Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

soil aerators

• 15-05-2014 10:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭

Lads any of ye have aerators and if so do you find them a good job? half the farm here gets wet easily and prone to poaching so considering investing in one. There appears to be 2 main types, those with the blades on a roller and those with the spikes/blades on a frame which weight is added to. Any experiences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Milked out wrote: »
    Lads any of ye have aerators and if so do you find them a good job? half the farm here gets wet easily and prone to poaching so considering investing in one. There appears to be 2 main types, those with the blades on a roller and those with the spikes/blades on a frame which weight is added to. Any experiences?

Why invest use contractors see which Mach works best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Will be contacting a few of the local contractors alrite, onelad doesn.t but he's more of a tillage lad so ploughs or disc, just said I'd ask here seeing as there are a range of land types being farmed by all the users

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Milked out wrote: »
    Will be contacting a few of the local contractors alrite, onelad doesn.t but he's more of a tillage lad so ploughs or disc, just said I'd ask here seeing as there are a range of land types being farmed by all the users

Let me know how ya get on as I'm building a roller one at the min

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I have a 10ft spike one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

I have a 10ft spike one

How do you find it, does it help drainage/ growth much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭knockmulliner

I have used a 3 meter aerator on a marl type soil on my dairy farm and find it excellent for drainage and slurry absorption, by reducing surface compaction. I just bought a 5 meter one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

what type is it knockmulliner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Its hard to know what to make of these aerators.
    All the salesmen tell you there the best yoke since sliced bread but they don't have any trials to show you. If teagasc or someone did a trial on them then I'd be more convinced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭knockmulliner

It's a Fleming. My soil seals on top when rain hits it, i have seen water on top and soil dry 2 inches down. Spiking is a no brained in my situation. Farm was tilled continously for years and straw taken off, so low K and organic matter.