Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking to upgrade

• 22-05-2014 10:01am
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hey guys there seems to be a lot of these "new bike" threads, apologies please bare with me :)

I started back cycling late August 2013,then quit for health reasons for the winter months.
    Im back at it now a while but find im wanting to upgrade from my current ride Carrera tdf - halfords job which has done its job as a starter bike very well.

Its main purpose is simply to keep fit and do some non racing events and maybe join a club.

Im just wondering what to look out for, i keep reading about shimano 105,groupsets,chainsets,cassettes,carbon this and that etc,looking over on adverts and done deal and the like there are brands ive never heard of and components i havent a clue about so im hesitant about making a purchase hence why im seeking advice here :)

Maybe someone is aware of something on adverts etc or maybe from an online retailer that might suit.

I spotted this over on CRC,its within my budget of about €800 ,is it any use for me and much of an upgrade?

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/cube-peloton-compact-road-bike-easton-2013/rp-prod116088

Advice appreciated and thanks for reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭dragratchet

i had that bike, though think it was the next model up the Peleton pro and it did me fine for 2 years of regular spins and a good few of the big sportivs last summer. i dunno if you'd see a considerable difference from what you already have, though the sora groupset aint too bad. if you're anything like me though you'll get into the sport at a rate of knots and perhaps regret not putting a few more quids into a better bike. given it'd be your second road bike, id say hold off, save a bit more and get something a little lighter with a better groupset, tiagra or at a stretch 105

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Thanks for that, jsut scouring adverts and these two caught my eye both 105,Felt F75 and Corratec Dolomito 105, any thoughts?

http://www.adverts.ie/road-bikes/road-bike-for-sale/5522789

http://www.adverts.ie/road-bikes/corratec-dolomoti-105/5189822#comment_29589975

Am i getting this right? best on top? sorry for being a noob .

Dura-Ace
    Ultegra SL
    Ultegra
    Tiagra
    Sora

Dcully wrote: »
    Am i getting this right? best on top? sorry for being a noob .

Dura-Ace
    Ultegra SL
    Ultegra
    Tiagra
    Sora

yup. thats the order alright. i have 105 on mine and its rock solid.

Would Sora do the job for me or will i regret not going atleast 105?
    Just spotted this machine,looks nice and the seller is local but it sora.

my missus has sora on her bike and says its fine but she doesn't use it a helluva lot. if it were me, id splash on 105 especially if you're thinking of joining a club and riding more regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭fabvinny

changed from a hybrid this year and bought a giant defy2,delighted with it so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

For a significant upgrade from the TDF that would excite you a slightly bigger budget of around €1000 would make it worthwhile for new. If your stuck on €800 that would buy a nice 2nd hand bike and a big upgrade but maybe hold out until you save the €200.

The bike you linked would not be much of a upgrade, same groupset and probably quite heavy too like the TDF.

Thanks for that krissovo,what about these?
    Thoughts appreciated.

http://www.adverts.ie/road-bikes/corratec-dolomoti-105/5189822?notification=22792e390afcdcb4b9944bb688dc0f41-1400761171#comment_29589638

http://www.adverts.ie/road-bikes/road-bike-for-sale/5522789

http://www.adverts.ie/road-bikes/bmc-sr02-road-bike/5346713#comment_29601631

Also the likes of Giant and Specialized have new bikes around the 1k mark but with tiagra,would this be a big step up from the shimano claris my tdf is wearing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

The felt and BMC look ok especially if you haggle a bit to 550/600 but need to be ridden by you and inspected.

Tiagra is probably the perfect groupset for your requirements and budget. There is noticeable improvement over your Claris, hidden cables, decent possitive shifting and 10 speed but the downside is its a bit ugly. You would not notice too much difference now with 105.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭bren_mc

Would Sora do the job for me or will i regret not going atleast 105?
    Just spotted this machine,looks nice and the seller is local but it sora.

I had sora on my first bike for over a year and it works absolutely fine. However when it comes to further upgrades, you'd be at a bit of a dead end, as everything above Sora is 10-speed (or even 11).

If i were you, I would hold off til you can afford at least Tiagra.

I can push to €1,000 at a stretch but again theres way too much choice.
    I see that i can get an alluminium frame with carbon forks with tiagra for around that price brand new.
    Or should i try to buy second hand to get into the 105 bracket?

The felt and bmc i linked are 2 years old and run with 105 ,should i be considering going with one of them for about 550-600 or just buy new and go tiagra?
    Remember its mainly for fitness and maybe club spins in the future.
    Since ive never used anything more than shimano claris i really dont know what i have to gain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

I can push to €1,000 at a stretch but again theres way too much choice.
    I see that i can get an alluminium frame with carbon forks with tiagra for around that price brand new.
    Or should i try to buy second hand to get into the 105 bracket?

The felt and bmc i linked are 2 years old and run with 105 ,should i be considering going with one of them for about 550-600 or just buy new and go tiagra?
    Remember its mainly for fitness and maybe club spins in the future.
    Since ive never used anything more than shimano claris i really dont know what i have to gain.

What height are you?

If either side of 5 11 there was a guy on here two weeks ago looking to sell a cannondale caad 10 with 105.
    You won't find a better alloy bike

ford2600 wrote: »
    What height are you?

If either side of 5 11 there was a guy on here two weeks ago looking to sell a cannondale caad 10 with 105.
    You won't find a better alloy bike

Just touching 6ft,dont suppose you could link me please.
    nvm i found it and saw your question, fair play.

I don't know seller nor have I seen bike. They sell new on evans I think for 1500.
    3/4 yrs old should be able to get it or something similar within budget

@Geancster had a nice cube with ultegra for sale 6 months ago. Didn't sell I think

Lads would there be much difference in a new bike with tiagra groupset compared to a 2012 105 groupset?

Ive been offered a scott speedster 30 with tiagra for €900 new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Donie75

I'm selling this http://www.adverts.ie/5527173 if you have any interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭mp2012

I have a 2012 Scott Speedster S30 with Tiagra that I have put over 18,000k on since buying and couldn't fault the bike at all. Have only changed the cassette, large chain ring chain etc. standard wear and tear. Tiagra still going strong.

Donie 75 looks a nice clean bike however just not sure its exactly what im looking for,thanks all the same.

Any opinions on this machine? somewhat understated looks but seems well equipped.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/vitus-bikes-zenium-vr-road-bike-2014/rp-prod107032

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

Donie 75 looks a nice clean bike however just not sure its exactly what im looking for,thanks all the same.

Any opinions on this machine? somewhat underatated looks but seems well equipped.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/vitus-bikes-zenium-vr-road-bike-2014/rp-prod107032

It looks a nice bike, but at that price point and for an Alu bike it's really hard to pass the Canyon Roadlite, better equipped and a full KG lighter.

http://www.canyon.com/_en/roadbikes/bike.html?b=3191#tab-reiter2

Thanks for that, i looked at them the other day but a hell of a waiting time it seems especially since i have a few interested in my current bike i could be bikeless a while.

Any thoughts on these ?

http://www.rosebikes.com/bike/rose-pro-sl-2000-2014/aid:668081

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/moser-bikes-111-105/#itemtop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

Thanks for that, i looked at them the other day but a hell of a waiting time it seems especially since i have a few interested in my current bike i could be bikeless a while.

Any thoughts on these ?

My brother has the Ultegra version of the Rose, lovely bike, can arrange for you to have a look if you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭WillyFXP

Any thoughts on these ?

The rose is a fantastic bike, very light, great spec and even better customer service, can't fault rose, my son has this exact bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭AlfaZen

Hi OP, if you are working check if your company does the bike to work scheme. This will add a couple of hundred to you budget and get a few rungs up the ladder.

Go to your LBS and try a few bikes. Find which frame you find most comfortable as they all have slightly different geometries.

Try not to worry too much about the group sets. Tiagra is a solid set and won't let you down. If you have got a frame you are happy with you can always upgrade the other parts.

Best of luck.

So i took my brothers scott speedster 20 2012 model for a spin this afternoon and all i can say is wow, it was effortless compared to my tank.
    105 allround was a joy.
    Unfortunately i cant seem to be able to find any irish retailers stocking the 2014 version.
    I did find it on bike 24 for €999 however, anyone ever use them before or indeed knows of an irish retailer that stocks them?
    http://www.bike24.com/1.php?content=8;navigation=1;product=67520;page=3;menu=1000,173,157;mid=0;pgc=0

Just spotted these, are they as good a deal as my limited knowledge is telling me?

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/moser-bikes-111-105/

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/ridley-fenix-7005-105-special-edition-2013/

saw a scott in the window of dalys in dundrum earlier. they might be able to sort you out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭WillyFXP

Of all the bikes in the thread you have linked or listed, the rose is still the best bike under a grand, it's better specked than them all, and nearly 2kg lighter than the Scott, I know what my choice would be.

WillyFXP wrote: »
    Of all the bikes in the thread you have linked or listed, the rose is still the best bike under a grand, it's better specked than them all, and nearly 2kg lighter than the Scott, I know what my choice would be.

Any ideas how long delivery might be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

WillyFXP wrote: »

The Rose is fantastic at that price point, but I wouldn't put it ahead of the Canyon. I agonised long and hard over these exact two last year as there's so little between them other than aesthetics. Eventually went with the Canyon with SRAM Apex. 5 weeks delivery.
    Wonderful bike for the money - BTW scheme makes it an absolute steal. I'm sure if I went for the Rose I'd feel the same way.

Bought this machine today full ultegra, just in from first spin and very happy with it.
    Gears need adjusting however,maybe handlebar height too,i dropped them down a tad since this photo.

Thanks all for advice, helped greatly.

IMAG0490.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bbari

or indeed knows of an irish retailer that stocks them?

WheelWorx on Fonthill Road sell Scott..