Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ITICA National Fish & Chips Day 2014

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

That will suit my see food diet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

None in Bundoran. Gutted!!

There's enough macaris on that list!

Fish n chips MUST be served in paper with salt, vinegar and a pickled onion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

What kind of fish is it?

mauzo! wrote: »
    None in Bundoran. Gutted!!

Lol you in fundoran for your honeymoon?

What kind of fish is it?

Mullet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Lol you in fundoran for your honeymoon?

In between wedding and honeymoon! Croatia next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Sinister Pigeon

What kind of fish is it?

Fish is great for your feathers.

mauzo! wrote: »
    In between wedding and honeymoon! Croatia next week.

Well it might be closed now but mamma Rosa's chipper were doing half price food tonight too. Its beside the railway.

Congrats btw xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Fish is great for your feathers.

Chipper food is muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Last year I went into one of those places that were supposed to be doing the half price fish and chips and I asked for 'Fish & Chips twice'.

Guy behind the counter says 'I heard you the first time'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Remember when the cheeky buggers changed the date this was happening on from a Friday because they already sell loads of fish and chips on that day.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    http://www.itica.ie/chipper_directory

1/2 price Fish & Chips today

<
    Bargain Alerts :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

The only chipper near me is a stinking Beshoff's with their world renowned terrible chicken burgers.

May have to take a trip to locate a proper Italian place.

Although I prefer the Italian chippers, wish they'd serve the fish with lemon and tartar :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

What's the deal bout Italian chippers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I know what's for dinner tomorrow, then!

bigpink wrote: »

They sell italian fish.

Mate told me this years ago, not sure if it's true or not, most likely not, but sure you can use it yourselves if it ever happens to you.

Story goes that when they were down in Sligo for a match (that part I can vouch for) and where in some chipper, where both of them got fish and chips. But the portion sizes were scabby and so one of the lads says: "This fish isn't cooked" and bloke in the chipper says: "Yes it is" and he replies: "It couldn't be, it's eaten half me chips".

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

bigpink wrote: »
    They're attracted to the grease

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

Chipper food is muck.

I hope you're codding.

Lard no, i'm deadly serious.

What TV show do fish like to watch?
    Name That Tuna.

I heard there was a massive fight in alot of the takeaways last year.

Alot of fish got battered.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

CTYIgirl wrote: »
    I know what's for dinner tomorrow, then!

None of them are in Galway. :eek:

And there I was looking forward to a €5 dinner in McDonagh's. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Lapin wrote: »
    And there I was looking forward to a €5 dinner in McDonagh's. :(

I love the haggis in there. A must visit every time I find myself in Galway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

lertsnim wrote: »

Never knew they had it there. :o

That's tomorrow sorted then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

lertsnim wrote: »

Yup, it's a real treat, getting dearer now because the Haggis is becoming endangered in the wild - very hard to find fresh wild Haggis - most of what you get now is farmed Haggis and it doesn't taste the same. Haggis farms are also very cruel - they can't really function in confinement, especially the males.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Yup, it's a real treat, getting dearer now because the Haggis is becoming endangered in the wild - very hard to find fresh wild Haggis - most of what you get now is farmed Haggis and it doesn't taste the same. Haggis farms are also very cruel - they can't really function in confinement, especially the males.
    Wild haggis hasn't been available for 30 years. What people call wild haggis is really just free range. I've spent hours and hours on various haggis-cam websites and never spotted a single wild beastie.

You can get organic wild Haggis in McPartlans in Dunfrieshire, but it is pricey - it takes a serious marksman to bring down a Haggis in full flight. They are also well-hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    http://www.itica.ie/chipper_directory

1/2 price Fish & Chips today

I think the drive to me nearest one would negate any saving :mad:. Unless I bought a joblot :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

The only nice food to come from Italy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

None in Galway.
    Well screw you! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The whole concept of Fish and Chip shops being Italian is just weird.

The only nice food to come from Italy .

Ah yes, Grimsbi, the famous Italian fishing port

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Borza chipper today, and the past 3 half price fish and chips days, then ate it in the sun in Christchurch grounds/park area, twas a good day! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Is it bad that iv been in 12 of those chippers that are listed :(

Not all today like, I'm not a monster.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

I heard there was a massive fight in alot of the takeaways last year.

Alot of fish got battered.

There were a few lads up for a salt and battery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

biko wrote: »
    The whole concept of Fish and Chip shops being Italian is just weird.

It's all thanks to Giuseppe!
    Be grateful because back in the 1880s, Giuseppe Cervi, the man who introduced us to the Italian takeaway, had very different ideas when it came to tantalising Irish taste buds.

The young Italian arrived in Cobh, or Queenstown as it was known back then, after mistakenly disembarking on the final stopover of an American-bound boat. After watching his American Dream set sail, Giuseppe turned and set out on foot to find his fortune in Ireland instead.

After walking the long and rocky road to Dublin, he worked in the city as a labourer intent on earning enough money to buy a coal-fired cooker and handcart to go into business selling roasted chestnuts.
    While fish and chestnuts would have been unlikely to catch on, we were spared having to find out thanks to a small but highly significant mistake young Giuseppe made while selling his fare outside the pubs of Dublin.

Legend has it that one day instead of a chestnut he mistakenly roasted a potato and quickly realised the Irish knew a good spud when they tasted one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Is it bad that iv been in 12 of those chippers that are listed :(

Not all today like, I'm not a monster.

That be funny if you did! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It looks like it's national fish and chips day in Dublin. There's nothing remotely near me doing the offer but I'm still using this as an excuse to go to the chipper tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Dinner was cancelled, Fish & Chips were bought, no regrets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Larianne wrote: »
    That be funny if you did! :D

Ah I couldn't do that to ya! Imagine me having a half price chipper crawl and you having none......:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

You can get organic wild Haggis in McPartlans in Dunfrieshire, but it is pricey - it takes a serious marksman to bring down a Haggis in full flight. They are also well-hard.

The trick is to get them to turn, years of living on hillsides has resulted in the legs on one side being shorter than the other, get them to turn and they stumble or fall over.

SimonLynch wrote: »
    The trick is to get them to turn, years of living on hillsides has resulted in the legs on one side being shorter than the other, get them to turn and they stumble or fall over.

I think you'll find that's just being silly. Their legs are both the same.

Fish n Chips here tonight. Hopefully soon, I'm starving. Herself has gone procuring.

I think you'll find that's just being silly. Their legs are both the same.

Fish n Chips here tonight. Hopefully soon, I'm starving. Herself has gone procuring.

Well Uncyclopedia backs me up :)

http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Haggis

SimonLynch wrote: »
    Well Uncyclopedia backs me up :)

http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Haggis

I stand corrected. And a little bit lopsided.. :D

I remember well going hunting Haggis with my old lad in the Scottish Highlands - he had a beautiful Purdey side by side and used very fine shot - so's not to damage their perfect, round skins. I found it very cruel - they screamed like babies when they were wounded. Very hard to tell the males from the females too, and it used to be illegal to shoot the females.

There's a place here is doing half price on everything today, gonna be a lot of fun soon.

I stand corrected. And a little bit lopsided.. :D

I remember well going hunting Haggis with my old lad in the Scottish Highlands - he had a beautiful Purdey side by side and used very fine shot - so's not to damage their perfect, round skins. I found it very cruel - they screamed like babies when they were wounded. Very hard to tell the males from the females too, and it used to be illegal to shoot the females.

Nobody says it better than the man himself -

Address to a Haggis

Fair fa' your honest, sonsie face,
    Great chieftain o the puddin'-race!
    Aboon them a' ye tak your place,
    Painch, tripe, or thairm:
    Weel are ye worthy o' a grace
    As lang's my arm.
    The groaning trencher there ye fill,
    Your hurdies like a distant hill,
    Your pin wad help to mend a mill
    In time o need,