Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nanny murderer gets life

• 24-05-2014 11:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

It was reported on RTE six one as the nannys fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

It was reported on RTE six one as the nannys fault.

What, that she strangled herself and buried herself in a barrel?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

What, that she strangled herself and buried herself in a barrel?!

I think the guy who was convicted's main defence was that the deceased was blackmailing him over a faked pregnancy and that he was essentially goaded into killing her. While murder is clearly wrong and we're not supposed to speak ill of the dead, if true then I have to say that was an incredibly cnutish thing for somebody to do to somebody else.

An early miscarriage or chemical pregnancy could have meant that she may have gotten a positive pregnancy test, genuinely believed that she was pregnant, but there'd be no trace of it in the post-mortem.

I think it's a bit unfair that she's being portrayed as having lied about it when she's not here to defend herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

There's a big difference between lying about somebody and reporting on the defence's side of the case in a trial though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

His defence was her goading him and the fake pregnancy claim. He lost the rag but it's still no excuse for what he did, and burying her body in a 10ft pit in his parents backyard did him no favours. A horrible act and deserves to be punished for it.

In fairness though immediately after he killed her he fecked off to be with his ex girlfriend in New York, leaving her family in bits not knowing if she was dead or alive, and he denied all knowledge. When he finally did admit to killing her, he claimed to have dumped her body in a river to try and stop Gardai from finding it.

I really wouldn't trust his final account of events one bit, who knows what else he is lying about or omitting, in order to paint himself in a less negative light.

The reports only say that she wasn't pregnant at the time of her death - maybe she'd had a miscarriage or an abortion prior to that with his knowledge, but he chose not to mention it, and completely fabricated what happened and what was said on the night.

He's making out like it was a spur of the moment crime of passion, the way he killed her and his actions in the days and weeks afterwards don't seem to fit in with that. I mean, he strangles her in the heat of the moment ... then ties two cable ties around her neck and puts a plastic bag over her head, just to be sure she's dead? Then goes about his business as normal, before burying her in a pit he had conveniently dug weeks earlier, and flying off to America to be with his ex?

I'm just saying ... he seems like a completely remorseless murderer, only caring about his own interests. It's already been proven that he lied several times about what happened; I'd be wary of taking his final version of events at face value.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Life means 8 years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

Augmerson wrote: »
    Life means 8 years?

Rubbish, pure and utter rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

In fairness though immediately after he killed her he fecked off to be with his ex girlfriend in New York, leaving her family in bits not knowing if she was dead or alive, and he denied all knowledge. When he finally did admit to killing her, he claimed to have dumped her body in a river to try and stop Gardai from finding it.

I really wouldn't trust his final account of events one bit, who knows what else he is lying about or omitting, in order to paint himself in a less negative light.

The reports only say that she wasn't pregnant at the time of her death - maybe she'd had a miscarriage or an abortion prior to that with his knowledge, but he chose not to mention it, and completely fabricated what happened and what was said on the night.

He's making out like it was a spur of the moment crime of passion, the way he killed her and his actions in the days and weeks afterwards don't seem to fit in with that. I mean, he strangles her in the heat of the moment ... then ties two cable ties around her neck and puts a plastic bag over her head, just to be sure she's dead? Then goes about his business as normal, before burying her in a pit he had conveniently dug weeks earlier, and flying off to America to be with his ex?

I'm just saying ... he seems like a completely remorseless murderer, only caring about his own interests. It's already been proven that he lied several times about what happened; I'd be wary of taking his final version of events at face value.

Apparently the state pathologist (I think) testified she had never been pregnant. There were texts between the two of them that detailed their history and the discussions theyd had about her 'pregnancy'.

All that said, he still is guilty of an horrific crime and callous behaviour afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,175 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Augmerson wrote: »
    Life means 8 years?

Average life sentence in Ireland is 17-18 years. Don't see this chap getting out any earlier. Don't let the facts get in the way of a '......but joe, d'eyll be out in 8 years....' Argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

joeguevara wrote: »
    Average life sentence in Ireland is 17-18 years. Don't see this chap getting out any earlier. Don't let the facts get in the way of a '......but joe, d'eyll be out in 8 years....' Argument.
    And even if he does get out it will be on strict Life licence conditions.
    There are no shortage of men who have done in excess of 25 years of a life sentence and are still in jail.

tritium wrote: »
    Apparently the state pathologist (I think) testified she had never been pregnant. There were texts between the two of them that detailed their history and the discussions theyd had about her 'pregnancy'.

I may be wrong but I can't imagine a chemical pregnancy would show up in a post-mortem? However you could definitely get a positive pregnancy test from one, it's extremely common. So as I mentioned above, it's possible she genuinely believed she was pregnant.

That's going by what I've read, obviously not all evidence is included in the reports. However based on the information available, I wouldn't rule it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Whether she did or didn't fake her pregnancy, to say she goaded him into killing her is just nonsense. They were discussing baby names for weeks and in that time he had plenty of time to plan how he could murder Aoife Phelan so he could effectively erase her from his life and get back with his ex girlfriend. He even had his friends unwittingly help him bury the barrel on his parents farm. It's not too often I say it but I hope he rots in prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Ellie2008 wrote: »

What s really sad to me, apart from her death of course is that she will be remembered for this one lie when I'm sure she was a nice person who made a mistake due to insecurity or whatever.

Something like 30% of pregnancies self-abort in very early stages, I don't think that could be detected later and your positive would become false very quickly. My relatives were in this situation and they learnt never to trust a single test. I don't think there is any need to accuse her of anything when a common natural phenomenon might explain it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Chemical pregnancies are quite common, you have a surge in the hormone that causes the pregnancy test to read as positive but you're not pregnant, it could be you were and the pregnancy ended or could be just an hormonal issue but its not rare by any means. Any look at a pregnancy forum will show you just how often it happens. I think its awful the assumption is she lied when no one can know, even if she did his actions are disgusting. How many women have had to break the news of an unplanned pregnancy, its not a reason to beat someone to death or to dispose of their body in such a horrific way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

Horrible man, I reckon all he cared about was the ex gf, and noway was Aoife getting in the way of that, it could of been a chemical pregnancy, or she could of lied due to wanting a proper relationship with him, there was no need to kill her. What kind of animal does that, and then buries the body in their Mothers back yard like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Jaysus lads, is it even relevant about the pregnancy? She could have said she was a space alien from Mars, it still doesn't justify his actions.
    Some people on boards always try to play devils advocate, purely to come across as balanced and fair, but lets be realistic here, your man killer her and was found guilty of it. That's really the only important thing here.

As someone who was at the funeral, you can be sure that her family are affected worse than his over this. I find it difficult for people to come on here and almost dismiss this case and cheapen it by even mentioning the pregnancy issue. Its as if to say that she was deserving of, or anything other than 100% innocent in her own murder. Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Jaysus lads, is it even relevant about the pregnancy? She could have said she was a space alien from Mars, it still doesn't justify his actions.
    Some people on boards always try to play devils advocate, purely to come across as balanced and fair, but lets be realistic here, your man killer her and was found guilty of it. That's really the only important thing here.

As someone who was at the funeral, you can be sure that her family are affected worse than his over this. I find it difficult for people to come on here and almost dismiss this case and cheapen it by even mentioning the pregnancy issue. Its as if to say that she was deserving of, or anything other than 100% innocent in her own murder. Ridiculous.

Agreed 100%. Absolutely astounded reading some of the comments here, one moron even suggesting that he had grounds for provocation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

To make it clear firstly I'm not judging her because I told some awful lies in relationships when I was younger, attention seeking stuff but yes I do think if and if of course she lied about being pregnant to force him into a relationship or whatever that seems like grounds for a provocation defence to me.

What s really sad to me, apart from her death of course is that she will be remembered for this one lie when I'm sure she was a nice person who made a mistake due to insecurity or whatever.

Speechless at this, one of the most nonsensical things I've ever read on here. Could you edit this rubbish out please, imagine if a family member was to read this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Ellie2008

Mods - can you please delete my post, and all re-posts of it, it wasn't meant the way people are reading it. I was not trying to justify murder. Please, I don't want to upset anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Some people on boards always try to play devils advocate
    I tend to, but some stuff is just one-sided - when someone ends a life, that's it, all bets are off. Can't be any other way.

His anger over the pregnancy thing was what provoked him, but nothing more; not a defence, just a cause. Think that's what Ellie was saying.

Lots of murders have motives though.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

The pregnancy thing isn't reasonable "provocation" at all for me, not even close. Good to see a life sentence given.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Good pointS and well made, The_B_Man, except for the one I put in bold. Her family have to go through grief; his through shame. It's very easy to sympathise with the grief of the family of a murder victim. A lot harder to imagine how you would feel if your own sibling/child/parent murdered someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

The pregnancy thing isn't reasonable "provocation" at all for me, not even close.
    It certainly isn't. All that was said that it was the thing that provoked him, but not anything about it being understandable or anything like that.

Magaggie wrote: »
    It certainly isn't. All that was said that it was the thing that provoked him, but not anything about it being understandable or anything like that.

Read the post again and you'll see that is ambiguous. The wording of it greatly angered me when I read it earlier, really wish it was changed or deleted.

Montroseee wrote: »
    Read the post again and you'll see that is ambiguous. The wording of it greatly angered me when I read it earlier, really wish it was changed or deleted.

Well I also wish it was deleted as the author and I have requested that the Mods delete it. It was badly worded I did not intend it to read as if the victim deserved what transpired, of course I don't think that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

Well I also wish it was deleted as the author and I have requested that the Mods delete it. It was badly worded I did not intend it to read as if the victim deserved what transpired, of course I don't think that.

go back to your post, and click edit, it should have the option to delete post there..

Did delete my post, the problem is with people quoting it, so if they could just delete their quotes from my post it will be vanished for cyber space for good, which I think would be a good thing.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Did delete my post, the problem is with people quoting it, so if they could just delete their quotes from my post it will be vanished for cyber space for good, which I think would be a good thing.

You've clarified what you said Ellie, so I wouldn't worry about it. I think most people understand where you were coming from. :)