Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

kids and ferries

• 16-05-2014 6:48am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭

Any regular ferry travellers with kids here to advise on what sort of ID I can use for an 8 and 2 year old. Does it have to be a photo ID and if so , what?
    merci
    whoops. Just spotted the 'all passport questions' sticky. Dont hurt me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

For ferry travelling to where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Layinghen

Where are you taking the ferry to?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Layinghen wrote: »
    Where are you taking the ferry to?

Oh sorry, Uk. Holyhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

None required AFAIK. I've never had to show ID regular user of that route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Layinghen

It might be no harm to have their birth cents ( or copies) with you just in case. You and your other half presumably will have driving licences or passports with you.

Enjoy the holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    None required AFAIK. I've never had to show ID regular user of that route

I think official response (at least from the Irish Ferries FAQ) is "some form of identification" is required, if you're Irish or from UK. But I agree, I've never had to show any id for myself, let alone my kids, that's to Holyhead or the Pembroke/Fishguard routes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Binky Bricktop

We went that route two weeks ago and they checked everyone's ID coming off in Holyhead - luckily we had our passports on us! Might just be a one off but take something to identify everyone travelling with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

We went that route two weeks ago and they checked everyone's ID coming off in Holyhead - luckily we had our passports on us! Might just be a one off but take something to identify everyone travelling with you.
    was that on foot or in the car?
    I've done both Dublin/ Dunleary - Holyhead and Roslare - Fishguard and never got checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Ye must have a dodgy look off ye ;)

I've been through numerous times stopped by customs numerous times and have yet to be asked for ID.

As mentioned above though probably an idea to have some form of ID at least for yourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Binky Bricktop

We went by car and they checked every single person coming off, not just the dodgy looking me :-) Took ages as well. Had a feeling they were checking for someone in particular as they were studying everyone's passports closely, even the kids.

No problems coming back a week later, though, as normal no stopping anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

We went by car and they checked every single person coming off, not just the dodgy looking me :-) Took ages as well. Had a feeling they were checking for someone in particular as they were studying everyone's passports closely, even the kids.

Probably an alert caused by a parent snatching a kid to take him/her out of the country. I have never been asked for ID coming off in Holyhead though as another poster has said, the excise lads (HMRC) can pull you over the odd time for a chat, especially just before you board coming back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Went to Holyhead and back a couple of weeks ago with two kids and herself none of us were asked for if at any time coming or going
    Took all passports with me in case
    Found the whole thing very relaxed unfortunately if will take something to happen before it's tightened up