Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Convoy of lowered cars going over a speedbump in Russia

• 18-05-2014 12:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭

Anyone seen this video before?

Those things are ridiculously low! Anyone here drive anything as low as that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Can't see how you'd get around any where in this speed bump obsessed country that low. I always chuckle when I see people going over bumps diagonally in lowered cars, then red line it till the next one just down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I am all for lowered cars until it makes the thing unusable, then I draw the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Theres another similar video (probably taken the same time) with a homemade pickup trying to get over a bump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Plopli

These are ridiculous.
    They would loose bits at every potholes.
    Probably only driven to go to and from 'meeting'.

It doesn't even make any sense to get them so low.
    It won't improve performance and the do not look better.

Anyone to his own anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

I've never understood the lowered car thing.

Why would you want your car lowered?

Jesus. wrote: »

Because race car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Eejits

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Because race car?

Better performance is it?

It looks bloody awful apart from anything else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

The amount of times I have had to get my mechanic to fix my steering wheel and front-wheel alignment because of speed-bumps is crazy. Annoying feckers they are, but no way would I get my car lowered, that would be stressful indeed :)

That video is crazy, what a waste of time. That video is better than the Muppet show.

Ah no, its a scene thing, kinda like rusty Ventos with pink wheels here.

The amount of times I have had to get my mechanic to fix my steering wheel and front-wheel alignment because of speed-bumps is crazy. Annoying feckers they are, but no way would I get my car lowered, that would be stressful indeed :)

I had to get two new shocks and steering rods last week. I'm convinced the proliferation of speed ramps around my area is the cause of premature wear and tear of such parts.

Some of the bumps are dreadful feckin yokes

I had to get two new shocks and steering rods last week. I'm convinced the proliferation of speed ramps around my area is the cause of premature wear and tear of such parts.

Some of the bumps are dreadful feckin yokes

They are indeed Jesus, the amount of them in my place swords co. Dublin is insane, very very annoying. I never thought I would be talking to Jesus about speed-bumps. Can I ask you, how did you come back from the dead ? I'd seriously love to know :D

They are indeed Jesus, the amount of them in my place swords co. Dublin is insane, very very annoying.

That's where I am too mate. They're a right pain in the Aras

<Content removed by moderator>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

What is the situation if your car cannot go over a speed bump? Are you able to have it removed etc ?

For example you have a supercar of some sort that's very low to the ground, it's perfectly road legal, unmodified and straight from the factory, you tax it, pay vrt etc etc but the council speed ramps are too high for your car to go over .

I presume you would have grounds to have it altered /removed. Your paying road tax for a road you can't use due to the non standard haphazard sizes of speed bump they put on the roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,295 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Not sure if serious or.....

If your car is too low thats your problem not the councils. Nobody pays road tax anymore.

I doubt it. Some supercars can lift the front suspension for speed bumps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

That's pitiful!!! (Not the cars themselves or the scene but the useless carry on trying to get the cars over the speed bump!!!)

Bandara wrote: »
    What is the situation if your car cannot go over a speed bump? Are you able to have it removed etc ?

For example you have a supercar of some sort that's very low to the ground, it's perfectly road legal, unmodified and straight from the factory, you tax it, pay vrt etc etc but the council speed ramps are too high for your car to go over .

I presume you would have grounds to have it altered /removed. Your paying road tax for a road you can't use due to the non standard haphazard sizes of speed bump they put on the roads

I'm afraid it is called motor tax. But you have a point there. Unfortunately you live in a country that doesn't give two flying cornflakes about this problem. They will just ignore you and tell you that you should have purchased a car that is not so low.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I doubt it. Some supercars can lift the front suspension for speed bumps.

Ah, the ole lowrider, love those cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭beanie10

Yeah better performance at speeds does yokes will never see!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Better view of the McDonald's drive through menu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I never knew how annoying speed bumps are untill I moved to Athlone. They are every where, every road you drive down there are a few. No such thing as speed bumps around my parents area just pot holes. And in Galway where I was living for past 5 years there are only a few. Athlone is in a league of it's own regarding speed bumps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

The amount, height and harshness of speedbumps in certain areas is outstanding - try driving around the outskirts of Cork. With the addition of the most uselessly obnoxious traffic lights system I've ever seen (there are lights to allow cars out of private roads and residential estates where a "STOP" sign would have been enough), I swear they contribute to a consistent increase in pollution.

Oh, and seeing the way most drivers literally jump over them with loud bangs and crashes when they come down, explains a lot about why the Irish used cars marked is such a minefield :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Scrappy600

So many things about that video just make me want to slap them fools repeatedly....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Certain cars are better lowered an inch or two. My fto is lowered only a little with apex springs and runs with standard boots. Without lowering, the car looks like its on stilts....especially if the standard 16" rims are in place. Mine are on 17".

I wouldn't lower my mondeo though :D

Might lower the zafira though lol