Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommended dealers

• 25-05-2014 1:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭

I'm not sure if this is a post that will gain traction or not. Instead of the usual posts about dealers that are less than desirable, it would be good to see a list of dealers where they went the extra mile and were excellent to deal with.

I just bought my latest pride and joy, a volvo s80 from a dealer in Mountmellick. Reddy2drive. I can't speak highly enough of this man. I am in Donegal and viewed the car twice. He accommodated me outside of regular business hours and was a real genuine guy. I test drove tons of 'mint' cars and fountd them to be, as lots of you may be aware sh1te.

In this man's adds and he describes every bump and imperfection in a car and I find it refreshing. He is a real good man to deal with. When looking for a car sometimes I travel quite a distance just to be dissapointed. Like many on here I am quite particular. To arrive at a car and to find it exactly as described is nice.

All in all I am glad to have met him, at this point 3 times, and would like recommend anyone looking for a genuine buy with a realistic price check him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

So which one are you, the CEO/MD, Sales man, head of promotion....... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Fair play Satanta, you're working late!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

Not at all lads. I'm just up late. Troll my past posts and you'll see I have nothing to do with the dealership. I'm 4 hours away from him. I just thought it would be a good thread for the buying sub forum.

My last post was actually about buying a jag xf. The car was grand but not a patch on the one I bought. I won't go into detail but suffice to say the.honest man got the sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ahh no I'd say you're fairly legit, you are old stock after all! I think it's a good idea, but sure you will get loads milking it and just signing up to promote their own business!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭green123

this is a good idea for a thread but it has been tried before and never seems to work for some reason.
    maybe because they are all cowboys ?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=86722216

hopefully you get more replies with genuine dealers this time.
    there must be some surely ?

they are all very nice and accommodating when you are at the buying stage, but what we really need to know is dealers who fix problems when you go back to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭curiousb

Good idea as long as the recommendations are legit.

I posted about the last car I bought a year or so ago and the good experience I had with the dealer.

I bought a Mini Cooper from Kellys Car Centre in Rathdrum and was very happy with the way the transaction went, no hassle and no messing around.

Within the warranty period, we had 2 issues. The bracket holding the rear of the exhaust broke and paintwork on the bonnet bubbled (it had been resprayed, and we had been told of this).

Re the exhaust, they replaced the bracket and the back box also as they said it was on the way out but repairable and they would prefer to replace it.

They also took the car back in when we were on holidays and got the bonnet resprayed.

So, we were very happy with the sale and the after service.

I have no connection with them, other than being a satisfied customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

Just too add, a week later and this dealer emailed me all the receipts the previous owner got from volvo. It was nice to see. And the car is running like a clock. Exactly as described in the add. Minor flaws and al (not many but no surprises). I drove to Carrick on shannon to see a Beemer that was 'mint'. It drove well but looked like it was dragged through a hedge by shrek. I qwizzed another dealer about a mint lexus is250 and it turned out to be 'slightly smashed' before and paint was bubbling on the wing.

Generally I drive the length and breadth of the country to find what I want. For example I drove from Donegal to Cork to buy a race bike. The amount of frustration I feel most of the time when first impressions show the bullsh1t in the add is quite literally depressing. And I say that for my own county too. I'd probably never buy from here with the experience I've had.

Still recommend. I've.been around.the block a time or two and I am happy this time.

Richard. Ceo reddy2drive (not)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

I'm in Laois and travelled to Greystones to get what I want. Got a lovely 407 Coupé 2.2 petrol from Autosource. Well happy with it but also very pleased with dealings with Autosource / Mark Johnson.

The back story on the car matched my research. The price matched the fact that it needs new tyres asap. Got it serviced with George Dalton in Portlaoise and it seems A1 and is driving 100%.

Very happy with whole process and very happy to recommend Autosource to anyone looking for quality stock. There is not a mark on my new car.