Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rake

• 19-05-2014 4:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭

Hi. Im thinking of buying a rake have ye any experience of them. what is a good make and id be going through all kinds of ground,alot of ridgy ground. would a second hand one be ok as im quoted 17k for a new one .lab man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Thinking of getting one too. Anyone know what these lely rotonde yoke? I. Know they are mostly for tedding in grass but can they be used for turning hay like a hay bob?

http://www.lely.com/en/forage-harvesting/raking/rotonde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

have a look at this thread lads;
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057203774

on the second hand, biggest thing to look out for that are straight away obvious would be;
    wear around the headstock pivots
    wear on the tine arms, make sure they dont pull in and out and dont twist around to much
    wear on the bogeys that the wheels run on, make sure the wheels are vertical and look to be running straight

the other big thing is the cam track, hard to check without running the rake without a load on it, but if you can spin the rake around by hand make sure all the tine arms rotate at the right time, the should make the tines go verticallly down when roughly at the outside edge of the rake, possibly a bit before, and then should pivot up so that they are horizontal when in at the centre of rake on a twin rotor, or else at the edge nearest to curtain on a single.

and the rotunde is only a rowing up rake, they dont seem to like grass that has been cut with a straight mower( no conditioner) unless its been tedded out, they will just about manage to put to 10ft swarths together as far as i know