Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's been the happiest year or time period of your life so far?

• 11-05-2014 1:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭

I really enjoyed 2003 and some of 2004. The music scene was really good. The Irish scene was booming. Bell x1, Nina Hynes, Damien Rice, etc etc... Festivals were really good, Witnness, then Oxegen. The summers were really good! I'm listening to a 2003 playlist at the min. Also I was just out of secondary school, the whole world was at my feet, my whole adult life ahead of me! Ireland just seemed really happy! And there was money! :pac: It was probably my favourite time so far. What's been the happiest time period in your life so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Never been happier than the last few months. . Hope to get happier in the next few months.
    #neverhappy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

The last few months. And it just keeps getting better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

My boy racer days. When I was young I had me a little modified car. Every weekend we'd go on cruises or congregate at the back of the B&Q car park where promiscuous young females awaited to be picked up by a fella with a big exhaust pipe or 17 inch rims. It was easier to impress the girls in those days. I know they had a bad reputation, but there was a great sense of community among young motorists then. As someone who is big into cars it was a great time. I refer to it as the Max Power era. Then the recession came followed shortly by Gay Byrne and the modified car culture slowly died.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

I've never being happy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    My boy racer days. When I was young I had me a little modified car. Every weekend we'd go on cruises or congregate at the back of the B&Q car park where promiscuous young females awaited to be picked up by a fella with a big exhaust pipe or 17 inch rims. It was easier to impress the girls in those days. I know they had a bad reputation, but there was a great sense of community among young motorists then. As someone who is big into cars it was a great time. I refer to it as the Max Power era. Then the recession came followed shortly by Gay Byrne and the modified car culture slowly died.

Love this reply!

The amount of time it must've took to come up with this utter nonsense...

Boii Raceeeeer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

The year I became a father and last year, my first year down under. Exiting times.

Love this reply!

The amount of time it must've took to come up with this utter nonsense...

Boii Raceeeeer!

Huh? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

robertxxx wrote: »
    I've never being happy.

Same here. I have had very happy moments but couldnt really say I had a sustained happy period in my life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭fullaljackeen

Seven years ago about this time of year I discovered something special. A surprise. A feeling and a craving that has stayed with me since then. On an ordinary week day during the hum-drum of life something magical happened.

During my lunch time at work I made tea and opened a kit-kat bar. Would you believe one finger was completely filled with chocolate! The other three were like, well, normal kit-kats.
    Amazing!

I often wondered if I'd ever find another like it. Sadly, so far, I have not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Probably my school days, even though it didn't feel that way at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

In 2006, I was unemployed for 6 weeks. The only thing I had to do was go to college and study for exams. Would walk around town on a Friday afternoon with a 99 in hand, not a care in the world. Got some decent weather too. Got to sleep in a few days. I did very well in my exams that year too. Last time I can remember feeling no stress or anxiety.

Seven years ago about this time of year I discovered something special. A surprise. A feeling and a craving that has stayed with me since then. On an ordinary week day during the hum-drum of life something magical happened.

During my lunch time at work I made tea and opened a kit-kat bar. Would you believe one finger was completely filled with chocolate! The other three were like, well, normal kit-kats.
    Amazing!

Ahh yes, the auld food anomalies. I once got a packet of Chickatees with a Wheelie in it. Good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

The last few months. And it just keeps getting better.

This :)
    Met a guy, fell in love, getting married, bought a house. Its just getting better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭ronjo

2002/2003

First year contracting and earning a bloody fortune and living in a great city in Central Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

The time I had a poo at Paul's...it was amazing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I haven't ever been happy. I don't quite know what it is. I am feeling quite content lately though, for the first time in my life. I think maybe this is the best I can hope for.

I'm getting to be content. I have a great boyfriend, who I'm trying to convince myself that he loves me. I have a job that I like, probably for the first time ever. I don't care too much that I don't have many friends. I'm financially comfortable. Well if I had a bit more, I'd be happier as I'd be able to afford to live by myself instead of in a house share.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

oldyouth wrote: »
    Same here. I have had very happy moments but couldnt really say I had a sustained happy period in my life

Same here, plenty of happy moments but no one period that sticks out. I'm quite sure though that I wouldn't want to go back, like teens was a lot of fun but where did we get the fecking energy? ;)

Amazing!

Thank you. You have given me hope, and I am buying Kitkats today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭MikeSD

For about a month in 2012.
    I think that once you reach your happiest moment, you will experience the biggest low of your life when it's over

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Huh? :confused:

I haven't a clue to be honest, just look at the time this was posted :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

The summer when I was 16. Had just finished a mini-holiday (Transition Year) and spent that summer having drinks in fields with friends, working part time, fooling around and just having a blast. Didn't realise it at the time, but that was the last summer where I was truly free and had no commitments or anything.

It was great. But you gotta grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭SmokeyEyes

I'd have to say the past year has been pretty amazing, I've just been very happy and content in life. We got engaged last June after ten amazing years together, I turned 30 in October which I felt really good about and found out a few weeks after that I was pregnant with our first baby!! I've been pretty terrified in the following months because it was all new to me but also so happy and excited. At the moment the baby is due next month just before our 11 year anniversary and we're planning our wedding for the following June and everything just feels really good.

I'm surrounded by so much love and happiness even though we don't have a huge amount of money at the moment and it just makes me so happy to be alive in a non corny way. I have a person I consider the love of my life and my best friend and to know we're going to have a little person we created together next month is incredible.

I'm still terrified of labour but overall I've never been happier and it's made me really appreciate how lucky I've been in life to have that happiness:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

25 - 30 yrs, I had all my ducks in a row and felt unstoppable. Got blighted by depression a few months after turning 30 and everything fell to bits. I'm working towards getting back to zero at the moment but still feel I'm walking a tightrope and could fall at any minute. But however bad things are they could always be worse, ultimately despite my health issues I feel okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Definitely my secondary school days. What a great time that was. Nothing has panned out right for me since. I know you make your own luck, but sometimes you also need things to just 'go your way' too. Unfortunately my grand plans of a great career in my chosen field, loads of friends, a lovely hubby/boyfriend and a nice life....all a dream. At almost 40, I have a boring, trained-monkey admin job, no man (ever), and few real friends. I just spent the entire weekend watching tv and surfing the internet. Again. I feel powerless at this stage to drag myself out of this dullness and make the life I know I deserve.

I wish I could go back to being sixteen just for a day. Oh, the talking-to I would give myself about so many things.

Anybody got a Delorean and a Flux Capacitor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

The day I discovered drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭deseil

When I discovered if you bite both ends off a Twix, you can use it as a straw to suck tea or coffee through...its heavenly chocolatey biscuity caramelly tea mmmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Happiness is a place that is always there inside you. Everyone has a heaven inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Happiest I've been in a long time was when I spent two days in Barcelona. Fell completely and irrevocably in love with the city and for the last 5 years I've been trying my damndest to save up enough to eventually go back for at least a week. Sadly, life gets in the way and just when I think I've got a hold on my savings, something comes along to put a dent in my funds.
    In Barcelona I had no worries, the sun was splitting the stones, there was great craic to be had and I had no stresses or worries. I miss that. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

There was one week in perticular when I was 18. Within the space of 7 days I passed my driving test, got my leaving cert results and got what I wanted in them, bought my first car which I loved and got my my first choice of college course on the Cao. It was a good week :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

The summer of '69, I'll never forgive that Joey fecker for getting married. At the ripe old age of 19, madness. Ruined it all so he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

The summer of '69, I'll never forgive that Joey fecker for getting married. At the ripe old age of 19, madness. Ruined it all so he did.

That was the year I bought my first real six string. Played it till my fingers bled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

January 29th of this year, and every day since.

I met the love of my life and I haven't stopped smiling! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

No particular time stands out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

2001...the summer of love for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Every summer since 2010 on. Got a summer job I love that I see myself doing for the rest of my life. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Evanescence released Fallen that year, 1 of the greatest rock records of all time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

orangesoda wrote: »
    Evanescence released Fallen that year, 1 of the greatest rock records of all time

Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭marie12

The awe and wonder of being a child believing the faraway tree existed in this magical forest where i grew up.
    Every morning i wake up and see the most beautiful eyes and smile.
    Lying in bed with my dad in his last few days holding his hand.
    When my mother compliments me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Lol

sorry i don't understand these hipster code words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Munstermad

Going ta bore everyone with this one, 1.1.1993 I was 20 and gave birth to my son, my life began the day he was born....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

Year I did my postgraduate , 12 months of a course I loved, a job that was mental but amazing, a group of friends who were up for the craic and any sort of madness that was going on. Goin to partys that lasted 3 days and traveling round Ireland that summer camping. Everyone lived simply and on the cheap, nobody cared about mortgages or health plans, all us not been hit by the real world. So so happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

In the summer of 99, I was in Cape Cod , working illegally in a gas station ... best job ever ... best summer ever ... not a care in the world ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Absolutely loved 2008 and the first few months of 2009! I was 17/18 then and life was great!

Look on the brightside kid. You then had bebo to fill the gap that was left by boy racing. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,693 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Everything was going to **** until I got a job over Christmas which I absolutely loved, in a music store. Me being massively into music loved this. Everything was brilliant with the girlfriend, booked our first holiday together and our first without parents with my first wage. Everything good with parents at home, college going fine. Then the job ended and I've been unemployed since. I find myself getting unhappier by the day. Thought I was bad before I got that job but I feel like I'm in a completely different world to that. Hard to get back out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Everything was going to **** until I got a job over Christmas which I absolutely loved, in a music store. Me being massively into music loved this. Everything was brilliant with the girlfriend, booked our first holiday together and our first without parents with my first wage. Everything good with parents at home, college going fine. Then the job ended and I've been unemployed since. I find myself getting unhappier by the day. Thought I was bad before I got that job but I feel like I'm in a completely different world to that. Hard to get back out.

Chin up mate, have you thought about looking abroad ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Munstermad wrote: »
    Going ta bore everyone with this one, 1.1.1993 I was 20 and gave birth to my son, my life began the day he was born....

Must've been pretty cold before then?

Look on the brightside kid. You then had bebo to fill the gap that was left by boy racing. :)

They both coincided tbh. The only way to fill the gap was to emigrate, which was the second happiest period of my life. :)

5th year in school was great too. No exams, no pressure, completely carefree. I got my first shift at the back of the oil tank, (our school couldn't afford a bike shed.) Her name was Yolanda and she had long blonde hair which smelt like coconuts. It's amazing the way a smell can trigger the memory. Whenever I eat a Bounty it reminds of Yolanda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,693 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

the_monkey wrote: »
    Chin up mate, have you thought about looking abroad ?

Alot. I'd go in the morning if I could. Unfortunately its just not feasible atm. I'm hoping to be able to the second I get my degree and if other things work in my favour.