Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sergio Martinez vs Miguel Cotto - June 7th - Middleweight Championship of the World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭kcimd

Henno30 wrote: »
    Excellent face-off on HBO last night to kick off the build-up for this one.

very good,cotto playing the mind games aswell.Martinez is slick,can see a really good fight but think cotto will come up short again,Martinez win by late stoppage or points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Weigh in from today. Cotto weighs in at 155. Sergio at 159.

Andy Lee weighed in at 154 with Jackson weighing in at 152.5. Ten rounder for the vacant NABF 154lb belt.

BpefUH-CMAAGdfS.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,284 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Henno30 wrote: »
    Weigh in from today. Cotto weighs in at 155. Sergio at 159.

Cotto for me has little chance. Can't even bulk up to MW.

walshb wrote: »
    Cotto for me has little chance. Can't even bulk up to MW.

I think the fight depends almost entirely on Sergio's condition. He was wearing a heavy knee brace in training even up to last week. You can call that precautionary I suppose but it doesn't suggest to me that he has much confidence in that knee. He looked much softer in recent weeks that he ever has done before as well, although admittedly he looked good weigh-in.

If he's been able to rebuild his stamina since the lay-off, and he still has plenty of bounce in his legs then it's hard to see an argument for Cotto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Yeah all depends on Sergio's knee tbh...you'd expect him to get a stoppage between 8-12 but you never know anything can happen. I'd love for Cotto to win but I really like Martinez as a boxer. Hope it's a good one, should be.

Like most people I like Cotto, but it would be a disaster if he won this one. Best case scenario he fights Canelo. More likely is he rematches Mayweather or Pacquiao at a 156lb catchweight.

The idea of the lineal middleweight championship being fought for at a catchweight by blown up welterweights, while the clear top contender (Golovkin) can't even get a shot, is almost too horrible to think about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Lee looks emaciated. I can't for the life of me see how he's going to succeed at a lower weight. His biggest issues are strength and stamina, draining yourself even more isn't how you address those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭weemcd

Excited for this one! Cotto looks tiny at the weigh-ins, long night for him as long as Martinez isn't completely faded for the later rounds

/edit looking on Boxrec Martinez has a good 6" reach on Cotto, damm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭IrishSkyBoxer

what time will this be on?
    Seeing as it's East Coast can we expect the lads to enter earlier. is golovkin the co-main??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Martinez leg is focked. His corner should throw in the towel imo.

Well jesus wasn't that a shock? Poor ol Sergio, loads of heart but his legs are gone. It was all over after the first round. But fair play to Cotto. He was helped by a subpar Martinez but he boxed him beautifully. He absolutely hammered him with the left hook.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 Strokegirth

I don't find this result shocking to be honest, Cotto is ferocious and improved under Roach, whereas Martinez was terrible against Martin Murray and had knee surgery since. Then there's the fact he's another year older.

Seeing Sergio so poor like he was last night was shocking. It's true Cotto looks as good as he's ever been but seeing Sergio hobble around for nine rounds was very sad to see. His knee is f*cked completely...you'd wonder if he even sparred much prior to the fight

It was a horrible fight to watch. Martinez had no legs under him at all and had practically no defence because of it. He had no balance either taking or throwing shots and he nearly fell down several times just trying to shift his feet.

It's a bad result for the sport too. There is almost no chance that Cotto fights Golovkin. It's most likely going to be Canelo or Mayweather. The idea of Mayweather, a fighter who has avoided risk his whole career, beating Cotto at a catchweight in a rematch and calling himself the lineal middleweight champion is almost too awful to contemplate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Delighted for Cotto, he's a true great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Johner wrote: »
    Delighted for Cotto, he's a true great.

He is a tough mother ****er, a very good boxer, but one of the true greats? I dunno.

He is the first of his countrymen to be a 4 weight world champion though now isn't he? Big congrats to him on that. I had a small bet on Martinez by KO, but only had hope if the legs were ok, which they clearly weren't.

Very happy for Cotto anyway

Cotto is a shoe in for HOF now if he wasn't already. He's a very popular boxer and rightly so, he's game as f*ck for anything or anyone. I agree a fight with Canelo is very likely with with the winner maybe earning a rematch with Floyd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Deiseboy01

Cotto is a shoe in for HOF now if he wasn't already. He's a very popular boxer and rightly so, he's game as f*ck for anything or anyone. I agree a fight with Canelo is very likely with with the winner maybe earning a rematch with Floyd.

Khan must be sick at that rssult because I can see Mayweather moving up to fight Cotto for the middleweight belt now. Looks like Khan may not get his shot.

If I was in Cottos camp i'd avoid Canelo and push for the Mayweather rematch asap. No point risking a very probable defeat to Canelo when holding a huge bargaining chip in the MW strap.

Does a bigger Cotto have a good shot against Floyd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,284 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Deiseboy01 wrote: »

Does a bigger Cotto have a good shot against Floyd?

Cotto was not much different vs. a weakened Martinez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Gorman700

walshb wrote: »
    Cotto was not much different vs. a weakened Martinez.

How can you say that when He weakened Martinez! Watch the 24/7 episodes, there nothing wrong with Martinez knees in those, he hardly wrecked them again on the ring walk.

IMO, Cotto pressed the issue from the opening bell and he never let Sergio clear his head, he looked heavier and heavier on his feet as a result. His trainer has since confirmed this.

I hate the way people are detracting from Cotto's achievement here, Sergio had 14 months to recuperate his knees and he knowingly took this fight against Cotto who was coming up to meet him at 160. EVERY credit to Cotto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

kryogen wrote: »
    He is a tough mother ****er, a very good boxer, but one of the true greats? I dunno.

He is the first of his countrymen to be a 4 weight world champion though now isn't he? Big congrats to him on that. I had a small bet on Martinez by KO, but only had hope if the legs were ok, which they clearly weren't.

Very happy for Cotto anyway

I went a bit overboard with true great! One of my favourite boxers ever though! Yep 4 weight world champion now, some achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭gaybeer

Not to take anything away from Cotto but that was the decaying carcass of Sergio he just destroyed. Good win from Cotto, looking forward to the Canelo fight now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Deiseboy01

gaybeer wrote: »
    Not to take anything away from Cotto but that was the decaying carcass of Sergio he just destroyed. Good win from Cotto, looking forward to the Canelo fight now.

Is he locked into a Canelo scrap?