maths and they come in at 50 cubic feet which is always regarded as a ton of silage and id say these were definitely in the 850 900 kilo range and couldbe more.

Grass beat into them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

keep going wrote: »

50 cu feet is a ton of settled silage , big difference

but your right the f 3 makes a decent bale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

jt65 wrote: »
    50 cu feet is a ton of settled silage , big difference

but your right the f 3 makes a decent bale

Dry bales from a fusion weighed 800-850kgs here last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭fastrac

They are streets ahead of the rest. Massive waiting list for them .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

is there any difference between a Fusion 3 bale and the bale from the McHale F5500 or 5600?

I would imagine it should be the same - but the fusion has always had the reputation for having the biggest bale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭agriman27

Panch18 wrote: »
    is there any difference between a Fusion 3 bale and the bale from the McHale F5500 or 5600?

I would imagine it should be the same - but the fusion has always had the reputation for having the biggest bale

That's something I often wondered too but I haven't used or carried any fusion made bales yet, but a contractor near me has a new fusion 3 I'd love to get him to do mine this year, would the bales be any bigger or better packed than a mc hale 5500 baler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

We did our during the week with a new mchale f600 baler and Jaysus they was some weight in them, I made the mistake of changing up the dual power going up the hill and up the front came on the 7610. The lad wrapping said he noticed the difference too from last year with his 550 baler as there was more bounce on the loader. Reckon they are in around the 900kg mark alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Grand until the guy with the smaller tractor finds he can't lift them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Grand until the guy with the smaller tractor finds he can't lift them.

Yeah I will have to stick the loader back on the tractor again if I was the draw them with the spike. We feed them out with a digger so that should be ok in the winter, I'd say lads with a 3 pot or small 4cylinder will need to find plenty of weight for the front and hope the lift will still work.