Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stag

• 27-05-2014 9:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭

Quick question that someone might be able to help me with.

In the midst of organising a stag for my best mate. It's my first time doing this, and plan to have the usual set up 2 nights, with an activity on the Saturday.

Just wondering what is normal to ask fellas to cough up for this? For accommodation and the activity and the likes?

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Ive been on stags in the UK and over here.

Its usually no more than €100 for the 2 nights accommodation then 70 or 80 squids for the flights.

Activity costs varied, on one we went to a premiership match, another just did paintballing.

If ye aren't going abroad I reckon €150 would cover accommodation and the activity comfortably.

Its up to individuals how much they want to spend on grog after that.

Also, in case you didnt know, whenever possible the stag pays for nothing.

The way we have done it in the past is that the best man/grooms man gets 10 or 20 quid from everyone and covers the accommodation and activity then dinners out etc.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Yep accommodation, flights, activity.

I'm organising one for a mate of mine using stagit.ie

I would recommend if possible using a site where the lads all go on andpay themselves, makes it a lot handier on you and you arent chasing money. If they dont pay they dont go

• Registered Users Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭chases0102

Cheers lads, thanks for that.

No flights should be involved for anyone as far as I can gather, 150 euros per person for accommodation and activity sounds about right I reckon

• Registered Users Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

A weekend abroad is far better value than a weekend in Ireland even when you include flights. I spent €250 on a stag in Galway a month ago and just feels like a waste when could have seen another country for the same price

• Registered Users Posts: 13,589 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

doncarlos wrote: »
    A weekend abroad is far better value than a weekend in Ireland even when you include flights. I spent €250 on a stag in Galway a month ago and just feels like a waste when could have seen another country for the same price

Absolutely agree with this. I was on my cousins stag last year in Barcelona. Had a great 3 days and took in a game at the nou camp to top it off.

Flights will be the most expensive part but no point on spending stupid money on accommodation. A hostel with 2 bunk rooms is all you need cause you ain't going to be sleeping much. Socialising, in general, is much cheaper on the continent.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Anytime I was abroad on a 'cheap' stag, it ended up costing twice as much as it would in Ireland. It's a longer trip with more expenses at a cheaper rate individually, but a larger expense overall.

Great craic though. Everybody's committed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

It depends on the wealth of the people attending. If they are all on low paid jobs then a bbq and a few cans would be most appropriate, if they are high fliers them goto Vegas. The worst thing would be if people start pulling out because of the expense.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Just as an aside too, the activity can be wasted on a lot of lads if there has been a session the friday night. Trying to get fellas out of bed and that to a waiting minibus is a pain in the hole. We have stopped doing them on the recent stags we were on - just a stroll around the city we're in and general lazing around before the saturday night session. Or maybe that's just my group getting too old :(

• Registered Users Posts: 18,462 ✭✭✭✭kippy

doncarlos wrote: »

Depends where you do but I dont generally agree with that.
    First of all you generally don't "see" another country.
    You see the airport, the hotel/hostel and indeed the templebar esque areas of that city that you are there for a short time to get pi$$ed in.

Been abroad a few times for stags and they've always worked out more expensive than staying at home for the same amount of craic.
    If the right group are there it really doesn't matter where you go.

Generally accomodation costs shouldn't work out too much more than 30-40 quid a head per night. Some of the activities can be pretty expensive. I've found paintballing to be one of the more expensive ones and the quality can vary wildly.

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Snakeweasel

For my brothers I got bus, dinner, accommodation (b&b in a hotel), activity, club for under 120. This was only for one night, extra night would have been another 50 per head. Shop around, most places that aren't completely against stags do deals.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,171 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

We did the foreign stags for the first few but since then we've just stuck to doing them in Ireland as the foreign ones can get very expensive if flights are missed (yep, Munich was so good, 3 of us missed our flight home).

The likes of StagIt are useful if you're organising one in Ireland as they have the payment facilities for lads to pay their own way and the accommodation will be prepared for a roudy group. You won't end up having a particularly unique event but tbh, most stags are pretty much the same: turn up, drink beer, have the craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Dont do activities !!!!!!!!!

If you're going abroad make sure the flights times are decent, esp coming home ie not too early and not too late in the evening (everyone is dead).
    I've had just as much craic on stags from Galway to Poland, its who your with that counts.

Just dont to activities, they ruin a stag. 80% of your crew dont want it!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Slattsy wrote: »

On a 2 nighter activities are a waste if time - everyone will be fecked from the rfi night, was the case for me anyway in any 2 night stags

• Registered Users Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Slattsy wrote: »

Ooops repost!

When the time come for my stag next year I'm thinking somewhere like Cardiff.

It will be an early flight on the Friday, activity that afternoon then grog for 2 days.

Last stag I was at had paintballing the morning after the all day Friday session, that was just awful.

When the time come for my stag next year I'm thinking somewhere like Cardiff.

It will be an early flight on the Friday, activity that afternoon then grog for 2 days.

Last stag I was at had paintballing the morning after the all day Friday session, that was just awful.

I wouldn't recommend Cardiff. Found it fairly tame.

Really?

A good mate of mine ie a total beer monster, has been and said its tremendous.

Hmmm.

Its only knockabout stage atm anyway.

Another place Ive not been to is Liverpool, heard its savage for a boozy weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,462 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Really?

A good mate of mine ie a total beer monster, has been and said its tremendous.

Hmmm.

Its only knockabout stage atm anyway.

Another place Ive not been to is Liverpool, heard its savage for a boozy weekend.

You see I've had tremendous fun in the most "mundane" of places.

It doesn't REALLY matter where ye end up so long as it's stag friendly.

I'd be a beer monster myself ;-)
    Liverpool and Newcastle best places in the UK for a stag.
    Edinburgh and Cardiff were ok. Grand like.