Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tyre question..buying high spec s/hand car..crap tyres..advice needed

• 05-05-2014 5:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭

Hi

My wife is buying a 12 month old high spec coupe.
    She's almost done the deal, we've driven it etc and I don't know much about cars But I've always been very careful about tyres on both our cars and especially hers.
    I checked the tyres and they were heavily worn, I said to her to tell the sales guy the car needs news tyres, good quality tyres seeing as it's a high spec car etc...I was passing the forecourt of the garage today and popped in to have a look at the tyres they've fitted...2 Aeolus and 2 Winda tyres..a quick google tells me they're Chinese made and extremely cheap.
    Any of you have any experience /knowledge of these makes? I don't think this is a good enough replacement of the equipment...I would be encouraging the garage to replace them with a better brand or pull the plug on the sale. what do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I'd be insisting on proper tyres tbh

How high spec are we talking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭moby2101

..fairly high spec BMW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Offer to pay the difference to upgrade to deccent tyres. Difference should be small enough in the whole scheme if things. I have a 2.5 bmw and good tyres are essential for rwd cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭garclo

moby2101 wrote: »
    ..fairly high spec BMW

it's obviously a lot of money you're spending so if it was me I wouldn't accept cheap Chinese tyres. it would be a deal breaker! you can bet the car came out of the factory with a much better brand on them. is it a bmw main dealer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I'd be insisting on proper tyres tbh

How high spec are we talking?

I agree and I'd be insisting on 4 of the same too!

Thanks for the answers lads, yeah main dealer.. I wasn't expecting it to be fitted with Continental or Michelin or Pirellis.. but these tyres wouldn't exactly inspire you with confidence (...I could be 100% wrong)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

I wouldnt accept them. Have a feeling your BM will handle like a bag of shite on those tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Pay the difference me arse. A 12 month old car from a BMW main dealer and they're throwing on Chinese muck? Is it premium selection? I'm sure BMW would be interested to hear what their dealers are putting on 12 month old cars.

As an absolute minimum i'd be looking for complete replacements in a mid range performance tyre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

Was it a BMW main dealer? If so that's very poor form. Also, has the car a spare? There's a good chance it should be on run flat tyres if not and in that case it's even more strange that they'd put cheap tyres on it. I wouldn't accept them in an case and certainly not on a year old BMW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

They didn't even put 4 matching tyres on the car. Good tyres or no deal,unless of course you are getting a good deal on your trade in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Don't accept cheap Chinese rubbish tyres especially on a rwd car. I have found that dealers whether they big or small will fit the cheapest piece of **** they can buy if they can get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

A car with even moderate performance will handle like a sled on ice on chinese tyres. Night and day compared to decent rubber. I'd ask for a €600 discount or four matching branded tyres. It would make me wonder what else they'd scrimped on - 10w40 Lidl oil maybe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

12 month old car that needs new tyres? How many Km's has it done.

Lesson to be learnt for next time. Take the car as it is and factor in a new set of quality tyres into your offer. The only way to control which tyres are put on your car is to put them on yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If they are putting mismatched rubbish like that on the car you can only imagine the oil, filters, plugs and other parts that can't be easily viewed that they are using when servicing cars. I would avoid.

..car has 20k kms done, it's in excellent nick and we're getting a VERY good trade in also..

I was away for a few days last week and she was doing the deal herself so I'm sure there is an element of having a go at putting on the rubbish tyres as a woman wouldn't know any different..

I was showing hewr this thread and the responses so unless they replace them I think we'll be looking elsewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Good for you, there are more cars for sale than ppl to buy them,as has been said before €600 discount and leave the original tyres or else reputable rubber. At the end of the day,what price would you put on safety ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

Im going to assume this car is a 320cd or similar. From factory this car would have had Continental tyres that are considered premium range. This is so the car performs to the best of its ability. The least I'd accept would be a recognised brand name like Bridgestone/Pirelli etc. If it's a deal breaker then walk as there are plenty of other cars and dealerships out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

Would not be happy with that at all.

What is more annoying is that this is a main dealer, and your clearly spending a lot of money no tell them to shove it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

For a 12 month old car from a main dealer I would be shocked if they were not required under their franchise agreement for approved used to only fit homologated tyres. Tell them to feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭DubVelo

Wouldn't take chances with tyres on anything here considering our sh*te weather and all sorts of road surfaces.

,.update

I called to the dealer today and expressed my displeasure with the situation and he said a mistake had been made in supplying the tyres and they are replacing them with a new set of Good Year Eagles NCT..
    Result!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Great result :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭garclo

moby2101 wrote: »
    ,.update

I called to the dealer today and expressed my displeasure with the situation and he said a mistake had been made in supplying the tyres and they are replacing them with a new set of Good Year Eagles NCT..
    Result!!

well done, imagine the amount of people that wouldn't even think of looking at the tyres and how often the dealer is getting away with this. fair play to you for speaking up and getting it sorted. happy motoring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Great result in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

Nice! Fair play on voicing your displeasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

mistake mehole!!! bloody chancer.
    Anybody putting those tyres on a BMW or any bloody car knows immediately the customer is getting screwed..it was no mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Definite chancer.
    Dont know the size but maybe €80 a corner compared to something like €200 a corner.

Blazer wrote: »
    mistake mehole!!! bloody chancer.
    Anybody putting those tyres on a BMW or any bloody car knows immediately the customer is getting screwed..it was no mistake.

Without a doubt - surely if you got in an order of 4 tyres - youd check the ensure the correct tyres as ordered - arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Old diesel wrote: »
    Without a doubt - surely if you got in an order of 4 tyres - youd check the ensure the correct tyres as ordered - arrived.

They probably just sent the car down to the nearest tyre centre and told them put on the cheapest tyres they had in stock in that size. They chanced their arm that the OP would not notice or make a fuss, he did and then they sent the car back down for proper branded tyres. The next time it happens a customer might not be so prudent, you win some, you lose some. They are not the first dealer to try something like this and certainly won't be the last.

bazz26 wrote: »
    They probably just sent the car down to the nearest tyre centre and told them put on the cheapest tyres they had in stock in that size. They chanced their arm that the OP would not notice or make a fuss, he did and then they sent the car back down for proper branded tyres. The next time it happens a customer might not be so prudent, you win some, you lose some. They are not the first dealer to try something like this and certainly won't be the last.

Something to watch out for without a doubt - youd expect a BMW dealer to do the right thing as standard though.