Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Single,32 and no holidays plans...

• 23-05-2014 12:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Going unregistered for this one...

Looking to hear from other people in maybe a similar situation.

What do you do?

Have plenty of Annual Leave this summer and would love to go away on a 2 week holiday but no one to go with - this leaves me feeling sad and frustrated. Would love to hear from other people and maybe they might have some good ideas?

Not up for traveling on my own - have done plenty of that and whilst I enjoyed it, I don't have the heart/energy to do it again. My wild/party traveling days are behind me...

All my friends are in relationships and going away with partners.

Just want to on a relaxing holiday to somewhere like a Spain/Portugal and chill out...

I kind of need a holiday like everyone does but no idea what to do now. I normally would go away on my own but just not up for that anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Do you know anyone you could visit as a holiday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

Join a biking tour for a couple of weeks. There are a lot fo companies and societies organising biking, hiking, etc., all year round, and from 1 person or more (so you join with others).

If you want a holiday by a pool with some other people then you will have to start making new friends with people who like those type of holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 scallywaggles

Try travel websites such as exodus, intrepid etc they often have solos holiday trips or adult groups where you can go on leisurely holidays or various levels of activity. Lots out there! Or join meetup groups, some organise sun holidays. Have travelled solo and in groups the groups can be good fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭coolcat63

You could also try volunteering if you don't like the idea of lazing around a beach; try workaway.info or HelpX.net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Ann84

Have a nose around meetup.com it's not a dating site, it's a group organising site! Lots of travel groups, people just like you, older and younger just looking for other people to do things with!

I've had good experiences, not in travel but pursuing other hobbies

http://www.meetup.com/cities/ie/dublin/?mv=search-panel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭YumCha

+1 for Meetup, also try Couchsurfing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Go to a surf camp in Spain or Portugal or walk the camino

YumCha wrote: »
    also try Couchsurfing...
    Only if you're interested in casual sex and smoking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭jlm29

My aunt often goes on holidays with the travel department. They do "solo holidays" for people who are travelling alone- with optional organised day trips etc. she says people of all ages go, but I reckon they're mainly older. A lad I work with does something similar, but it's with a different company, and his photos always feature people his own age (early 30s). I'd say a quick google will sort you out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

A friend of mine in his 30s goes away on his own every year with Contiki (different trip each time). He has a girlfriend and loads of friends, but just really enjoys meeting new people and having space to himself. He says there have been people in similar situations on every trip, so it's not just for those who have no one to go with!

I also know people who have been on holidays with Intrepid Travel, and this company sounds better than Contiki IMO. The trips go with smaller groups and there is more of an effort to authentically experience the country and to make sure the tourism is responsible. I'm hoping to go on one of their Cuba trips next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

I've gone with explore a few times before I met my now husband. It's a uk company and much cheaper than most of the other similar companies and their itineraries are usually a little more adventurous and off the beaten track. I had a fantastic time on every trip and would definitely recommend the company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭YumCha

Addle wrote: »

Well if that's your experience so be it, certainly the site has gone downhill in recent years but there's still genuine people on it.

OP I've been on one Intrepid trip and loved it - went on my own and was lucky to get a really awesome roommate, plus the group was great... mix of singles, couples and a family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Not up for traveling on my own - have done plenty of that and whilst I enjoyed it, I don't have the heart/energy to do it again. My wild/party traveling days are behind me...

I'm in my 30's and go traveling alone couple of times year and i certainly am not doing anything wild or hitting up any parties- just not my scene. Very easy to meet like minded people to spend time with when traveling. Having an interest or hobby is great starting point, mine is art related so i find out about local art clubs and meet ups before i go. If your into a sport or similar it's easy to find info on local groups. I avoid tourist themed travel, i just go to facebook and type in my interests and the location I'm going and find some groups i can post to and ask about meet ups. Works for pretty much everywhere, I met local artist in Mongolia to name just one and a great holiday.

Go to a surf camp in Portugal.

Not only do you get to be active every / most days, you will be there with loads of other people who are up for the same thing. Plenty of beginners and learners.

Then in the evenings you'll have people to hang with.

You can chill on days you want to chill etc...

If surf doesn't suit, pick something that interests you - that means you'll have loads in common with fellow guests.

(I've travelled a lot on my own and have found the surf community to be very friendly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

Go on a group holiday!
    Am also single, and by my own choice I do not want to go on holiday with just one friend (I think it can be stressful on both, for many reasons).
    So a group is the ideal scenario for me.
    Check out also UK tour operators as they have more choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭therealme

Can't offer any advice op but I hear you.

All of my friends are at the baby stage so even weekends out are getting scarce now.

Time to take up new interests to meet new - hopefully single people!!

All of my friends are at the baby stage so even weekends out are getting scarce now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Snoopy1

Go on your own.
    Im just back from 10 days in America and had a great time. I have a boyfriend and he couldnt go, so i went by myself. I organised it myself, as i get my own room, im too old at 35 to be sharing with a stranger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭acequion

Snoopy1 wrote: »
    Go on your own.
    Im just back from 10 days in America and had a great time. I have a boyfriend and he couldnt go, so i went by myself. I organised it myself, as i get my own room, im too old at 35 to be sharing with a stranger.

Yes but the OP said she's been there,done that,enjoyed it, but doesn't want to do it again. Having been in that situation I know exactly how she feels. She came on here to see if people could recommend other options.

OP,I would agree with the other posters about a group holiday and preferably an activity one which takes care of the days and as someone said you have people to hang with in the evenings. Being into languages,I used to do language courses in nice sunny places. Classes in the mornings,chill out by beach or pool in the afternoons and /or group excursions and people to hang with in the evenings. I thoroughly enjoyed them. I hope you find something that suits. Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭riveratom

acequion wrote: »
    Being into languages,I used to do language courses in nice sunny places. Classes in the mornings,chill out by beach or pool in the afternoons and /or group excursions and people to hang with in the evenings. I thoroughly enjoyed them. I hope you find something that suits. Best of luck!

That sounds like an amazing idea actually! Do you have any recommendations for companies / locations / courses?

I speak Spanish and even though it's rusty I know it would come back if I went and absorbed myself in the culture again. Open to other countries too though, I think Italy would be fantastic for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭stickybookmark

I'd recommend Contiki, I have a boyfriend but he wasn't available to go on hols at that time so I went on a cruise around the Greek islands with them the year before last, absolutely fantastic experience. Ok there was the 20+ on the lash all day brigade but there was also a group of over 30s who were looking for something different. It didn't take us long to find each other and we had dinner together every night. Saw some amazing places and met people from all over the world. One word of warning - they're expensive!

Cheers for all the replies.

I think maybe an organised tour might be the best idea - was kind of too cool for these in my younger days :)

I've done the traveling alone thing many a time and really enjoyed it. I do find you maybe need to put yourself out there a lot and really make an effort/get pished up a bit and I am gone past that stage - I do understand this is likely with tour but I presume lots of other people are in the same boat :)

therealme wrote: »

Do you mind me asking how you find this? Do you find its tough to fill your time at the weekends?

Not at all. This weekend, I house-sat for my friend while she was away. I was hormonal and miserable lol. I replied to another thread here re living in Ireland/living abroad. People were putting up lovely replies & I had the weekend alone & yes, I did think. ..what the hell am I doing with my life!!!

if I am brutally honest, I don't want a relationship now as i think i need to figure out if i am too selfish/independent for one but it is getting harder to meet guys.

All that said - I still want to go out and have fun, get dressed up and have a life so I do need to figure how to get out more/meet more people.

I work upto 50 hrs so I don't mind relaxing on a Friday night but Saturday nights in bore me. When I figure out how to get friends out - even every 2nd weekend, I'll let you know :-)

Not at all. This weekend, I house-sat for my friend while she was away. I was hormonal and miserable lol. I replied to another thread here re living in Ireland/living abroad. People were putting up lovely replies & I had the weekend alone & yes, I did think. ..what the hell am I doing with my life!!!

if I am brutally honest, I don't want a relationship now as i think i need to figure out if i am too selfish/independent for one but it is getting harder to meet guys.

All that said - I still want to go out and have fun, get dressed up and have a life so I do need to figure how to get out more/meet more people.

I work upto 50 hrs so I don't mind relaxing on a Friday night but Saturday nights in bore me. When I figure out how to get friends out - even every 2nd weekend, I'll let you know :-)

Great - I am not the only one so!

I hate to say it and it sounds awful but I kind of dread weekends/Bank Holidays and summer time! I hate even saying those words and I do have my own interests, but I have a lot free time to pass at weekends and the days of hanging out with buddies/boosing are gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Maga

Couchsurfing actually is not [only] about crashing on someone's couch, casual sex and smoking.

There is a very interesting community who does not require nor request accommodation, and is more than happy to show the city around or meet up for a coffee for the cultural experience of it. Met some fantastic friends through it, showed them things in Dublin and had them showing me their cities, not to mention fantastic conversations with foreigners and expats.

The Dublin community is much more aimed at meeting up for concerts, going rollerblading at the Phoenix park and this kind of stuff.

I would highly recommend.

Great - I am not the only one so!

I hate to say it and it sounds awful but I kind of dread weekends/Bank Holidays and summer time! I hate even saying those words and I do have my own interests, but I have a lot free time to pass at weekends and the days of hanging out with buddies/boosing are gone.

You aren't :-)

Yeah I loved going on city breaks the bank holiday weekends but this one I will be out with couples!!!

Maybe there is some enterprising person out there who can come up with an idea that doesn't cost a fortune, is based in Ireland & you don't feel like an eegit by going alone!

You aren't :-)

Yeah I loved going on city breaks the bank holiday weekends but this one I will be out with couples!!!

Maybe there is some enterprising person out there who can come up with an idea that doesn't cost a fortune, is based in Ireland & you don't feel like an eegit by going alone!

Why would you feel like an eejit going anywhere alone?! :confused:

Society may look on being single as something to be 'resolved', but don't buy into it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Dixie Chick

I know exactly how you feel, I used to dread long weekends too!!

I did the camino as I had no one to go on hols with. I did only a week and it was very enjoyable. I met some lovely people and it was cheap as chips too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Exodus do a wide range of group and activity holidays. Some are geared towards solo travelers and some are geared towards everyone. I went on a walking holiday in Spain a few years ago and joined a group of solo and coupled up travelers. I really enjoyed it.

http://www.exodustravels.eu/ie

I did the camino as I had no one to go on hols with. I did only a week and it was very enjoyable. I met some lovely people and it was cheap as chips too.

Great to hear someone also feels the same or did feel the same in the past!

Yeah looking into the Camino - I am kind of lacking motivation to do anything on my own at the moment but defo encouraged by some of the replies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I'm planning on doing the full thing on my own this year (I did half of it with my sister 2 years ago). I'm not single but like to do things like this on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭neemish

Great to hear someone also feels the same or did feel the same in the past!

Yeah looking into the Camino - I am kind of lacking motivation to do anything on my own at the moment but defo encouraged by some of the replies.

In the same spot as yourself, and looking for a chill out holiday for a week or ten days. Not a huge social person so the idea of a group holiday fills me with terror. But at the same time, it would be great to have company for going to dinner in the evening or say hello to!

Had a look at some of the companies - maybe I'm living in cloud cuckoo land, but the prices seem exorbitant.

neemish wrote: »
    In the same spot as yourself, and looking for a chill out holiday for a week or ten days. Not a huge social person so the idea of a group holiday fills me with terror. But at the same time, it would be great to have company for going to dinner in the evening or say hello to!

Had a look at some of the companies - maybe I'm living in cloud cuckoo land, but the prices seem exorbitant.

Yeah that is kind of my fear and why I have avoided organised group holidays before - you are kind of stuck with the group even if you don't like them!

Not even looked at prices yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭seablue

neemish wrote: »

I'm in a similar position and thinking about doing a week on the Camino in July, followed by a couple of days chilling out.

Thought the same thing re the prices!

I have a friend who goes on organised walking holidays but that's my idea of hell - having to follow a group, follow a fixed schedule, eat at the same time every evening.

Single room supplement... a big bugbear of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭fibix

Gotta love boards! Just booked a week long surf camp in Portugal, just me, myself and I:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭acequion

riveratom wrote: »
    That sounds like an amazing idea actually! Do you have any recommendations for companies / locations / courses?

I speak Spanish and even though it's rusty I know it would come back if I went and absorbed myself in the culture again. Open to other countries too though, I think Italy would be fantastic for example.

Sorry for not answering this sooner. I'm a Spanish and French teacher and so have done lots of teacher language training courses in those countries.Grants are actually available through Comenius,an EU group,the same one who does the Erasmus programmes for students.All their courses are education geared but it might be no harm to google comenius and see if there's anything that might interest you [don't have a link,sorry] I've also gone off myself and done language courses in France and Spain and would love to do likewise in Italy. The best thing is to google for example "spanish summer courses in spain" or get in touch with the embassy.

OP,you sound a small bit negative about being single. It is just a state of mind, you know.The world is your oyster girl and you should use this time to develop your own interests as you're not going to be single forever. Get out there and join stuff,it's the only way to make new friends.If you live in a large town or city try meetup.com

Hope you get a holiday sorted,we all deserve that.:)

acequion wrote: »
    Sorry for not answering this sooner. I'm a Spanish and French teacher and so have done lots of teacher language training courses in those countries.Grants are actually available through Comenius,an EU group,the same one who does the Erasmus programmes for students.All their courses are education geared but it might be no harm to google comenius and see if there's anything that might interest you [don't have a link,sorry] I've also gone off myself and done language courses in France and Spain and would love to do likewise in Italy. The best thing is to google for example "spanish summer courses in spain" or get in touch with the embassy.

OP,you sound a small bit negative about being single. It is just a state of mind, you know.The world is your oyster girl and you should use this time to develop your own interests as you're not going to be single forever. Get out there and join stuff,it's the only way to make new friends.If you live in a large town or city try meetup.com

Hope you get a holiday sorted,we all deserve that.:)

I am being negative - I agree :) But looking for positive thoughts from others!

Why does everyone think I am a girl?!

I am a big, beast of a man!

I'll go on holidays with you!

Great - where are we off too?!

fibix wrote: »
    Gotta love boards! Just booked a week long surf camp in Portugal, just me, myself and I:)

Was that based on my suggestion earlier in the thread? Cool if it was.

Portugal is a great country and surfing is addictive. Get in touch with a surf club when you get back and it'll be more of the same albeit in slightly colder waters.

OP: There are so many options out there. A week of activity will sort you out. I stayed in the Peniche Surf Camp last summer and there were 10 or 12 of us out for dinner every night - all new to surfing, all new to each other.

Great way to spend a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I am being negative - I agree :) But looking for positive thoughts from others!

Why does everyone think I am a girl?!

I thought you were a woman but no idea why. That's very interesting. Sounds like you're thinking about options which is a great step to get you out of your stonk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭fibix

wellleum wrote: »
    Was that based on my suggestion earlier in the thread? Cool if it was.

Yeah, great idea. Heading to Peniche as well, just a different camp. Yay:)

Great - where are we off too?!

I love to holiday alone, and the idea of a walking holiday is a nightmare to me, so we may not be compatible holiday partners!

Great stuff :)

I love the idea of surfing and surfing holidays / trips away, but past experience has shown that surfing appears not to be my forte... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭seablue

If you're into watersports you could try Neilsons holidays.

They have beach holidays in Greece and Turkey. I know a few dinghy sailors who have been to Greece with them and gave them the thumbs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Stephen2015

Ive just joined boards.
    I was going single holidays and this discussion came up.
    Im a 29 year old lad looking to go a sun holiday to Ibiza, somewhere fun.
    Any recommendations?