Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Times...they are a changing.

• 16-05-2014 11:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭

So I had just reeled back my garden hose after two hours watering my garden what with the drought conditions lately when my OH came out of the house holding a postcard from Costa de Sol.
    It was from my neighbours going on about the great holiday they were having.
    Now my OH wanted to go; and with the wonders of modern technology during the LLS booked a family holiday just like that.
    I remember years ago mum having to spend a Saturday afternoon trashing out a deal in the travel agents.
    I love modern living and all its comforts.
    Rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Where you going on hols op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

So I had just reeled back my garden hose after two hours watering my garden what with the drought conditions lately when my OH came out of the house holding a postcard from Costa de Sol.
    It was from my neighbours going on about the great holiday they were having.
    Now my OH wanted to go; and with the wonders of modern technology during the LLS booked a family holiday just like that.
    I remember years ago mum having to spend a Saturday afternoon trashing out a deal in the travel agents.
    I love modern living and all its comforts.
    Rant over.

Your neighbours aren't The Jones's by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Watching the LLS,is that what married people do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Where you going on hols op?

Costa del Sol.
    Really looking forward to it love it there only thing is if you go away and its sunny here too people go on about what a waste it was to go away.
    Hate that; ruins all the holiday stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Something tells me this is a spoof thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

kneemos wrote: »
    Watching the LLS,is that what married people do?

On a weekly basis; yes; although in the eyes of the church we are living in sin more than married.

Costa del Sol.
    Really looking forward to it love it there only thing is if you go away and its sunny here too people go on about what a waste it was to go away.
    Hate that; ruins all the holiday stories.

Cool enjoy the hols, them people are only begrudgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

So you're booked for a sunny holiday with the wife.

Great.

Does she sunbathe topless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Ya. Times they are a changin.....

I can't afford a feckin holiday!

Enjoy your trip OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

ratmouse wrote: »

Mine are! Do you live two doors down?

Does she sunbathe topless?

Roots in cupboard for binoculars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

That was a rant?

Mine are! Do you live two doors down?

Yes, brown door!

Things are changing aright!

You can't launch a torpedo down the high street anymore!

http://www.bbc.com/news/blogs-magazine-monitor-27440191
    Europe goes to the polls next week, but election fever sometimes seems in short supply. Maybe that's not such a bad thing. Author Jeremy Clay tells the tale of a 19th Century election rally and the drunken inventor who fired a torpedo down his own High Street.

Yes, brown door!

Are you the lady of the house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

People still send postcards? Isn't it the future or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

Modern tecnology, great. My dads just discovered facebook, he now sees all of what we young people do be doin. Ie stickin up random clips from YouTube and givin out about the price of things. Not to different from himself.
    The mammy says it like a threth "well you do know I use facebook"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Mr. Z

Thinly veiled "I'm going on holidays, f*ck every single last one of you. You subhuman scum could never afford to go on holidays!!" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

When I was a kid I used to travel into town 1.10 return to buy a music magazine or if it was my birthday or had done a few odd jobs i would have enough to buy a cd single or maybe a 19.99 Irish pound album

I devoured every piece of text and photograph from those magazines and record sleeves

and now its just a click away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Dont tell me youre minding the neighbours dog while theyre on hols:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Yes, brown door!

Yeah about that, can you please paint your door to red please, your insistence to paint your door brown in line with the Jone's is ruining the neighbourhoods all red colour scheme!!

Please tell them likewise since you're both in such cahoots together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Interweb is ok for booking adult hols but if there's kids involved then I think a lot of people prefer to go to a travel agent to have some sort of guarantee that they get good accommodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Yes the times are changing OP you wont be watering your garden for 2 hours with these water charges imminent :D

Yeah about that, can you please paint your door to red please, your insistence to paint your door brown in line with the Jone's is ruining the neighbourhoods all red colour scheme!!

Please tell them likewise since you're both in such cahoots together.

You are right. I need to be more considerate. Will address that issue and inform The Jones's of same. (God, so many damn rules in a red light district!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

A few generations ago communication between the the US and Europe took ten days, in clement weather, by ship.

20 years ago sending a loved one a copy of a photo was a lengthy chore that involved getting camera film developed and using snail mail. Now it can be done in a matter of seconds.

Not so long ago many medical conditions were a death sentence. Now you just take a couple of pills, be grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Doubt it. The Jones's were classy.

OP on the other hand is going to Costa Del Sol. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

So you say there's an unguarded house on your streets the minute........

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

We can't bust heads like we used to. But we have our ways. One trick is to tell stories that don't go anywhere. Like the time I caught the ferry to Shelbyville. I needed a new heel for m'shoe. So I decided to go to Morganville, which is what they called Shelbyville in those days. So I tied an onion to my belt. Which was the style at the time. Now, to take the ferry cost a nickel, and in those days, nickels had pictures of bumblebees on 'em. Gimme five bees for a quarter, you'd say. Now where was I... oh yeah. The important thing was that I had an onion tied to my belt, which was the style at the time. You couldn't get white onions, because of the war. The only thing you could get was those big yellow ones...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

catallus wrote: »
    Interweb is ok for booking adult hols but if there's kids involved then I think a lot of people prefer to go to a travel agent to have some sort of guarantee that they get good accommodation.

LOL. Wut?