Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2007 Toyota Corolla Radio Removal Question

• 21-05-2014 8:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭

Hi just want to know
    28020656.jpeg

After the 2 side panels removed
    The air vents pulled out & lifted up.
    does the radio then just pull out or Is it held in place by bolts.

Looking @ a video & the radio in it just pulls out.So just wondering was i doing it right or not.Mine will not budge.

Here is video i am on about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

4 10mm bolts IIRC.

You will lose at least one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭JamesBond2010

Tnx **** i knew it was too easy.them bolts are awkard to get to. time for my extension so.
    Colm since u done it before is it this Aerial adapter.??
    CT27AA78-840x840.jpg

Put some paper into your socket and the nut will stick.

What exactly are you doing?

not worried about the nuts, Was just going installing a new radio.Never done it in a toyota before But lads in Halfords told me i need a harness adaptor(have it) facisa adapter(easy get ) & aerial adapter was wondering was that the right one in the pic or was it another one.(i thought u might have done it before urself )

You probably need one of these if any.

car-antenna-adapter.jpg

Radio might come with one.

You'll still need the bolts for the new radio.

Tnx
    2009 version on so i needCT27AA79-840x840.jpg

I doubt you need that yoke. What radio are you putting in?

going putting in a pioneer
    342367?$pd_enlarge$

Can't see you needing one of those adaptors then.

As an aside, can you change the display colour on that, blue will look gack in the corolla. You need amber.

Is it a fhx700? Grand if it is

Here is the back of the unit.
    You can see the antenna-in at the bottom left.

x130X700BT-B.jpeg

Tnx. think it is fhx 700. must check tmw. when i take of the stock radio for a look.

Colm did that new Radio turns on anyway. Going to try the old bracket need different screws. Whats the spare lead The one with Black,white Red & purple wires do.??

Rear speakers IIRC

no this connection any idea??.The one in front of hot & cold switch,back speakers still work any way.

No idea. That model corolla has speed proportional volume adjustment, it could be a speedo input for that or something.
    Could be a loom for remote control (that your car doesn't have)

Any pics of the finished product?

sorry bud ya.
    Cant get a fascia to fit around it. the ones advertised are not the right ones for that Yr car they are 2 small & probally for the american version not european. I was thinking of measuring the gaps around the radio &putting Sandwich type bags in Gaps & filling with expanding foam stuff. Then i could pull them out & sand down the foam slot/push them back in then to fills the gaps. make it look like part of dash again.

10402729_784050778285260_6095965780646936213_n.jpg

I think from looking at this that the official toyota part number would be 55406-12A71

Looks like you'll need those 2 filler pieces for the sides too.

http://www.clarion.com/cip/bracketmanual/BKX1300_06.pdf

ZBcOuhg.png

From Toyodiy
    55405B PANEL SUB-ASSY, INSTRUMENT CLUSTER FINISH, CENTER
    55405-12A70 AUDIO (OVERSEAS MARKET)-WITH(L/M/UW, CD) & 4SPEAKER (11/2006 - 02/2007)
    55405-12A71 AUDIO (OVERSEAS MARKET)-WITH(L/M/UW, CD) & 4SPEAKER (04/2007 - 11/2008)

74a14eu-960.jpg

288057u-960.jpg

c88057u-960.jpg

the auris one looked kind of right tnx bud

must ask them now could they order that part for me be handy :-)

it transpires it possibly wasn't right!

Those ones linked are 99.99999999999999% the right ones.
    As in they'd be fitted to Corollas from factory in some markets. Toyota use some units that are wider than DIN. The tiny filler pieces on each side would then make your DIN fit (like in the pic above with single DIN).

This is an Australian Corolla with the wider than Double DIN factory unit fitted
    HVAC.jpg

Now if you can verify that a Corolla and Auris stereo are interchangeable then get the Auris one on ebay.
    Im not 100% convinced, but someone on here said they were before.

ya it very similar the auris one alright

ya might suit it i say
    309690.jpeg

how much would customs charge u though??

Generally nothing. anything I've ever gotten from China was either marked as a toy or a gift.
    Even if you do get stuck it'd only be €10 or so.

tnx i am thinking blast i am buying one now on ebay give it a shot might be lucky :-) Tnx very much :-)

Excellent.....

Mr_Burns.png

I hope so or it will be
    Arnold-Schwarzenegger-Is-BackIn-Bronze1.jpg

It was Perfect Bud tnx very Much The Ebay link worked it was perfect.
    310388.jpg

Looks great.

By any chance do u know the diameter of the stock rear speakers would they be 150 X 220mm ?? (i know they a 6X9) wondering mounting diameter. ?

There's feck all wrong with the factory ones tbh (of course its all relative), a little subwoofer wouldn't go astray though.

Adjusting fader and eq correctly can do wonders too