Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have I Been The Victim of Road Rage?

• 10-05-2014 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1

I was involved in an altercation yesterday and it has left me shaken but I'm not sure have I been the victim of a road rage incident or just being over sensitive.

The incident happened at an interchange - one which, I have been traveling on Mon to Fri for 9 years, I might add without ever as much as a beep. The single road I was on joins 2 other roads that come from the left. I had to stay in the right hand lane as I was going eastbound. Cars give way to each other depending on if they are travelling east or west. As I came to the interchange there was a lorry in the lane to my left blocking my view of the lanes to the left as I went passed the lorry, a car that had been in front of the lorry came into the lane behind me and flashed its lights. I actually thought I must know this person, as they flashed because nothing had happened! At the same time a learner driver who had looked like they were going Westbound indicated to come into my lane and I braked to let them in. That's the background!

The car proceeded to follow me for another mile or two into a shopping centre. Foolishly, I thought this was coincidental. I was in the car for a little while, getting myself ready. I got out of the car to get my bags out of the boot and as I did two women got out of the car that had followed me. I immediately felt very threatened as they were physically in my personal space. The driver called me a bad driver, and said I should have given way to her. To a point I agree, you give way to cars from the left. But my view had been blocked and she can't expect just to put in her indicator and come into the lane right away. When I went to argue my point, she cut me off and said she had reported me to the gardai. Her sidekick then accused me of treating the L driver badly or something to that effect. I was shell shocked by what was an unwarranted unprovoked verbal attack. As I went to say my piece, she accused me of being aggressive, as she " knew I would be" . I was flabbergasted. They walked away into the shopping centre giggling to each other.

I made a call to Trafficwatch myself to report the incident. They wanted me to make a statement but I felt I didn't want the hassle of it. I've been left feeling very anxious by the whole thing. I've barely eaten or slept playing the whole thing over. In one way, I'm furious that she was so adamant that she was right and I never got the chance to properly have it out with her, but I also think it's frightening that people think it's ok to do this. Would she have accosted me if she was on her own?

For those of you still with me, I just wanted to know would you consider this road rage or if this person was justified in approaching me, irrelevant of their belief of my wrong doing? Do I just need to grow thick skin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Grow thick skin. It's hardly road rage if they walk off giggling, just constructive criticism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Oh come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭ViveLaVie

Sounds like two mentlers. Forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭ViveLaVie

Sounds like two mentlers. Forget about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I preferred your story attempt yesterday. 3/10 would not recommend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Not something to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Key their car, that'll learn em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

you should have asked her how did she report you to the guards whilst driving her car...

cloud493 wrote: »

Ahh crap.

cloud493 wrote: »

Ahh crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

Who the f*ck follows someone for 2 miles just to shout at them? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Is the op American?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

The driver called me a bad driver, and said I should have given way to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

Hotale.com wrote: »
    Who the f*ck follows someone for 2 miles just to shout at them? :confused:

Ah they were going that way anyway. OP chill out, go eat something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

Ah they were going that way anyway. OP chill out, go eat something.

I doubt it. OP sat i her car gettng ready for a while and they waited for her and then approached her. They mightve decided to go in afterwards, but they still kind of ambushed her.

Actually I would be shaken too OP. And do report them, they might learn not to be intimidating people in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Satriale wrote: »
    you should have asked her how did she report you to the guards whilst driving her car...
    AFAIK youre allowed to ring the emergency services when driving
    Could be wrong I know you used to be able to but it might have changed recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Sounds to me like they were ass holes , I can imagine getting more and more angry that you didn't give them a slap . Was it road rage ?? I don't think so , they were a bunch of pr1cks . Some people in life constantly find trouble for themselves , and these are them.
    Carry on your life and don't worry about them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Best way to deal with people like that is treat it as water off a ducks back:

"You're an agressive person."
    "No, I'm not."
    You should have left me in."
    "No, it wasn't safe to do so."
    "I've called the guards on you."
    "That's great. Sure my reg number is there. I'll be in doing my shopping if they want to chat with me. Cheerybye."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

Ye see, if I was in that situation op, I would have flipped the fcuking lid and tore them a new one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Pointless giving an opinion on these type of things because it only one side of the story. Maybe they're nuts or maybe you're a bad driver. To be fair, following you that distance suggests they're complete lunatics or you did something pretty dangerous to infuriate them that much.

Just forget them. At least it didn't turn into a fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Best way to deal with people like that is treat it as water off a ducks back:

"You're an agressive person."
    "No, I'm not."
    You should have left me in."
    "No, it wasn't safe to do so."
    "I've called the guards on you."
    "That's great. Sure my reg number is there. I'll be in doing my shopping if they want to chat with me. Cheerybye."
    I find the best way of handling people that I don't want to deal with is simply walking away. Don't speak, don't engage, just walk away. They'll shout after you, but unless they start calling you names or trying to provoke you in some way, just ignore and keep walking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

AFAIK youre allowed to ring the emergency services when driving
    Could be wrong I know you used to be able to but it might have changed recently

If its an emergency. This doesnt sound like an emergency. Having said that the passenger could have phoned them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Sound like they are just trying to antagonise you. Let it go, treat yourself to an icecream. Crisis averted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I don't know....have you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Mikika wrote: »
    I'm furious that she was so adamant that she was right..

Think about how Gerry Conlon felt.

Seriously though. Life is too fcuking short to be getting so upset about something like this, to the point where you can't eat or sleep. Shit happens. I wouldn't worry about what two idiots think about you. Even if they were right, who cares. Learn any lessons you can from it all and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I don't know if it was road rage as it sounds like they were more collected than that. The confrontation shook you up either way which is perfectly normal, in my opinion; it probably stressed you and you may have experienced an adrenaline dump which is probably why you couldn't sleep and have lost a bit of your appetite.

A good night's sleep tonight will set you straight no doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

It's hard to give an opinion without hearing their side of the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

So not road rage. I see road rage about 2-3 times a week right outside the office. Not sure what is with the junction put people go mental at each.

People should be carful what they are doing as there are lots of cameras about. There also seems to be extra cameras about whether from the road authority are the Gardaí at the moment. They are just up temporary around Dublin at the moment but they are moving them about a lot. In Drumcondra today. Also traffic sensors about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Mikika wrote: »
    ........... As I went to say my piece, she accused me of being aggressive, as she " knew I would be" . I was flabbergasted. They walked away into the shopping centre giggling to each other.

I made a call to Trafficwatch myself to report the incident. They wanted me to make a statement but I felt I didn't want the hassle of it. I've been left feeling very anxious by the whole thing. I've barely eaten or slept playing the whole thing over. .............

Make a statement - it might save someone else too

The highlighted part is a bit odd - maybe this is a "thing" with them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 98 ✭✭Timmehhh

lol

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

PICS or GTFO

I'm confused by the lane layout