Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hyperspin setup

• 28-05-2014 8:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭

Im looking to setup a retro pc and was thinking of setting up a hyperspin frontend. Would you guys know is there and easy setup for hyperspin ( like xbmc were all box art etc is auto downloaded ) or am I better of using a different frontend. Any help appriciated.

Cheers
    Rob

deffo not easy,
    If you want easy get Maximus arcade but dont pay for it as its not being updated or been updated for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭robfowler78

urbanledge wrote: »
    deffo not easy,
    If you want easy get Maximus arcade but dont pay for it as its not being updated or been updated for years.

Yeah hyperspin looks like a lot of work. I was hoping to just set it up with a few emulators and games ( not 100s ) and get videos and intros to make it look good but ill check out maximus. Thanks for your help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Hyperspin is WELL worth the effort. And at that, once it's installed the way it's meant to be installed etc, setting up emus etc is very very easy these days.

Myrddin wrote: »
    Hyperspin is WELL worth the effort. And at that, once it's installed the way it's meant to be installed etc, setting up emus etc is very very easy these days.

It certainly looks the best that's the one I wanted but unfortunately I don't have the time anymore to search for box arts and videos etc. something like xbmc were it auto downloads info and box arts would be best. That's not to say the more I look the more tempting hyperspin is ha ha.

Things have changed somewhat with regards box art (game & system themes in Hyperpisn)...these are now kept behind a paywall on the HS site. It's €20/€30 for lifetime access, & you can get all the artwork you want in there under one roof. Preview vids are kept on Emumovies, which is also a subscription service.

Give Hyperpisn a try even, download & install it and set up one system & a few games to see if you would fancy doing it for the rest of your systems.

Things have changed somewhat with regards box art (game & system themes in Hyperpisn)...these are not kept behind a paywall on the HS site. It's €20/€30 for lifetime access, & you can get all the artwork you want in there under one roof. Preview vids are kept on Emumovies, which is also a subscription service.

Give Hyperpisn a try even, download & install it and set up one system & a few games to see if you would fancy doing it for the rest of your systems.

Yeah good idea that's what I'm going to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,906 ✭✭✭Steve X2

If you have a platinum account on hyperspin I think you can use the auto download app to get everything you need to get up and running (artwork wise anyway).
    And them emu movies for the preview vids.

Steve SI wrote: »
    If you have a platinum account on hyperspin I think you can use the auto download app to get everything you need to get up and running (artwork wise anyway).
    And them emu movies for the preview vids.

Ill take look and see I only need a few games but hyperspin certainly looks great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Hyperspin looks the proper job but I was lazy and went the Maximus Arcade route, though I did design my own theme from the ground up which I liked doing since I didn't like any of the themes that were out there, they were either too brightly coloured or a bit garish-looking.

Whenever I stop being lazy and get another drive put into the HTPC I'll move the games and emulators over onto it and then set up Hyperspin fully. I'll leave Maximus on the arcade for the moment though as it does the job perfectly for me.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Hyperspin looks the proper job but I was lazy and went the Maximus Arcade route, though I did design my own theme from the ground up which I liked doing since I didn't like any of the themes that were out there, they were either too brightly coloured or a bit garish-looking.

Whenever I stop being lazy and get another drive put into the HTPC I'll move the games and emulators over onto it and then set up Hyperspin fully. I'll leave Maximus on the arcade for the moment though as it does the job perfectly for me.
    Yeah I was using the rom collector in XBMC on my htpc but hyperspin looks much much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

well worth paying for platinum subscription of hyperspin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

Ye I had hyperspin setup on my Mario bros bartop with all emulators and videos and media needed, it takes up 2tb, I've it all stored on an external hdd so I can transfer it to my next bartop and do on, pain in arse setting it up but def worth it! !!

FixitFelix wrote: »
    Ye I had hyperspin setup on my Mario bros bartop with all emulators and videos and media needed, it takes up 2tb, I've it all stored on an external hdd so I can transfer it to my next bartop and do on, pain in arse setting it up but def worth it! !!

2tb that's a lot of games

a lot of ****e too

You'd be surprised how much space the preview vids take up, especially if they're HQ.

urbanledge wrote: »
    a lot of ****e too
    That's the problem when I put to many games on a harddrive I spend more time browsing then playing. That's why I wanted I nice setup with only my favourite games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,258 ✭✭✭MrVestek

There are a few places that you can aquire a preconfigured Hyperspin setup. Various places that cannot be named obviously.

All that's required to get it up and running then is the correct rom set.

If you like sailing with pirates near a bay or kicking the ass of torrential rain then you might be in the right place.

Aherm. Jaysus lads this is an awful cough that I have here...

Personally I wouldn't touch a pre configured HS installation. If you ever want to add or remove emu's, or change anything at all you won't have a clue. But if you set it up from scratch, using the HS installation step by step guide, by the time you're done you'll be very comfy using it. The guide looks like a monster, but take it one step at a time & it's very easy actually - http://www.hyperspin-fe.com/forum/showthread.php?29481-How-to-install-HyperSpin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,258 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Personally I wouldn't touch a pre configured HS installation. If you ever want to add or remove emu's, or change anything at all you won't have a clue. But if you set it up from scratch, using the HS installation step by step guide, by the time you're done you'll be very comfy using it. The guide looks like a monster, but take it one step at a time & it's very easy actually - http://www.hyperspin-fe.com/forum/showthread.php?29481-How-to-install-HyperSpin

That is very true.

MrVestek wrote: »
    There are a few places that you can aquire a preconfigured Hyperspin setup. Various places that cannot be named obviously.

All that's required to get it up and running then is the correct rom set.

If you like sailing with pirates near a bay or kicking the ass of torrential rain then you might be in the right place.

Aherm. Jaysus lads this is an awful cough that I have here...[/

Thanks hope the cough gets better......