Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

suzuki grand vitara or similar

• 03-05-2014 9:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭

Hi lads. Any of you driving a suzuki g.v lwb commercial. Looking to trough the dogs into etc. Not worried bout wreking it.
    I was planning on getting van but their all low to the ground for going up boreens etc.
    What 4x4's are yee using. What is handy on diesel. I heard the hilux are pigs on diesel.
    Vin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭650gs

There all heavy on the juice its the weight mass Ive driven them all and the only one that could be classed as light is a Defender there a real bone shaker thats the prob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Jimbob79

I drove a shogun swb for years and loved it. For a full tank (60 litres) it did about 350 miles. Have changed to a caddy. Can't believe the difference. Same size tank but getting over 1000kn.

Have to say I thought long and hard but I don't miss the jeep. Have to be more carefull where I park and have a little more walking. But loving the extra €€€€ in the back pocket. Van all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Tdi vitera are really handy on diesel , as are discovery's , or look at the 2.2 diesel xtrail u can pick any of these up for under 2 grand .

I have a disco my self and it was Easier that the transit connect I had , diesel vitera wouldn be the most realiable machine tho , if you doing any hard driving .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

Any thoughts on the Jiminy 1.3lt go anywhere 4X4 I have one myself for hunting and find it great. Low tax and low running costs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭vincentf

Jimny looks good in fairness. But...Where would i put the dog and gear and a deer. I could see myself sweatin like fcuk driving home with everything crammed in. How do you cope ?

Vicent u put them on the roof rack or in a trailer haha .

Will hand it to the jimmy great 4x4 , but if ya can't travel where you want to go in a discovery then you have no business being there

vincentf wrote: »
    Jimny looks good in fairness. But...Where would i put the dog and gear and a deer. I could see myself sweatin like fcuk driving home with everything crammed in. How do you cope ?

Last day of the season 2 of us with full kit (Firearms food drink etc.) put 3 young fallow in the back a bit of a tight fit but we were grand. Just drop the seats.

Early on in the season I put this lad in back no problem

Some squeeze id say with that big deer.lol.Do they come in diesel or are they a 1.3 petrol engine. Must look into them, could be what im looking for.

only petrol 1.3 as far as I'm aware

My one had 60,000 miles and is 01 Reg. paid €1750 for it only €150 more than my scope:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭slingshot88

Hi lads. Any of you driving a suzuki g.v lwb commercial. Looking to trough the dogs into etc. Not worried bout wreking it.
    I was planning on getting van but their all low to the ground for going up boreens etc.
    What 4x4's are yee using. What is handy on diesel. I heard the hilux are pigs on diesel.
    Vin

I sold a 01 passenger grand vitara a few weeks ago, I had it for over a year with no problems at all, found it very good on diesel, 34-38 mpg which is good for a 4x4, Commercial model should have plenty of room for dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭rugermk3

wouldn't go near vitara had one for a week when my jeep was in for a service , biggest pile of s*** ive ever drove , you wont have to worry about wrecking it , it will fall apart on its own , there not even nice to drive,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭triskell

rugermk3 wrote: »
    wouldn't go near vitara had one for a week when my jeep was in for a service , biggest pile of s*** ive ever drove , you wont have to worry about wrecking it , it will fall apart on its own , there not even nice to drive,
    I second that, I had o6 vitara from new, I had it for 5 years, counted the days tilll i paid of the loan to get rid of the bast*rd. dpf issues (it dosent like irish diesel or our style of driving) electrical problems, air con issues, bitch on diesel (thirtyish) 4 and 5 gear to close together. might as well not have fifth gear, seats very uncomfortable (pain in lower back after long drives ) very plasticy.
    only good thing about it, was it was quite capable offroad permanent 4 wheel drive
    tyres are expensive odd size.
    DON'T GO NEAR THEM absolute pile of ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭slingshot88

triskell wrote: »
    I second that, I had o6 vitara from new, I had it for 5 years, counted the days tilll i paid of the loan to get rid of the bast*rd. dpf issues (it dosent like irish diesel or our style of driving) electrical problems, air con issues, bitch on diesel (thirtyish) 4 and 5 gear to close together. might as well not have fifth gear, seats very uncomfortable (pain in lower back after long drives ) very plasticy.
    only good thing about it, was it was quite capable offroad permanent 4 wheel drive
    tyres are expensive odd size.
    DON'T GO NEAR THEM absolute pile of ****e

@ heard a few horror storys about them before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭hathcock

the jimny is a hairdressers jeep,anyway vinny you'd be too big for it,you'd look like postman pat in it.

Was only thinking the same, a laughing stock and blanked from any gun club or bikers gang

Say what ye like about it, it gets me where I need to get to and as I not a member of a gun club or in a bikers gang. It doesn't really matter.

Lets not forget the knitting club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭shotie

any one use the pajero junior 1.1 petrol again 4x4, fold down back seats fit dogs in it no prob , something like the jimmy and its cheap to run too .once it can do its job i wouldnt care what it looks like.mighting suit most people but i find it way better then a car for going off shooting in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

I knew one Irish game keeper who swore by one of these, it went any where.....

Lada-Niva-4x4-1_zps222ef930.jpg
    Lada-Niva 4x4

Used several of these in Northern Spain last year, very tough and versatile even fording rivers.....

Now seriously where he going to get a lada niva .

Mate get urself an xtrail 2.2 diesel 38-40 to the gallon , alright 4x4 system , more room or comfort then ya ever need and the ride height is perfect for a bit of foxing .

Or a disco , 35mpg and it's a Landrover

As I said if gets you there that is all that matters

Some of us don't need big engines to compensate a lack in other departments :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

As I said if gets you there that is all that matters

Some of us don't need big engines to compensate a lack in other departments :D:D

The only department I'm lacking in due to my 2.5L Pathfinder is the wallet, at €1000.00 plus in car tax:mad:

Anyone what tax and ins. would be on an xtrail. Commercials look the job. Engine not too big.
    What the offroad like.

Commercial tax 330 . Insurance depends on ur status , and the 4x4 is grand if it just going across a wet Feild or a muddy path I wouldn be bringing it off roading like a Landrover .

Xtrail is a nice drive tho and gud engines in the 2.2 with great road holding and power

I'm 30 and my no claims is on a van so I started a new policy with fbd on a discovery , 250€ for the year insurance .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭yubabill1

Pajero Jr supposed to be light on juice, surprising when you think about its bigger brothers, but I am assured it's a hidden gem.

I drive a Terrano II converted to commercial crew cab (don't think they allow it now, think only factory conversions allowed, but could be wrong)

Terrano's known to be OK on juice. get about 160km for E20.00.

Good offroad but no difflock, so you need to put something heavy -40kg- in the back for slippery mud; makes the limited slip diff work better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭J.R.

Anyone what tax and ins. would be on an xtrail. Commercials look the job. Engine not too big.
    What the offroad like.

http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/carbycar/nissan/x-trail-2001/

The xtrail diesel can give trouble with turbo and clutch........two expensive fixes.......I've two friends the turbo went on and one the clutch went on...just stopped at the lights and wouldn't move.

I've a petrol x trail.....no problems...........does 34 mpg

tax on 2L petrol - passenger: €710 commercial €330

Everything gives trouble Pajero heads, Navara engine, landrover drive shafts if you service regularly you avoid these problems as for the clutch every car, van or 4x4 can suffer from this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

Love my04 3.2 pajero, loads of space,loads of power and comfortable too, I get about 32 mpg I think
    When I can afford to I'll be getting a new shape one

Love my04 3.2 pajero, loads of space,loads of power and comfortable too, I get about 32 mpg I think
    When I can afford to I'll be getting a new shape one

Turbos , clutches , gearboxes injectors ,

Point being every yoke give trouble these days , and the new pajeros have a guide that built into the timing belt housing that wears breaks off and wrecked the engines so keep and eye out for it when u buy a new one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Turbos , clutches , gearboxes injectors ,

Point being every yoke give trouble these days , and the new pajeros have a guide that built into the timing belt housing that wears breaks off and wrecked the engines so keep and eye out for it when u buy a new one

That guide for the timing chain is operated by oil pressure, keep the oil fresh and serviced regularly and your laughing

Even the the mighty G Wagon can have holes poked in it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

I went searching for something similar about two years ago. i decided on a pajero pinin it is small enough but also big enough to fit everything in and handles well on the motorway. They are a 1.8GDI with the proper super selector system in them the same as any of the larger pajeros. They also have a high and low box. You would be surprised what they can go through.
    I am emigrating in a few weeks time to Germany and will be getting rid of mine i want to take it with me but the insurance would be too much the steering wheel being on the wrong side, Im actually going to buy on in left hand drive once i get there.. It is the same as the one in the pic. If you want to have a look at it before i sell it you are more than welcome. Just send me a pm
    149131.jpg

That guide for the timing chain is operated by oil pressure, keep the oil fresh and serviced regularly and your laughing

Even the the mighty G Wagon can have holes poked in it!

This was precast onto the housing from what I remember and it just snapped off and bang engine down the drain , 07 jeep serviced buy main dealer regularly !

rugermk3 wrote: »

another small jeep not to touch is landrover freelander I had one , and that was the worse jeep <car> I drove, then the vitara , the freelander was 1,8 petrol and it was almost as heavy on juice as my landcruiser and it wouldn't pull u out of bed , 4*4 all the time , drive shaft going to the back fell off then the shafts in the front went , they also give head trouble , I got it in the first place because the head blow, I put a new engine into it and got a years driving out of it , the engine was the next thing to go if I had of hung on to it , wouldn't go near another landrover

You can't compare Landrover , to the freelander biggest ball of **** ever made ! And I'm a big Landrover supporter .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭stef22

buy a discovery 300 tdi if you can find a good one , the best car ! good on diesel and will go anywhere. They last and they look really cool.

stef22 wrote: »
    buy a discovery 300 tdi if you can find a good one , the best car ! good on diesel and will go anywhere. They last and they look really cool.

Give no trouble , cost about 40 euro for all the service parts . And best 4x4 system of them all . And loads of space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭shoot to kill

What about a defender? Anyone have one? Or would I be as well with the link box on the mf135. Comfort wouldn't be one of there sales merits!

I've had one best yoke of them all as long as it not ur everyday yoke , not comfortable and if ya have to go away somewhere like a wedding, it not the best looking yoke in the carpark . But does what ya want it for and ur never afraid to put a dent in them,

Now like everything else when you start raising them up and bigger wheels you start to wear the propshaft and the back diff or transfer box , but keep the suspension standard with chunky tyres and ul go anywhere and have no bother. .

Saying that parts are for dirt money , so you can allow for a bit of messing about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

I've had one best yoke of them all as long as it not ur everyday yoke , not comfortable and if ya have to go away somewhere like a wedding, it not the best looking yoke in the carpark . But does what ya want it for and ur never afraid to put a dent in them,

Now like everything else when you start raising them up and bigger wheels you start to wear the propshaft and the back diff or transfer box , but keep the suspension standard with chunky tyres and ul go anywhere and have no bother. .

Saying that parts are for dirt money , so you can allow for a bit of messing about
    I have a tdi 110 96, love it goes anywhere parts cheap easy to get. And i do all the work on mine and I'm no expert. I.d show up at the wedding in it. And they will always get u home.

Haha I'd have no problem showing up to a wedding it's her self that I would have to listen to tho

You can't compare Landrover , to the freelander biggest ball of **** ever made ! And I'm a big Landrover supporter .

yeah maybe your right but same manufacture, , and I almost brought a discovery 30l v6 ,there sweet to drive and there the best looking 4*4 on the roads but the freelander troubles was always at the back of my mind , so I went for the tried and tested landcruiser ,
    it does like a drink , but its never giving me any trouble or got stuck and I drive it hard ,

Good jaziz. Me heads wreked already with this goes and that goes. I think ill give the 4*4 a miss. Thanks for the insight.maybe a van might be better or maybe not lol

Stay away from 05 caddy a hahaha lol .

Mercy Vito heap of ****e

Transit or hiace. , had a hundred bhp transit and it was awesome , and easier than my connect on fuel . A lot easier .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭yubabill1

10 year-old Seat Inca van 60 mpg.
    VW Caddy same vintage 30 mpg.
    Do the math!

Don't neglect Focus 1.6TDCI van or car - unburstable (do not buy any other engine)great ground clearance for what it is.

yubabill1 wrote: »
    10 year-old Seat Inca van 60 mpg.
    VW Caddy same vintage 30 mpg.
    Do the math!

Don't neglect Focus 1.6TDCI van or car - unburstable (do not buy any other engine)great ground clearance for what it is.

That's funny cause anyone will tell u to buy the ford 1.8tddi engine , and after having one for 5 years I agree they are bullet proof