Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Job Title

• 05-05-2014 1:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭

I was out with the lads at the weekend and we got laughing and joking about wealthy people and golf and a debate started.

If a wealthy person was paying you 1000euro a week to lug around his golf clubs at the weekend would you take it? (Bear in mind this isn't a job on the side- its your full time job that you just so happen to do once or twice a week).

To my suprise most of the lads (and then my family the following day when I asked them) most of them said no. They'd rather take a less paying job with a nice title such as company director/senior technical person (regardless of what the actual day-to-day job actually encompasses). Just so long as it doesn't make them sound to other people like they are a skivvy.

Personally Id rather be a high earning skivvy than a lower earning company director. What about you lads? What would you rather?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,294 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Money is fine in the short term but in the long term I need something that would challenge me or give me some job satisfaction. Job title is irrelevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

BillyBoy13 wrote: »
    I was out with the lads at the weekend and we got laughing and joking about wealthy people and golf and a debate started.

If a wealthy person was paying you 1000euro a week to lug around his golf clubs at the weekend would you take it? (Bear in mind this isn't a job on the side- its your full time job that you just so happen to do once or twice a week).

To my suprise most of the lads (and then my family the following day when I asked them) most of them said no. They'd rather take a less paying job with a nice title such as company director/senior technical person (regardless of what the actual day-to-day job actually encompasses). Just so long as it doesn't make them sound to other people like they are a skivvy.

Personally Id rather be a high earning skivvy than a lower earning company director. What about you lads? What would you rather?

Get paid 52k a year to carry golf clubs?
    Where do I sign up?
    That's perfect job for most people, no stress, get to work outside and get rewarded well too. No stress involved really either.
    In a place I used to work in, the manager earned less that the team he was managing. None of us could understand why he would put up with all the crap that was involved with management when we spent all day taking the piss out of each other.
    Was great Craic. We still had to work alright, but once we did the work and didn't feck up that was all that mattered. In the end we found out that he took it because being a low level manager was important to him because of the title.

So In summary if I had a choice between choosing low level management or an easy job that paid better, I'd chose the latter. If it was a case with definite routes of progression as opposed to a dead end job, I'd chose the former. I'd rather earn 52k a year carrying golf clubs than 40k a year and having to put up with a load of stress and ****e just so I could call myself a manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Weekend job that paid 1000 a week? Sure! I'd do that no problem, and do my regular job during the week. I'd probably be a rubbish caddy though as I know nothing about either golf or clubs. That's a fairly specialised job in reality!

It's nice to have a job with a snazzy title, but my priority is usually something with a decent pay packet and room for serious progression. Don't want to top out at age 40.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

I'd take the money but you can be guaranteed I'd be investing it and trying to turn it into more money - that's your 5 day a week job and nice title - venture capitalist

• Registered Users Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭skallywag

The majority of employers will give an employee the title he / she wants, it costs them nothing, and is usually meaningless unless it's bench marked across the industry.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

I'm not qualified to be a caddie...
    In the words of Judge Whitey: Now, my caddie's chauffeur informs me that a bank is a place where people put money that isn't properly invested. 

I would be very happy to be paid a 1000 Euro a week... is that the going rate?
    A quick search suggests that it is almost that, it's 1000 dollars, so call it 750 Euro.
    Plus 5-10% of the winnings if your guy wins?
    Sounds totally like a good job.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

I earn significantly more than that a month in my current job (admittedly though for a 40 hour week) and I'm not even sure what my official job title is and I don't really care and I'm baffled as to why anyone would care as long as they were earning decent money.

Having said that, I'd take the caddy job for the decent hours and working outdoors with a decent walk, assuming it was tax free. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Depends on circumstances. If I was just out of college then I'd consider myself to have struck gold. But as a long-term career choice, no.

To address your point in general, once you've spent a few years doing a menial task like lugging golf clubs, it would be very hard to do anything else that pays near the same amount.

In those same few years the 'company director' could have slowly but surely progressed their career so that they're now 1) earning the same money as the golf club lugging skivvy and 2) have far more options open to them to continue progressing.

I also wouldn't consider 52K (i.e. 1000E a week) to be high earning at all.

I'd rather focus on what the best decisions are for progressing in my career. Once that happens, the money will follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Yolandi Boraine

BillyBoy13 wrote: »

No one rich would pay 1000 euro a week to have someone carry their clubs , especially when you could get it done for less by anyone.

And if they would pay that they wouldn't be rich for long.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

No one rich would pay 1000 euro a week to have someone carry their clubs , especially when you could get it done for less by anyone.

5049411+_6e7be7dc18c895b51b6b523702be3262.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

Apparently that's the going rate... according to a few sources.
    but you're not paid by one rich guy, unless they are a pro golf in which case you probably spend a lot of time working with them as they would be practicing all the time...
    For caddies in general they would help a variety of golfers through the week.
    Wikipedia says the going rate in American clubs is a hundred dollars a bag per game plus tips.
    so if you get one game in a day plus two a day at the weekend you're hitting about the grand mark.

50 grand a year might not be amazing to some but it's considerably higher than the median wage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

I'd do as a part time job during the college year and summer holidays but I think I'd either go insane or else take up golf if I had to do it for the rest of my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

What kind of company is going to have its person of title "Company Director" earning less than 52k a year?

Its either a pretty **** company with a owner with an inflated ego or a sole trader golf caddie company :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

For 1000euro a week I wouldn't care what I was called. I'd probably settle for 'that asshole earning 1000euro a week carrying clubs and getting stoned all the time'

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

Caddying at such a well paying level would involve carrying someone's bags around for up to 27 holes (as it would be in the US that you'd get paid that much) in what most Irish people would consider extreme heat (US again) and providing a constant mix of shameless ass licking and highly knowledgeable advice about golf to whoever you're caddying for. You'd have no job security whatsoever and no prospects of advancement beyond being a caddy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

• Registered Users Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

T-K-O wrote: »

I think the op's use of a caddy was purely illustrative. I also suspect he meant a general lugger-of-golfclubs rather than a professional caddy who advise their player (and are usually very handy golfers themselves).

Sugar Free wrote: »
    I think the op's use of a caddy was purely illustrative. I also suspect he meant a general lugger-of-golfclubs rather than a professional caddy who advise their player (and are usually very handy golfers themselves).

Aye, any person of ambition would not be interested in the offer presented by the OP.

Not necessarily - like I said earlier in the thread - I'd take the money and would try to invest it shrewdly. It may not work out, but the ambition would be there. Turning the job that pays you into the fuel that drives your own ambition & ideas isn't a new phenomenon.

D'Agger wrote: »
    Not necessarily - like I said earlier in the thread - I'd take the money and would try to invest it shrewdly. It may not work out, but the ambition would be there. Turning the job that pays you into the fuel that drives your own ambition & ideas isn't a new phenomenon.

As you said there is no guarantee on the investment and quite frankly not that much money to invest. Unless, you are talking about several years lugging the bag around.

Personally, those years are better spent carving out and specialising in a career you actually want.

As you said there is no guarantee on the investment and quite frankly not that much money to invest. Unless, you are talking about several years lugging the bag around.

Personally, those years are better spent carving out and specialising in a career you actually want.
    It could take several years, it could take 10, it may never happen - my initial point was that the argument of 'any person of ambition would not be interested' isn't quite valid so far as I'm concerned.

You can be ambitious in carving out a specialized career/working towards a title in the same way you can be ambitious in taking a job that will get you through while you work towards other goals.

At the end of the day I can't really talk, I'm currently going down the 'carving out a career' road :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I'd take the job, earn his trust over 2-4 years.
    Get friendly with him and his family. Get to know his habits.
    Then rob him and live in Mexico.

Thats a venture capitalist.

D'Agger wrote: »
    It could take several years, it could take 10, it may never happen - my initial point was that the argument of 'any person of ambition would not be interested' isn't quite valid so far as I'm concerned.

You can be ambitious in carving out a specialized career/working towards a title in the same way you can be ambitious in taking a job that will get you through while you work towards other goals.

At the end of the day I can't really talk, I'm currently going down the 'carving out a career' road :)

:D okay okay, my initial response was a little too harsh for most.
    Of course there are certain situations were the 1k / investment option could be very appealing and yes it could work out.

Personally, I'd prefer to hitch hike cleaver in hand.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Assuming you're working the weekend and take a day off a week.
    That would give you 4 days a week to get good at Trading.
    With a virtual account, a lot of motivation and the right aptitude you'd certainly be in with a good chance of getting good at trading the markets.
    3-4 years lugging the bag around and frugal living could give you a nice fund to work with.