Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How old for daughter to come hunting

• 27-05-2014 4:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭

Quick question. How old should kids e brought out.
    It's beautiful out and thought I'd bring my little one out. She's 4 and half and wants to go with me but being a little princess I don't know how she'd be to it. She knows I shoot bugs bunny an fantastic mr fox but in the flesh I don't know how she'd be. She's seen dead rabbits before. Any advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

I brought out 3 of mine once 4 year boy and two girle 6 and 8 and was lucky to get one rabbit with the noise they made. But none were bothered with the blood as they had all seen dead rabbits before. I bring the now 9 year old girl regularly and have been since she was 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭tomtucker81

Incidentally, just having this raised at home the last few days. My 6 yr old girl stated that she wanted to try deer, as she'd had beef and lamb and ham and chicken.
    I told her id have to get a gun and a licence etc, and go hunt one for her. And she said work away!! She also informed me that she wanted the head with antlers mounted on her wall coz kings and queens do, and sure she's a princess.

So to satisfy her she's gonna come rabbit shooting some evening which she seems very keen to come along with, and I told her id see if I can get a deer for her in autumn.

But I was wondering, is she too young? Maybe trying for some bunnies some night with her could be the handiest way of finding out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Dian Cecht

On a side note, what's the youngest age you can get a child insured to be out shooting with you? Have a brother now in this "boat".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Had a chat to my father about it and it's not the age really more so than fact she won't be able to keep up as the ground it have a lot is uphill so her little legs are strong enough just yet. Maybe next year. I instead settled for a 2 hour fishing session with her and she caught a good few trout , more than me anyway :)
    Cheers for the replies. I'm sure it's a common enough question but I wasn't ar5ed searching

If you really wanted to go out with her you could try and arrange a short trip where you know there is a handy rabbit or two. That's what I did with mine in the early days.

I was gonna do that but ATM the fields are wee bit flooded. Usually are when even small bit of rain comes down.
    I was also thinking maybe just do one field with her an maybe take a crow or two.

Or shoot a rabbit and panch him by push gutting him plank him in a field bring out the daughter and fire twords him and walla she'll think your great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Dian Cecht wrote: »
    On a side note, what's the youngest age you can get a child insured to be out shooting with you? Have a brother now in this "boat".

AFAIK a training cert can be got at 15, BUT it legally would be liccenced to you (if you will be the one bringing him shooting)

The gun will not be his gun
    Licence holder will have to be wherever the gun is
    The young chap cannot buy ammo

IMO its a good system

djflawless wrote: »
    AFAIK a training cert can be got at 15, BUT it legally would be liccenced to you (if you will be the one bringing him shooting)

The gun will not be his gun
    Licence holder will have to be wherever the gun is
    The young chap cannot buy ammo

IMO its a good system

Thanks ;)

The young lad is nearly 5 so won't be doing the shooting. Was wondering if it's possible to get him insurance cover, just in case he gets hurt (twists an ankle etc) so the landowner's not worried about a possible insurance claim tbh. Checked a few insurer's web sites and policies and can find no reference to minimum ages. Thought someone here might have some info/experience of this.

Ifa is who I'm with. My father had me insured with them for years and years.
    Should be grand for the young lad

Dian Cecht wrote: »
    Thanks ;)

The young lad is nearly 5 so won't be doing the shooting. Was wondering if it's possible to get him insurance cover, just in case he gets hurt (twists an ankle etc) so the landowner's not worried about a possible insurance claim tbh. Checked a few insurer's web sites and policies and can find no reference to minimum ages. Thought someone here might have some info/experience of this.

Open for correction here

Nargc insure our club, and they insure junior members with us.I dont think they have a min age requirement

Thanks lads I'll send a few emails so & I'll report back in case anyone else is interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Lad I shoot with has had his young lad ensured for years with NARGC.

My young lad is free on our clubs Countryside Alliance group scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Guys I wouldn't worry too much about insurance and all. There's no obligation on you to be a litigious nuisance for the sake of a twisted ankle. At the end of the day a child is not going to be out of income because they couldn't play outside for a few days. As for age, mine are 9, 11 and 12, two boys and a girl and have all been out with me at some stage. The eleven year old lad especially is shooting mad. He can dispatch a winged bird or a clipped rabbit like the best of them, plucks birds and now wants to learn skinning and gutting.

All well and good until something worse than a twisted ankle happens!
    Plus, some gun clubs/farmers won't let people on the land without insurance

djflawless wrote: »
    All well and good until something worse than a twisted ankle happens!
    Plus, some gun clubs/farmers won't let people on the land without insurance

Horses for courses but I'm in no hurry to go and find an insurance company or fund to take out a policy to cover non life threatening injuries for my kids to sit in cover with me while shooting pigeons. Farmers like to have their back covered as much as the next lad but I still need to meet the first one to ask me if the young lad coming along to beat the ditch is insured.

I agree if the young lad got hurt there would be no claim made but to have insurance cover on him would put the landowners mind at rest, if they asked. This, to me, is the most important part.

There's three serious accident types that spring to mind when shooting is involved; one relates to negligent firearms discharges and results can be horrific but incident numbers are very low.

If you're in the NARGC and I've understood Mr Gavigan correctly the compensation fund will step in and provide some cover.

Accidents involving livestock like being trampled by cattle or attacked by a bull but what the sweet jaysus would one be doing in a field full of cattle anyway. There would only be one person to blame and that's the reckless hunter who ventures into the field while the other side of the fence or an out of sight approach would have done just as well.

The third category in my opinion is without a doubt trips and falls leading to fractures and sprains and so on but those fall into a category of none life threatening injuries and in my opinion need to be taken on the chin as a fact of life. If you never venture out and spend your life on the couch you'll never break or twist anything but you might just die a miserable git with an unblemished skeleton who keeled over from heart disease and obesity a good fifteen years early.

I might come accross a bit strange but I'm quite old fashioned when it comes to that sort of stuff, kids need to be out getting dirty and a bit of rough and tumble never done anyone any harm. Pick yourself up and carry on and if needs be a bit of plaster and a couple of weeks on crutches will do the trick.

Far more important than additional personal injury insurance I reckon is a bit of decent first aid knowledge and the likes of tetanus jabs up to date and safe and sound gun handling if you're going to be roaming around fields doing a bit of shooting wether that be with adults or kids.

Make sure your third party liabilities are covered so the farmer whose livelyhood you've been given the privilege to use for your recreation doesn't need to worry about accidental damage or your shooting friends aren't left with a financial disaster if the worst happens and the rest is nothing that can't be sorted between some decent first aid and maybe a run to the GP or A&E for the more serious stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

There's three serious accident types that spring to mind when shooting is involved; one relates to negligent firearms discharges and results can be horrific but incident numbers are very low.

If you're in the NARGC and I've understood Mr Gavigan correctly the compensation fund will step in and provide some cover.

Accidents involving livestock like being trampled by cattle or attacked by a bull but what the sweet jaysus would one be doing in a field full of cattle anyway. There would only be one person to blame and that's the reckless hunter who ventures into the field while the other side of the fence or an out of sight approach would have done just as well.

The third category in my opinion is without a doubt trips and falls leading to fractures and sprains and so on but those fall into a category of none life threatening injuries and in my opinion need to be taken on the chin as a fact of life. If you never venture out and spend your life on the couch you'll never break or twist anything but you might just die a miserable git with an unblemished skeleton who keeled over from heart disease and obesity a good fifteen years early.

I might come accross a bit strange but I'm quite old fashioned when it comes to that sort of stuff, kids need to be out getting dirty and a bit of rough and tumble never done anyone any harm. Pick yourself up and carry on and if needs be a bit of plaster and a couple of weeks on crutches will do the trick.

Far more important than additional personal injury insurance I reckon is a bit of decent first aid knowledge and the likes of tetanus jabs up to date and safe and sound gun handling if you're going to be roaming around fields doing a bit of shooting wether that be with adults or kids.

Make sure your third party liabilities are covered so the farmer whose livelyhood you've been given the privilege to use for your recreation doesn't need to worry about accidental damage or your shooting friends aren't left with a financial disaster if the worst happens and the rest is nothing that can't be sorted between some decent first aid and maybe a run to the GP or A&E for the more serious stuff.

Massive +1 !!

Why wouldn't you go into a field with cattle. I can understand a bull around heifers but a field full of cattle is no biggy on any of my permissions. Field full of bullocks acting the b0llox is different story. Came across some wild ones but never came close to any incidents.
    They're more afraid f you than you are of them.

No arguments with young fellas getting mucked up there anyway!!
    I'd be a firm believer of that as well

The cow thing tho, I'd have no problem venturing into a field of cattle providing I have a rough idea of their temperament.
    A lot of lads would know the temperament of livestock around their shooting areas.
    Not saying that livestock can be easily read or anything, smallest thing could cause a stampede.
    But say, I'm heading into this field.
    Usually the cattle are going to stay at that far side.but today they start trotting towards me, grand I'll get out here

As for the minor injuries, slips/trips/falls are an unavoidable part of life
    But an eye injury from a ditch could be costly, and could lead to something more serious
    At least you have some piece of mind when your insured
    You wouldn't drive around your car uninsured because your a good driver would you?