Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laguna II Exhaust?

• 26-05-2014 5:28pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭

Hi lads. It feels like the exhaust has just gone on the Laguna.

She's "juddering" the whole time and she's putting smoke out the back which she didn't do before. When you're inside you hear a "clicking" noise but when you walk round the rear you realise its the noise of the pipe spitting the smoke out.

Its too wet at the moment to go under it so I haven't been able to look.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 124 ✭✭Dark sun

You gonna have to get down and dirty,where do you think it's blown, before or after the cat,if it's petrol shouldn't be smoke,even with a blown exhaust, is the car down in power. It should be more of spluttery sound, what do you mean a clicking sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,411 ✭✭✭Dartz

Might be a misfire or something similar. Check your engine - the exhaust doesn't cause smoke. Depending on the colour of smoke it's either dumping oil or fuel into the exhaust.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

The bloke next door came in and looked at it and he said the exhaust has come away from the chassis. Either in the middle or the clip up under the gearbox. I looked under and it does appear like the clip half way up the car has broken off.

Maybe she always smoked a bit and I never noticed it. Although there is definitely a smell when she's running. That bit I'm not imagining. Smells like burning.

Well fellas you were right. I brought it down to the Gargage today and straight away he said "Coils". He's 99% certain.

How much will that set me back lads?

Should cost around €30 each, you could just replace the ones that are fooked, but they could all be on there way out, up to you, handy enough job.

Heres a quick guide in how to change them,http://youtu.be/8Lr6teZ1S_U.

Cheers lads. Arra I left it in with yer man yesterday. I realise now I could have done it myself but feck it, hopefully this'll sort the problem.

Thanks for your help Gents.

Just collected the Motor fellas. It came to e189.39. 3 coils at 38 quid each and 53 quid labour incl VAT.

Does that sound reasonable lads?

Jesus. wrote: »
    Just collected the Motor fellas. It came to e189.39. 3 coils at 38 quid each and 53 quid labour incl VAT.

Does that sound reasonable lads?

About average I'd say for garage, you could saved yourself few bob doing it yourself, but at least your back on the road. You will probably end up changing the 4th coil might be on the way out. Keep an eye on it.

Dark sun wrote: »
    About average I'd say for garage, you could saved yourself few bob doing it yourself, but at least your back on the road. You will probably end up changing the 4th coil might be on the way out. Keep an eye on it.

I don't know if I'm imagining it but I could nearly swear there's a wee bit more poke in it and it also seems to be burning less fuel according to the Dash Com.

Is this all in my head?

Jesus. wrote: »
    I don't know if I'm imagining it but I could nearly swear there's a wee bit more poke in it and it also seems to be burning less fuel according to the Dash Com.

Is this all in my head?

No not in your head,car will run a lot better and smother with more poke, you were probably only running on 3 cylinders and would have been down in power.