Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

After Hours - Only Moaners Need Apply?

• 22-05-2014 9:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭

After Hours seems to have gotten petty moany.

It used to be more lighthearted, sometimes thoughtful.

Maybe I'm misremembering the past. :eek:

And angry it's all very angry around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,115 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Thoughtful? Nurse!

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Fookoff so

***just kidding***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

It's all Gerrys fault

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I remember when this was all fields.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

imme wrote: »

Have you problem bud?
    Are you looking at me?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Its a disgrace joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Around 2008 it all went bang.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

I reckon we need more faeces related threads. Are you with me, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

:mad:

YOUR ****ING FACE IS ****ING ANGRY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

YOUR ****ING FACE IS ****ING ANGRY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Can't slag people off anymore,what to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Don't post in moany threads. Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I hate when people put AH down.

'What did you expect from AH?' etc.

Its a great forum, with great people and theres a few bad eggs, such is life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,303 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

Or when people add absolutely nothing to the thread and merely pick on someone for something trivial like a word choice, or point of reference. Has happened to me twice this week...? Reasoned debate is great altogether, but some people just want to make themselves feel superior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

We are Irish. Nothing is every right, even if everything is perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The best way to counteract it is to start a thread moaning about it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

whupdedo wrote: »
    Its a disgrace joe

Sure, sure... Did ya ring da HSE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Chucken wrote: »
    Don't post in moany threads. Problem solved.
    Almost all of After Hours is moany these days.
    Moany, hopeless, ugly and angry, is this what we've become.:(

I remember the good old days when you could post hardcore midget porn, talk about being in the RA and sell drugs openly to one another. :(

*wipes away tear*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I don't agree. I have great fun here. There's always something silly to get involved in. Look a bit harder :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Are ya Irish?

If so, are ya sure you're Irish?

Chucken wrote: »
    I don't agree. I have great fun here. There's always something silly to get involved in. Look a bit harder :)

This!

You get out what you put in, if you're lighthearted and can take a joke then its great. If you're mean and rude to people, expect the same back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Need to bring back the flirting.
    Make people happy.

I think AH tends to reflect the mood of the nation. We're a bit angry at the mo.
    Think we just need a new 'epic' thread to keep up all entertained and destressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

AH has always been a bit moany.

Also, it's kinda funny that you're moaning about other people moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭BandyMandy

I love a "bitch" thread.......... We can't be all sunshine and rainbows!

Larianne wrote: »
    Need to bring back the flirting.
    Make people happy.

I think AH tends to reflect the mood of the nation. We're a bit angry at the mo.
    Think we just need a new 'epic' thread to keep up all entertained and destressed.

Ive just bought a house, it may or may not have a safe in it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

mauzo! wrote: »
    Ive just bought a house, it may or may not have a safe in it!!

Aren't you getting married on Saturday? AH expects a live thread on the big day!

(see, OP? non-moany human interaction. :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Muise... wrote: »
    Aren't you getting married on Saturday? AH expects a live thread on the big day!

Is she? :eek:

Congrats/Comissers. :pac:

Yeah, take a selfie walking down the aisle. :D

Muise... wrote: »

Im pretty sure 99% of posters would avoid AH like the plague that day.

I do have a boardsie table though :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Have to agree. It does seem to be angrier than usual recently. Blob City, population: yous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Chirpy chirpy cheep cheep cheep chirpy chirpy cheep cheep chirp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

wazky wrote: »
    I remember when this was all fields.

It's still all fields, just that now there's a fat bloke in his underpants sitting in the middle with an iPad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I've said it before and I'll say it again. AH is great if you switch your brain off. Luckily, mine is switched off all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

I blame the parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

AH has always been moany..

For as long as I've been on boards, there has always been a non stop torrent of bitching, whining, pitchfork grabbing and "down with this sort of thing" type threads.

Rabble rabble rabble... Politicians being paid too much... Drugs.... Abortion... Taxes... Taxies.. Foreigners ... Religion.... This is not a Dublin forum... Rabble...

It's where a disproportionate amount of Keyboard warriors with too much free time hang out and spew their opinions (often presented as fact) at the internet..
    Possibly in some kind of vain, ill guided hope that it'll either change the world, change someone else's opinion, or just change how annoyed they are with their life that they have all of this free time to spend on boards.

Most of the time, posting on any kind of a serious thread in AH is like pissing into a river..... Of piss.

It's only redeeming feature is that occasionally there is a moment of sheer brilliance that erupts from the chaos...

It just shows how much any of the long standing AH mods support really support this site..

They not only have to collectively read most of the madness... But in some way try to direct this rabble of stampeding cats away from anything that breaks the rules or gets the site in trouble..

I would rather have my genitals attacked by cheesegrater wielding feminists than mod this forum.

Having said all that... This is where I post more than anywhere else... So go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

I think it's actually better than it was a few years ago.

Sometimes when I log on in the morning I just look for the longest thread with the most innocent seeming title and click to the last page to see what sh1tstorm has kicked off. Stops me from becoming jaded and thinking I've seen everything because you can click into 'which is the best colour skittle?' and the last post will be 'what would a Cavan bastard like you know about boats anyway' or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Have to agree. It does seem to be angrier than usual recently. Blob City, population: yous.
    Some major unprovoked vitriol here all right - towards individuals or races or genders, whatever. But it's also got great topics/discussions/writers. Good forum in fairness - pity about the bad bits; they can be quite OTT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

Nah, this is typical PC... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Magaggie wrote: »
    Some major unprovoked vitriol here all right - towards individuals or races or genders, whatever. But it's also got great topics/discussions/writers. Good forum in fairness - pity about the bad bits; they can be quite OTT!

Nah, of course it is. I love the gaf. I wouldn't be still posting if I didn't. Some sound people (going by their posts) in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

AH is grand most of the time, but there are a few people who take it way too seriously, getting into discussions that are intensely personal to them. That said I think it has been fairly light hearted as of late, or maybe I've only been posting in the light hearted threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Everyone loves a good moan.

Sure didn't our Lord himself create Moanday right after "his" day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Pwindedd wrote: »
    Or when people add absolutely nothing to the thread and merely pick on someone for something trivial like a word choice, or point of reference. Has happened to me twice this week...? Reasoned debate is great altogether, but some people just want to make themselves feel superior.

Awwww didums, did the bad people pick on you. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,303 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Awwww didums, did the bad people pick on you. :(

You know I read that this morning and thought - 3 times in one week surely not :(

Read it again tonight, few beers and a schmoke in me - totally get it now ! :D

(I think.....lol)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

mauzo! wrote: »
    I hate when people put AH down.

'What did you expect from AH?' etc.

Its a great forum, with great people and theres a few bad eggs, such is life.

Bad egg and proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Hotale.com wrote: »
    Bad egg and proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

It used to be...
    There used to be no property tax, water charges... Things change, you know? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

OP it's not my fault Jesus doesn't want me for a sunbeam, we can't all be cheery little souls. Feck off to the sunshine and lollipops forum to the rest of the freaks socially well-adjusted people and leave us alone in our grumpy and bitter rut:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Suas11 wrote: »
    AH has always been a bit moany.

Also, it's kinda funny that you're moaning about other people moaning.

I'm not moaning just pointing this out.

In a way this points out the nature of the internet and the way people use the internet.

Do we think about what we post or do we just respond and then think about it.

Post, post, post, ask questions later. :cool:

I'm for a more thoughtful and thought about internet.

That will be my platform for election.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

and well positioned trolls. Although I found a thread (started about a smartphone repair operation) on another forum (a region) which was fun to watch, PM me for the link. :p
    So yeah, if I can find funnier stuff elsewhere on boards, I'll spend less time in boring, moany AH. AH now even has a thread "The most Uninteresting fact of the day".