Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

give me some advises to be gregarious to Irish friends

• 05-05-2014 12:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 ihk920

HEY mates, I have some problems.
    I have Irish friends,we work at same company. PROBLEM is, I'm from south korea, I really don't know much irish things like favourite musics, humours etc. I can't share lots of these with them. Therefore I study Irish culture, listening lots of kind of musics but I want to get a point what specific things they like.
    We don't talk of serious ones in general, we talk about general music or amuse people. What shell I endeavor to be gregorious to them? I listen what they say everytime but I can't lead it!
    HELP ME ;(

Moved to After Hours because it's the only forum I can think of that's half-way suitable for your question...

Be kind, folk of AH. Be kind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

gvn wrote: »
    Moved to After Hours because it's the only forum I can think of that's half-way suitable for your question...

Be kind, folk of AH. Be kind.

By jaysus, that's optimism of a level we don't see often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Don't call them 'mate', best piece of advice I can give you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Nice try North Korea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

You could talk about their dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

ihk920 wrote: »
    I have Irish friends,we work at same company. PROBLEM is, I'm from south korea, I really don't know much irish things like favourite musics, humours etc. I can't share lots of these with them. Therefore I study Irish culture, listening lots of kind of musics but I want to get a point what specific things they like.
    We don't talk of serious ones in general, we talk about general music or amuse people. What shell I endeavor to be gregorious to them? I listen what they say everytime but I can't lead it!
    HELP ME ;(

If you listen to such great Irish musicians as bewitched, one direction and Daniel o Donnell you will be a legend among your friends

Watch father ted a lot

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Tell them you think Miriam O Callaghan is not appreciated for her intelligence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

HELP ME ;(

Just be yourself! ;)

Instead of trying to learn more about Irish music, just ask your colleagues what they listen to, a lot of Irish people might not listen to Irish music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

HELP ME ;(

Just being yourself could'nt be anymore gregorious, everything else you will pick up on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

To be honest, I'd be more interested in hearing about your culture than having you try to learn ours just for the sake of conversation. You'll learn as you go along.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Replace : Fu.ck with 'Feck'.

For feck sake.
    Feck it anyway.
    Feck you and your fecking water charges.
    Feck off.
    Will you fecking hurry up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Call Bono a wanker. Nothing more Irish apparently than having an irrational hatred of Bono.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Bring a few hot Koreans girls along with you wherever you go, and introduce them to all your colleagues.
    That should increase the level of invites you get to parties, nights out etc.

Not sure if studying Irish culture will help too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Afroshack

Learn to enjoy Irish tea, superquinn sausages (you can buy them in centra now) chicken fillet rolls, tayto, watch some father ted, some love/hate, some 'Other Voices' on RTE2 (really great Irish music show) look up the clip of the man who fell on the ice on RTE and laugh your socks off, learn a cupla focail, slag off Bono loads, find out who Dylan Moran and Tommy Tiernan are and watch their stuff on Youtube (personally I think Tommy is overrated but Dylan's 'Monster show' is hilarious) Listen to whoever bands are headlining Electric Picnic and explore your city - get to know the locals and the best drinking spots. Nothing will make you feel more 'Irish' than getting to know others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Eileen Down

Irish friend is best friend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

To be honest, I'd be more interested in hearing about your culture than having you try to learn ours just for the sake of conversation. You'll learn as you go along.

This ... Just be yourself instead of trying to be Irish. Not all Irish people like Irish stuff anyway.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Watch every episode of father Ted and every episode of the Simpsons up until season 13. Don't forget to memorise every word of it as well. That should cover you for pretty much any conversation with any Irish person. It even helps with starting conversations with new people you've never met before. Just blurt out something like 'Is there anything to be said for another mass? God,I love saying mass'. A line like that will lead to a 4 hour quote fest and you'll probably become that person's best friends, be best man at their wedding and godfather to their kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

be negative in conversation,i.e. if your talking about the weather

friend,great weather we having

you,i heard its going to rain later

Friend,your right,Mick murphy on desk 2 said that earlier
    Lets go for a walk and look for rain clouds

the economy
    friend , i have 5 mortgages and two cars i can't pay for

you ,aren't the banks shaggers screwing you like that

Friend ,i know ,want to come to my house later for a chat and i can fill you in with details

very soon you will be posting here with the problem of too many irish friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Tell everyone that you're the dude from that Gangnam style video and learn the dance. You'll be in like Flynn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

Say "begorrah, begob and bejaysus" after every sentence.

Then tell them that Starcraft is more important than hurling

Point out that Korea once had a king called Wang Kon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

Just show them Oldboy. Anything by Park Chan Wook.Get them interested in Korean flicks!

Call them white devils, say Japan and China are the same country, and point out that Korea is an infinitely more important country than Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

Tell them that Irish tap water is so good they should be charging for it

Tell them you like the honesty of Irish politics and politicians

Tell them their dog would make a fine korean dish

Assume they know everything about Korean history, and discuss the Long term effects of Sejong the Great's Chosŏn'gŭl reforms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

The stars have lined up for you....there was a Father Ted thread titled "Careful now", that was active last night.

Get used to them asking you to say "Koreans...a great bunch of lads" for their comical amusement :P

Despite the fact the original line stated "Chinese", instead of Koreans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Talk about the weather, eg tis a wet day out there paddy, aye so it is, rinse and repeat, you will be accepted as one of their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Learn the theme songs to some Irish tv series and hum them from time to time. I'd recommend Father Ted and Glenroe. Minds will be blown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Buy pints. Everyone loves someone that buys pints. Beats a yapper every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭ireland.man

I've been to Korea, have a Korean partner and met lots of Koreans and I'm sorry to say it's impossible for Irish and Koreans to be friends. They're natural enemies. Like Englishmen and Scots. Or Welshmen and Scots. Or Japanese and Scots. Or Scots and other Scots. Damn Scots. They ruined Scotland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

when all else fails just say 'tis a soft day'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Maybe that's because your not speaking the Irish language to them! Learn Irish that's the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Take a course in Dublinese for Asians