Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why don't speeding tickets come in a registered letter that you have to sign for?

• 27-05-2014 9:17pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 78 ✭✭

As the title says, why don't speeding tickets come in a registered letter that you have to sign for?

You may say that it will cost the government more money in the long run, but not really. I believe it will actually save money in the long run.

Some people's speeding fine genuinely gets lost in the post, whereas others' "get lost in the post".

For the people whose ticket got lost in the post, whether genuinely or not, it is a waste of court time and national money. Someone may be unlucky enough so that the judge doesn't believe them and slaps them with double points and double fine.

If they are registered, then the people whose fine got "lost in the post" won't have a leg to stand on.

A five Euro registered letter is cheaper than a court appearance for the economy. Besides, money all goes into one big coffer here anyway, so An Post, Garda Síochana .... makes no difference.

Am I missing something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Ah why anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Ah why anything!

Because there would be no point in after hours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Postman, "I've a letter here for ya, needs signed"
    Me, "ok who's it from, Amazon?"
    Postman, "don't know but it's got a Thurles stamp, do you know anyone from Thurles? "
    Me ," shove that letter up yer hole"

It'd never work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭AlfaZen

Because it would make it too difficult for the Gardai to make tickets disappear for friends and local celebrities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I think they should be hand delivered by two Gardaí, accompanied by a civil servant who acts as a witness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 78 ✭✭Pat Custard

Postman, "I've a letter here for ya, needs signed"
    Me, "ok who's it from?"
    Postman, don't know but it's got a Thurles stamp, you anyone from Thurles? "
    Me ," shove that letter up yer hole"

It'd never work.

Does the postman not write "refused delivery" or something?

Would it not be better than shoving it in the postbox anyway??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

It would arrive too fast and get points added on the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

Its a good idea hence why the government do the opposite.

Does the postman not write "refused delivery" or something?

Would it not be better than shoving it in the postbox anyway??

, don't know.

I like your idea though Pat, I've often wondered about that one myself, but I suspect their would be loads would simply refuse to sign for a letter they suspected was a speeding ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

As the title says, why don't speeding tickets come in a registered letter that you have to sign for?

You may say that it will cost the government more money in the long run, but not really. I believe it will actually save money in the long run.

Some people's speeding fine genuinely gets lost in the post, whereas others' "get lost in the post".

For the people whose ticket got lost in the post, whether genuinely or not, it is a waste of court time and national money. Someone may be unlucky enough so that the judge doesn't believe them and slaps them with double points and double fine.

If they are registered, then the people whose fine got "lost in the post" won't have a leg to stand on.

A five Euro registered letter is cheaper than a court appearance for the economy. Besides, money all goes into one big coffer here anyway, so An Post, Garda Síochana .... makes no difference.

Am I missing something?

Registered letters have to be signed for. If you're not in and you get a note in your letterbox saying there's a registered letter waiting for you at the depot, there's no legal requirement for you to go and pick it up. Or you could probably just refuse to sign for it if you're in when the postie knocks with it (not sure about that one)

So if you know you were done speeding and you see that a registered letter is waiting for you or the postie looking for your signature, just don't pick it up or sign and it will go on the records as not being signed for and therefore not delivered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

i'm not gonna sign for a points letter for someone else. Still get a "delivery refused" then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

What would stop people claiming not to be that person? I mean if this in introduced then chances are if a postman knocks up to you with a registered letter you aren't expecting then everyone will know it's a speeding ticket. So when postman says "Are you john Smith?" John Smith can simply say no. What does the Post Man do then?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 78 ✭✭Pat Custard

Registered letters have to be signed for. If you're not in and you get a note in your letterbox saying there's a registered letter waiting for you at the depot, there's no legal requirement for you to go and pick it up. Or you could probably just refuse to sign for it if you're in when the postie knocks with it (not sure about that one)

So if you know you were done speeding and you see that a registered letter is waiting for you or the postie looking for your signature, just don't pick it up or sign and it will go on the records as not being signed for and therefore not delivered.
    , don't know.

I like your idea though Pat, I've often wondered about that one myself, but I suspect their would be loads would simply refuse to sign for a letter they suspected was a speeding ticket.

Should they send it in a blank envelope and omit the Thurles stamp ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

I'd open any letter in a red envelope with SWALK written on the back. Maybe even a lipstick kiss.

That might work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I wanna walk into a post office, with nothing on me but some cash and a reg number, and be able to buy a tax disc. Why the hoops?? Ye want money, make it easy to buy. Dopes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

From a legal viewpoint sending a letter via registered post doesn't make that much more of a difference. The real proof of delivery is delivery via the sheriff or other designated official.

As others have mentioned, refusal of acceptance of the letter and non collections are significant problems.

Cost of a registered letter is ssignificant about 5.50,thats coming close to ten times the cost of standard post.

How many people end up in court for genuinely not receiving the speeding notice? The minority I'd say. It doesn't make economic sense, plus there's an additional administrative burden also for sending via registered post.

You claim that it would save the state money. Is this an off the top of the head assumption or have you done some real research and analysis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

i'm not gonna sign for a points letter for someone else. Still get a "delivery refused" then

I remember refusing letters from the guards on behalf of my brothers numerous traffic violations. Think they were summonses though? Anyway, the gardai were never particularly amused. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

shanered wrote: »
    Its a good idea hence why the government do the opposite.

it was the way it was done, until too many people in court said that they never got the letter. whoever the judge on the last case ruled that regular post was good enough to stop people using that loophole.

I wanna walk into a post office, with nothing on me but some cash and a reg number, and be able to buy a tax disc.
    Would you place them strategically to protect your modesty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Should they send it in a blank envelope and omit the Thurles stamp ??

"Blank envelope that needs signed mate"

Eh no.

Same problem :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

A pair of 17th century flintlocks. The Minister for Justice in person at the door. Just before dawn. Sorted.

Would you place them strategically to protect your modesty?

No. I'd let it all swing in the wind, and still expect my disc. I hate going to the Tax-Office. Load of b0llox. Gimme the damn disc, here's the money, now feck off. It's a pet hate. Also, I'd wear my speedos. Just to annoy them.

jimgoose wrote: »
    A pair of 17th century flintlocks. The Minister for Justice in person at the door. Just before dawn. Sorted.
    You have just expanded my vocabulary. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Uriel. wrote: »
    As others have mentioned, refusal of acceptance of the letter and non collections are significant problems.
    Yep, in the long run it would cost a lot more in wasted time as people just stopped signing for registered letters.
    You should be given the option when renewing your motor tax of giving permission for your email address to be used by the authorities to contact you. They already ask for the email address.
    I'm not saying they should only send an email, but it would be useful that you got an email saying that you were caught speeding and there's a letter in the post. Would make it much harder to miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I wanna walk into a post office, with nothing on me but some cash and a reg number, and be able to buy a tax disc. Why the hoops?? Ye want money, make it easy to buy. Dopes.
    For the majority of people that's significantly more difficult. The post office isn't open at convenient times and ATMs are limited to €300/day in withdrawals. If you're the dodgy kind of person who's at a loose end during the day and deals only in cash, then I can see how the post office might be easier. But that's not most people.
    Buying online is by far much simpler. Reg number, debit card, bang, done.

No. I'd let it all swing in the wind, and still expect my disc. I hate going to the Tax-Office. Load of b0llox. Gimme the damn disc, here's the money, now feck off. It's a pet hate. Also, I'd wear my speedos. Just to annoy them.

Budgie smugglers are a fashion statement. :D

seamus wrote: »
    For the majority of people that's significantly more difficult. The post office isn't open at convenient times and ATMs are limited to €300/day in withdrawals. If you're the dodgy kind of person who's at a loose end during the day and deals only in cash, then I can see how the post office might be easier. But that's not most people.
    I don't think you can tax commercial vehicles online, you couldn't a couple of years ago anyway.

For the majority of people that's significantly more difficult. The post office isn't open at convenient times and [ ATMs are limited to €300/day in withdrawals . If you're the dodgy kind of person who's at a loose end during the day and deals only in cash, then I can see how the post office might be easier. But that's not most people.

Pretty sure they're not. Not all anyway.

Try that with commercials, see how you get on. As Shops said. You might get a pin occasionally, if the sun is in Venus, but usually, nope.