Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Few shots from my first wedding.

• 10-05-2014 2:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭

Recently I asked for help tips and advice on shooting my first wedding on boards, a few people asked for a look at the shots afterwarsd so... a few snaps from the day as promised!

Samples link below... they have not been edited besides cropping and b+w processing. Love to know what ye think, thanks again for all the help people! Rob.

Here's a Link to a quickly edited album from yesterday:

-modnote- link removed by request

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Take out the 2nd mirror in the first shot - she's not going to thank you for capturing that look on her face!! It 'confuses the shot too and I don't know what I should be looking at.

Other than that what you've posted seems fine if a little dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭M.J.M.C

Some cracking shots fair play you should be very proud of yourself.
    How did you find the experience overall? (as it was your first wedding)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

fabulous - some cracking shots in there to choose from. well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,094 ✭✭✭forgotten password

beautiful pictures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭m-i-m-m-

M.J.M.C wrote: »
    Some cracking shots fair play you should be very proud of yourself.
    How did you find the experience overall? (as it was your first wedding)

Thanks for the kind words people.

I found It a bit never racking (inevitable), but the good kind, the apprehensive energyfull kind! Had a fantastic day and very pleased that I didn't feck it up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Well done. Lovely shots. Tell us a bit about what lenses, lighting you used.

Myksyk wrote: »
    Well done. Lovely shots. Tell us a bit about what lenses, lighting you used.

Thank you

Mark 5d iii
    24-70mm 2.8
    70--20omm 2.8

No flash, just natural light :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Congratulations and well done! Must be delighted with how they turned out!

Mind if I ask why there are no colour snaps?

Tristram wrote: »
    Congratulations and well done! Must be delighted with how they turned out!

Mind if I ask why there are no colour snaps?

This is just a quick edit in lightroom of a few shots cropped and blanket converted to b+w, as I was excited and don't have my proper screen here!

When I get home and have time to spend there will be colour / b+w, and somewhere in between photos as appropriate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Gotcha!

Thanks for starting the other thread btw. Even though I'll never be a wedding photographer there were good questions and a lot of great advice that was interesting to read. :)

Tristram wrote: »
    Gotcha!

Thanks for starting the other thread btw. Even though I'll never be a wedding photographer there were good questions and a lot of great advice that was interesting to read. :)

No bothers, thanks for following.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Just had a good look there at the full set - super impressed!! There's a few there that I'd take out but overall they're great.

Well done..

Thank you Kindly :-) Like I was saying that album was a quick edit... I'm still in Edinburgh enjoying the city!

When I'm home a full edit will be done. Have over a 1000 pic to go through.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,026 ✭✭✭kelly1

Great set mimm. A good few I would take out but I'm guessing you would agree?

Very brave of you to not use flash IMO but then you can afford to with a 5D3.

What was your top ISO, out of curiosity?

To be critical, I wouldn't be keen on the mixed toning you've used. I think it should be consistent.

Well done for a first time!

I shot a wedding on Saturday and the weather was a disaster and the bride wasn't keen on smiling, so tough gig! :)

kelly1 wrote: »
    Great set mimm. A good few I would take out but I'm guessing you would agree?

Very brave of you to not use flash IMO but then you can afford to with a 5D3.

What was your top ISO, out of curiosity?

To be critical, I wouldn't be keen on the mixed toning you've used. I think it should be consistent.

Well done for a first time!

I shot a wedding on Saturday and the weather was a disaster and the bride wasn't keen on smiling, so tough gig! :)

Thank you... I'd say roughly iso3200 close to the highest. Mostly 800-1600 for the indoor stuff... 5d3 noise levels are suburb.

Mixed tone is still un-decided from my side, gona leave it up to the bride and groom to decide what they prefer.

Sounds like a tough gig indeed for you! How long have you been a wedding tog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,026 ✭✭✭kelly1

m-i-m-m- wrote: »
    Sounds like a tough gig indeed for you! How long have you been a wedding tog?

I wouldn't call myself a wedding photographer, I'm an amateur, but I do enjoy portraiture and weddings. I've only done 2 unpaid and 4 paid weddings, so lots to learn!

For me there are 2 areas I find most difficult - quickly changing settings when going from indoors to outdoors and vice-versa. I tend to work in manual mode as I don't trust Av and I use flash, trying to keep it as subtle as possible.

The other thing that I'm not the best at is organizing groups shots. Especially when the women are wearing very high heels and are as tall as the men. I know you're supposed to group heads in triangles but how do you do that when the heads are the same height. Grrrrr :)

kelly1 wrote: »
    I wouldn't call myself a wedding photographer, I'm an amateur, but I do enjoy portraiture and weddings. I've only done 2 unpaid and 4 paid weddings, so lots to learn!

For me there are 2 areas I find most difficult - quickly changing settings when going from indoors to outdoors and vice-versa. I tend to work in manual mode as I don't trust Av and I use flash, trying to keep it as subtle as possible.

The other thing that I'm not the best at is organizing groups shots. Especially when the women are wearing very high heels and are as tall as the men. I know you're supposed to group heads in triangles but how do you do that when the heads are the same height. Grrrrr :)

Lots to learn not matter how long we're at it! I agree re changing settings, takes practice and being on the ball. Flash is something I will be using in ze future when I can afford a decent one! Looking forward to doing another wedding... have a second shooter job lined up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭toe_knee

Great job