Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy Power

• 14-05-2014 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

Paddy Power has withdrawn my guaranteed odds and restricted my bets .Simple story don't bet with him anymore but most of them are the same ,win a few euroes and your gone and the excuse is "We are a limited company and must have regard for the shareholders"
    Moral:You cant beet the bookies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭handsfree

They once gave me the excuse that their cheque machine was broken as an excuse for not issuing a cheque for 4 weeks.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Slim Charles

1garryowen wrote: »
    Paddy Power has withdrawn my guaranteed odds and restricted my bets .Simple story don't bet with him anymore but most of them are the same ,win a few euroes and your gone and the excuse is "We are a limited company and must have regard for the shareholders"

You must be shrewd out to get that kid, send us a few tips !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭del roy

Yeah mate you can't beat them unless you bent their rules a little. I have had 8 accounts closed in the last six months, I am currently using a couple of my sisters accounts, the only bad thing about this is having to ring them when I need a bet on as they have to put it on from their IP address as they know mine.
    One account closed for winning €443 in just two weeks. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,440 ✭✭✭shmeee

John Boyles done the same to me when after I took them for €250 from a 10er.

"It was a trading matter" they said.

They are all cowards. Cash in shop is the only way but even at that they look at you twice if you hand in a few 50's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

The reason why your accounts are being restricted & closed is because I bet there's a variance in the types of bets you do. For example, you punt in tenners all day then you have a 50 or 100 on a horse. This happens a lot nowadays. I have 3 accounts, I'd be a decent punter who has minimum 50 quid bet, & I've never had so much as an email sent my way. I'm winning on 2 of the accounts & just about breaking even on the 3rd. It's all about consistency with your bets. It's the same in any of the shops. The odd time I do venture into a betting shop these days for a cash bet I have no problem getting a bet on. The first thing the bet clearance crowd asks the staff is "does he always have these type of bets" & if you do then you'll have no problem getting a bet on in any shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Never heard about someone being closed because of betting that way. Consistently beating SP is a sure fire way

Motivator wrote: »
    The reason why your accounts are being restricted & closed is because I bet there's a variance in the types of bets you do. For example, you punt in tenners all day then you have a 50 or 100 on a horse. This happens a lot nowadays. I have 3 accounts, I'd be a decent punter who has minimum 50 quid bet, & I've never had so much as an email sent my way. I'm winning on 2 of the accounts & just about breaking even on the 3rd. It's all about consistency with your bets. It's the same in any of the shops. The odd time I do venture into a betting shop these days for a cash bet I have no problem getting a bet on. The first thing the bet clearance crowd asks the staff is "does he always have these type of bets" & if you do then you'll have no problem getting a bet on in any shop.

Mo
    my bets were all €20 e/w six times with the same bookmaker...closed :mad: after winning €434.

Boyles restricted me to 0 max stake after about five bets, think one won account down 50

Urban
    the shops are the only way to get it on now. (with different people going in for you)

del roy wrote: »
    Mo
    my bets were all €20 e/w six times with the same bookmaker...closed :mad: after winning €434.

That's shocking if true. Ask them for a reason, of course it'll be in the terms & conditions you agreed to when you signed up but ask them for a reason.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I only use Pinnacle now, profit on turnover nearly 6.8% in last 4 months.
    Try that in other sites and you will be closed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Getoffmytrain

The reason at least 95% of accounts are closed is because they win money and won't lose it back.
    Paddy Power are for mugs only, money back specials are used to make you feel like they're your mate, whereas like your man in Gorey they'll bleed you for every penny they can if you're losing money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭shebzie

+1 for few tips lol you must be handy to be beaten paddypower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Is betfair the better option? Or is that the same..

No betfair is an exchange, you aren't winning money from betfair they merely facilitate the bets. Betfair sportsbook is a bookmaker

Mo

The six bets you placed were probably deemed as "bad ew" bets. Just this morning a guy I work with was giving out because Ladbrokes knocked him when he tried to back an 11/4 shot ew. It was effectively a 2 horse race. 10/11, 11/4 & 8/1 the field. The odds on shot won & his horse was 2nd. Traders deem these type of races as "bad ew" races & try to limit we betting to an absolute minimum.

I turned the last 50 in my account into 1037.00 over last 3 weeks. But I have no idea if my account in in profit or loss.
    I've only logged in 170 this year. PP
    Tomorrow I'm going to take it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Just a quick question, i wouldnt be a massive gambler stakeswise, ten euro here and there, if i walked in to bookies and wanted to put a grand on a 13/8 shot would it be taken?

give over Deco the kid don't do 13/8 shots :D

Deco99 wrote: »
    Just a quick question, i wouldnt be a massive gambler stakeswise, ten euro here and there, if i walked in to bookies and wanted to put a grand on a 13/8 shot would it be taken?

You could have what you want on any big race at that price, might be a problem if it was a handicap around Tramore or somewhere but I could be wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

give over Deco the kid don't do 13/8 shots :D

Ha ha :) sure didnt i miss today as well, have to keep an eye daily again now,

i got reminded of old tv shows last night and streamed a few episodes of Saved by the Bell, low and behold a horse was running today called.....Saved by the Bell, i put a tenner on it at 13/8 as it was like a sign, got me thinking if i was so inclined what would be the max a fella like me could go in and put on a pony

UrbanSea wrote: »
    You could have what you want on any big race at that price, might be a problem if it was a handicap around Tramore or somewhere but I could be wrong

Every firm will have different limits & regulations regarding early & show prices, liabilities etc. a grand at 13/8 should be a no brainer for any betting shop & this type of bet should never be refused or knocked but unfortunately it sometimes is. I'd be a regular enough punter in my local shop & I've never had a bet knocked, the staff ring the rare decent bet in alright but they always take it. Biggest stakes bet was €3,000 on Sprinter Sacre in Aintree last year at 1/3 & the girl behind the counter took an age to accept the bet. I don't think she understood it because she was saying that she'd have to ring it in - I explained a couple of times that it was the same as having €200 on a 4/1 winner! She rang in that bet but never rang the time I had a monkey on a 6/1 shot. Sometimes they just see the stake & panic. If you're friendly with shop staff they'll do their best for you - what I mean by that is if you're polite.

Every firm will have different limits & regulations regarding early & show prices, liabilities etc. a grand at 13/8 should be a no brainer for any betting shop & this type of bet should never be refused or knocked but unfortunately it sometimes is. I'd be a regular enough punter in my local shop & I've never had a bet knocked, the staff ring the rare decent bet in alright but they always take it. Biggest stakes bet was €3,000 on Sprinter Sacre in Aintree last year at 1/3 & the girl behind the counter took an age to accept the bet. I don't think she understood it because she was saying that she'd have to ring it in - I explained a couple of times that it was the same as having €200 on a 4/1 winner! She rang in that bet but never rang the time I had a monkey on a 6/1 shot. Sometimes they just see the stake & panic. If you're friendly with shop staff they'll do their best for you.

It's actually the same as 200 on a 5/1 shot :P But I know some will ring if the bet exceeds a grand but they really should be laying 1k at 6/4

UrbanSea wrote: »
    It's actually the same as 200 on a 5/1 shot :P But I know some will ring if the bet exceeds a grand but they really should be laying 1k at 6/4

Ah you know that I mean! I'll be honest I can remember when I was a kid if i went in to my local bookies & had £2 on a horse id be kicked out. Nowadays bookies are paying their staff from this type of punter. About 15 years ago I recall a well known punter in town having a couple of £5,000 bets with an independent bookie over the course of an afternoon. Not an eyelid batted & now look at the way things have gone? I'd imagine if I was to frequent a different shop I wouldn't be long getting knocked but I'd be well known to the girls in my local shop & have been for a few years. I've regularly had €1000 on 5/4 & 6/4 shots & there's never been any problem. But I've heard of lads trying to have €100 ew on 5/1 shots & being told no.

I put 600 on acushladear in pp shop, took bet no hassle. Then handed over another 600 instantly again for acushladear both win bets. Of course it won, I had serious inside info.
    Took them days to pay up. It was a race at Dundalk

I put 600 on acushladear in pp shop, took bet no hassle. Then handed over another 600 instantly again for acushladear both win bets. Of course it won, I had serious inside info.
    Took them days to pay up. It was a race at Dundalk

They've no problem with you betting like that, they just won't guarantee the price for you.

I got price at time of bet 4-1, ended that way too sp 4-1.
    I backed it week before this bet at 10-1 with 100 ew. That is only reason I went big, as it was bookies cash and I was told it would win easily again and it did. It went on to run in grade 1's. It was running at very low mark ,then suddenly became MUCH better LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭razorhead

I got price at time of bet 4-1, ended that way too sp 4-1.
    I backed it week before this bet at 10-1 with 100 ew. That is only reason I went big, as it was bookies cash and I was told it would win easily again and it did. It went on to run in grade 1's. It was running at very low mark ,then suddenly became MUCH better LOL

Not trying to be pedantic,but once you collected your €100 ew winnings this was your cash and not the bookies....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭YoungKhalifa

anyone know if paddy power give the bigger price in accumulators and doubles. i know they don't in shop but maybe online?

I rarely place big bets. To me at least it was easier to place that bet with winnings rather than out of my own pocket. But I get what you're saying.

No calling it bookies' money is a loser's mentality. Once you have the money it's yours, that's a poor way of thinking