Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Desperate House Buys" on RTE one right now

• 19-05-2014 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭

Wtf!? Ya would be forgiven for thinking ya fell asleep and woke up in some alternate timezone between 2004 and 2006. Anyone watching ?

Estate agent from DNG: "Looks like we've come out the other side and things are looking good again" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Nearly half a million for that 3 bed?? Fcuk right off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭NTC

Wtf!? Ya would be forgiven for thinking ya fell asleep and woke up in some alternate timezone between 2004 and 2006. Anyone watching ?

Yep, watching.

The estate agent is not making himself look good.

Are people still paying stupid money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

People miss the boom. In two years time Fianna Fail will be back in government and it will be like 2004 all over again.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

And meanwhile people are losing houses and struggling to pay ever increasing rent.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

4grand a month in rent!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Nearly half a million for that 3 bed?? Fcuk right off

I came here to post that exact thing.

Yer one is saying

"I don't want to get caught up in the madness"

And the 5 seconds later:

"Let's go for around 470k"

Have to laugh at the guy comparing Dublin to Paris and London! Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,858 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Where is all this happening? Leitrim?

The are comparing the booming urban areas (Dublin in particular) and rural areas.

Boyle was on just now, I thought that was where Moone Boy was filmed, you'd think that would have done something to the prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

RTE puppets

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I hate estate agents, they're always robbing smug cnuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

There's something seriously deficient with these houses.
    A severe absence of decking!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

€320k in portlaoise :eek: (height of boom)

What has happened in Dublin is that people were holding on to their money to see if prices were going to fall any further. Now that they have bottomed out apparently there is a stampede to buy, which is turning into a self fulfilling mini bubble. Which is being further fomented by the media. How come there was no rush to "get on the ladder" one or two years ago?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

I'm sorry but all these "Decking" comments are hilarious :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭AlwaysAnyTime

Is that Claire Solan off the radio

395k for a house in Portlaoise...What the actual fcuk. You'd want to get your head checked.

395k for that red brick !!!!

Madness madness

Oh thank God I'm from ballygobackwards born and bred !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

What has happened in Dublin is that people were holding on to their money to see if prices were going to fall any further. Now that they have bottomed out apparently there is a stampede to buy, which is turning into a self fulfilling mini bubble. Which is being further fomented by the media. How come there was no rush to "get on the ladder" one or two years ago?

That and there isn't the supply available. I'm sure the building will start again soon in Dublin. This time i hope the planners are strict on quality and location.

I hate Rebecca and Matteo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Lisha wrote: »

Madness madness

Any room there? Very tempted to get out of Dublin away from this loopyness :pac:

Withdraw your offer!

Take it off the table.

That's the only way to get it accepted.

Glad I live in a town where you can buy houses for 30k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I didnt realize half a million can look so bad.

Difficult to get in touch...in this world of work phones, mobile phones, personal email and work email...all on smart phones....?

I'm not watching but I imagine there is much moaning about people not being able to afford the prices to get on the ladder. I never remember it any other way. And anyone trying to buy can consider themselves lucky not to have the high mortgage interest rates that were common over the last 40 years. 18% when I bought.

Madness madness

I'd rather that than the 60's/70's grossness on the southside.

keith16 wrote: »

Ahh that's mean ......... But I did mutter to myself that if child was not wearing benneton top they might be better off financially.. But that's rotten of me, it could gave been a present and if my child was to be on camera I'd be dressing the child well too.

It's real madness that houses are making such inflated prices. I know people gave to live in a location that suits but mental money all the same. I wonder would you be better off renting long term and forgetting about buying.

woodoo wrote: »
    That and there isn't the supply available. I'm sure the building will start again soon in Dublin. This time i hope the planners are strict on quality and location.

If there is a shortage of supply now it must also have existed in 2010,2011,2012 and 2013. I don't remember any bubble happening then. Like I said people were holding on to their money hoping for even cheaper prices.

Any room there? Very tempted to get out of Dublin away from this loopyness :pac:

Fields a plenty :)

Once you can cope with no taxis, no buses, no public transport, less shopping choice and a long commute it's great .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭AlwaysAnyTime

keith16 wrote: »

I was just thinking the exact same thing. They remind me of those "power couples" from celtic tiger years gone by, who became amateur property investors, driving their children to school in SUVs and boasting about regular trips to Dubai and New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

Madness madness

I know the guy that bought it. A good bit more than 395 too.

amdublin wrote: »
    I'd rather that than the 60's/70's grossness on the southside.

The inside was very poor though for that money !

Wowsah!

Nice house all the same...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Better suited to the tv forum.
    And there's a thread in the Accommodation & Property forum here