Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork BHAA 2014 season

• 27-05-2014 1:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭

Said I would start a thread for the Cork BHAA 2014 season as a good few here including myself participate in them. So there could be some good discussions.

2014 season calender here

8th race of the season tonight which is the John Buckley 5K. Could be upto 1,000 people there tonight as its always a favorite. Bargain as only €5 for chip timing on the flattest and fastest road race in Cork (possibly Munster) and a fine spread of food afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

viperlogic wrote: »
    Said I would start a thread for the Cork BHAA 2014 season as a good few here including myself participate in them. So there could be some good discussions.

8th race of the season tonight which is the John Buckley 5K. Could be upto 1,000 people there tonight as its always a favorite. Bargain as only €5 for chip timing on the flattest and fastest road race in Cork (possibly Munster) and a fine spread of food afterwards

Gutted to be missing this tonight through injury myself. Will be there in a supporters role though.

Have seen a couple of new races added to the Cork BHAA calender this year while the popular Macroom AIB 5k is no longer there (had almost 900 take part last year). I think the Macroom 5K is being run again with precision timing anyway just not part of the BHAA calender though for some strange reason

• Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭jaggiebunnet

Still not decided whether to do this - it is only 5k so should have no affect on Marathon next week - always that chance of injury though...

well I did it and hit one of my goals for the year, a sub 20 mins 5k! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭tupac_healy

Just back from the JB 5k, ran with my sister so took it at a handy pace, came in at 33mins

Was my first time running it and totally enjoyed it, seemed to be a great atmosphere and a nice crowd too!!

Excellent event & will be surely running more in future ;) Next time I will be pushing that time right down though :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭viperlogic

PB for me also, 18:30 for 104th place. V v fast field out there, winner came in at 14:36

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭tupac_healy

PB for me also, 18:30 for 104th place. V v fast field out there, winner came in at 14:36

Yeah but he was on a bike so that don't count :D:D:D:D

He was ridiculously fast altogether from my spectator standpoint!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭sixpack's little hat

17:5x

First time going sub 18 for me, delighted with it.

It's a very fast course. Great organisation too, especially considering the large number of runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

It's a really good event, getting close to 1000 people. I was running with a friend who was aiming to get under 29 min, despite a good sprint to the line ended up on 29:01, 2nd k let us down!

17:5x

First time going sub 18 for me, delighted with it.

It's a very fast course. Great organisation too, especially considering the large number of runners.

Ya amazed that the congestion doesn't make it a slower race really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 brenmur

First time running it, really good atmosphere. Missed out on sub 18:00 by a few seconds. Next time maybe.

Anyone know anything about the next race, believe its a new one on the calendar, Merck Millipore 5K? Would assume it'll take place around Brinny/Innishannon but havent seen a route. From my knowledge of that area it wont be a flat course anyway!

slingerz wrote: »
    Anyone know anything about the next race, believe its a new one on the calendar, Merck Millipore 5K? Would assume it'll take place around Brinny/Innishannon but havent seen a route. From my knowledge of that area it wont be a flat course anyway!

Here is the route, note, it is actually 6K.

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/404971536

Here is the route, note, it is actually 6K.

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/404971536

Could have sworn it said 5 on the website earlier. What harm, anyway does that start by the factory there or where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Ron Scott

You'd have a good warm up run if you park anywhere near Brinny/Innishannon ;-)

Ron Scott wrote: »
    You'd have a good warm up run if you park anywhere near Brinny/Innishannon ;-)

Where is it so?!

is this it ? http://www.millipore.com/offices/cp3/ie

oh i see viperlogic already linked to the route in carrigtwohill

not familar with that area but i believe that there was a 4 mile race in carrigtwohill under the BHAA about a month back maybe Janssen is it the same course?

Janssen and FMC are the same course in Little Island.

The Millipore one http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/404971536 has a piece (triangle bit) which is the same as the Carrigtwohill 5K that is usually held in July. At the bottom right hand corner of the triangle there is a tough enough pull from what I remember running the Carrigtwohill 5K last year

Janssen and FMC are the same course in Little Island.

The Millipore one http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/404971536 has a piece (triangle bit) which is the same as the Carrigtwohill 5K that is usually held in July. At the bottom right hand corner of the triangle there is a tough enough pull from what I remember running the Carrigtwohill 5K last year

The Glanmire/Source fitness 4 Mile is on the day before this Millipore one so reckon I will go there instead anyway :)

i presume your heading to this viperlogic?

dont think i'll make it myself have been struggling with injury and its a bit of a journey for me not to be racing it.

i presume your heading to this viperlogic?

dont think i'll make it myself have been struggling with injury and its a bit of a journey for me not to be racing it.

yes, thou legs and body a bit tired from LT session on Tuesday night and LSR last night. Will give it a lash anyways as our team are doing well lately with a few wins

fair play your doing a good bit so. they changed the direction of the route of this race so it should be more downhill than uphill anyway

Great event last night, had a festival atmosphere. Really well ran also, easy reg, loads of parking, well signed, loads of marshals, loads of food and water, garmin watches for prizes and a tech t-shirt, all for only €5. Take a bow Millipore and BHAA. Numbers were slightly down from other races, 370 runners, but I put that down to the big Glanmire race the night before, and a graded track meet on also last night.

The course was a nice challenging 6K. Delighted with 17th place as raced it but didn't race hard as legs were a bit tired from LT and LSR sessions the days before. Our team came second also, wuhoo.

Info, pics and results here....
    http://corkrunning.blogspot.ie/2014/06/results-of-cork-bhaa-millipore-6k.html

Great event last night, had a festival atmosphere. Really well ran also, easy reg, loads of parking, well signed, loads of marshals, loads of food and water, garmin watches for prizes and a tech t-shirt, all for only €5. Take a bow Millipore and BHAA. Numbers were slightly down from other races, 370 runners, but I put that down to the big Glanmire race the night before, and a graded track meet on also last night.

The course was a nice challenging 6K. Delighted with 17th place as raced it but didn't race hard as legs were a bit tired from LT and LSR sessions the days before. Our team came second also, wuhoo.

Info, pics and results here....
    http://corkrunning.blogspot.ie/2014/06/results-of-cork-bhaa-millipore-6k.html

Some good running there, a tech tee for these races is a rarity anyway!

Didn't make last nights BHAA 6 mile race but here are results and pics http://corkrunning.blogspot.ie/2014/06/results-photos-of-cork-bhaa-mount-oval.html

Next BHAA race is the EMC 5K on 2nd July

Next race is tomorrow. Anyone else doing it?

EMC-5k-2014-Flyer.jpg

Next race is tomorrow. Anyone else doing it?

EMC-5k-2014-Flyer.jpg

I'm on for this one. Will we well behind you though!

You never know, I won't be going full tilt as have already done a 11mile and 14 mile run this week and due a 18 mile one later.

If you see me come say hello, I'm the tall fella with the VMware singlet and glasses.

You never know, I won't be going full tilt as have already done a 11mile and 14 mile run this week and due a 18 mile one later.

If you see me come say hello, I'm the tall fella with the VMware singlet and glasses.

Only just saw this now lad I went around in 27.25 or so struggled badly from mile 2 to 3 had 8.14 and 8.27 for the first 2 miles and out to 9.59 for the 3rd

Results and photos here

http://corkrunning.blogspot.ie/2014/07/results-of-cork-bhaa-emc-5k-race-wed.html

Will do a mini race report later in my training log

The place was full of people in VMware singlets :)

Went along for the first time myself as used to work for EMC in a past life. Nice little hill on the course that certainly tested you on the second time round!

I put a small race report from the EMC 5K here in my training log

IPS Garda 5K next week down the marina. I assume this is a flat course and going to be pretty fast??

Same as the John Buckley 5K course. Fastest 5K course in Cork. Many got there PB on this course including myself.

Well then I'll be hoping for the best there myself too. Had a hard training run this morning so hopefully won't be still feeling the effects

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭EauRouge79

Paolo Nuntini fella is playing the Marquee as well tonight, could be chaotic down Centre Park Rd and at the Entrance to the marquee.???

anyone know how it went last night? was supposed to go but an accident had me in CUH in the afternoon unable to run!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Ron Scott

anyone know how it went last night? was supposed to go but an accident had me in CUH in the afternoon unable to run!

Was pretty messy down there. The concert seemed to be starting at about 8.30 so cars and people were streaming down Monaghan road at the planned race start time of 8pm. They announced a 15/20 min delay, then the Gardai got involved and said there was no sign of the concert traffic easing off so to go ahead with the race on the left side of the road only. This made for a pretty tightly packed & tense start line and a lot of weaving early on. If someone had taken a fall it could have been trouble.
    Don't think the BHAA could have done much about it, maybe in future not hold that particular race on the same night as one of the bigger Marquee gigs.
    Usual great organisation otherwise, short registration lines, good grub afterwards and fast results.

Ron Scott wrote: »
    Was pretty messy down there. The concert seemed to be starting at about 8.30 so cars and people were streaming down Monaghan road at the planned race start time of 8pm. They announced a 15/20 min delay, then the Gardai got involved and said there was no sign of the concert traffic easing off so to go ahead with the race on the left side of the road only. This made for a pretty tightly packed & tense start line and a lot of weaving early on. If someone had taken a fall it could have been trouble.
    Don't think the BHAA could have done much about it, maybe in future not hold that particular race on the same night as one of the bigger Marquee gigs.
    Usual great organisation otherwise, short registration lines, good grub afterwards and fast results.

Bit of a nightmare so. May want to look into the race schedule next year so and have that race at a different time maybe alternate with a different run so that the Live @ The Marquee gigs are over with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Bit of a poor show down at the Novartis 5k this evening. Roads weren't closed so cars were driving THROUGH the packed start line minutes before we took off, 'a t shirt for every finisher' turned into a t shirt for the first few hundred, and the sandwiches/refreshments dried up long before I got there, the bottled water and juice had even run out, only kiwis were left. It was also 10 o clock before the results started to slowly trickle out, by which time the dwindling, hungry crowd was getting cranky.

The reason for all of this was apparently that numbers were up, but numbers have been up in every race this season, so it was entirely predictable and could have been handled a lot better.

Nice course though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Cona

Leisureworld was challenging enough 5 miler...Happy enough with my time, starting to see the benefits of some consistent weeks training.

Up next, Cork to Cobh 15 miler. I will be doing this as part of a 20 mile run with the 15 at marathon pace in build up for DCM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭polaris68

Forgot about this. Had a 13 mile run planned for tomorrow morning - this should be much more enjoyable!

Perfect day for the Cork to Cobh run! It's just amazing value for money, €10 for a well marshalled 15m race, tech-top & a big spread of food afterwards, where would you get it?

Fantastic bright and fresh morning for this mornings BHAA Mahers Sports 6K in Little Island. Really enjoyed it

Results up already http://corkbhaa.com/2014/11/16/mahers-sports-6k-results-2014/