Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

E39 5 Series or Alternatives

• 19-05-2014 3:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭

Hey lads, so as a lot of ye probably know, I'm after an E39 5 Series. The one I'm looking at is the following:

http://carsireland.ie/detail.php?ad_id=1062173&r=s.php%3Fm%3D10%26o%3D87%26r%3D2003%26g%3D0

Test drove it last week and loved it. Has almost all of the spec I want bar the Dual Zone Climate Control but I'm not too bothered about that, it still has A/C :)

It has 138,000 Miles on the clock with a Full Murphy and Gunn/Courtney Motors Service History up to 124,000 miles, it's only missed 1 and that was in the last 14K.

No noises what so ever inside the car but I'm not that mechanical savvy(yet :pac:) and would like to know what I should be looking out for on these?

Budget is around €3,000-€3,500.

The spec I want or as close to is MFSW, Cruise, A/C, Electric Windows all round, Alloys, Leather Steering Wheel, Leather Seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Looks like a cracker of a car! Id get a recommendation from someone here on a BM specialist in Cork and get it checked out prior to purchase... Below is another absolute belter, in Dublin though...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-525i-msport/6700690

that one has climate control, also the 189bhp engine 2.5L engine v the 168 bhp in the 2.2L 520...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Looks like a cracker of a car! Id get a recommendation from someone here on a BM specialist in Cork and get it checked out prior to purchase... Below is another absolute belter, in Dublin though...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-525i-msport/6700690

that one has climate control, also the 189bhp engine 2.5L engine v the 168 bhp in the 2.2L 520...

Yeah myself and Supergurrier have been keeping and eye on that. Not sure if I really want the 2.5 though, I know it's only an extra 100 to tax but I think the 2.2 would do me fine. Only thing is that I would like to try and get one from a dealer for a small bit of piece of mind but I'm not opposed to private sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

for the piece of mind, I would strongly advise having it checked by a specialist with a ramp and diagnostic equipment...

Idbatterim wrote: »
    for the piece of mind, I would strongly advise having it checked by a specialist with a ramp and diagnostic equipment...

Yeah that's a happening alright :p. Already have a fellas number so going to sort something out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Yeah myself and Supergurrier have been keeping and eye on that. Not sure if I really want the 2.5 though, I know it's only an extra 100 to tax but I think the 2.2 would do me fine. Only thing is that I would like to try and get one from a dealer for a small bit of piece of mind but I'm not opposed to private sales.

The warranty you'll get won't be worth much, rarely is from a small indy. I wouldn't dismiss a well checked out private sale tbh.

Ah I know, problem is that there is feck all M-Sports out there, even private, people seem to want to hang onto them.