Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Had a fender bender today

• 02-05-2014 6:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16

hi. went into the back of a car today , wasn't my fault but your man has me dead to rights. he has gone to my insurance and claimed 1000 for panel beating on his bumper or something. my insurance has they can pay the claim or I can. but they are being a little reluctant to let me know what will my premium be next year
    I have 7 years no claims they say this will go down to 2 as the maximum I can have is 5 and they will take that off me. each year is worth 10% discount so I pay 300 a year which is really 600. if I only get 20% next year then I will have a 120 discount and so will pay 480 but they will not tell what the loading fee might be because rates change each day etc
    I'm with liberty
    also they said if he claims I may aswell claim as up to 5000 claims are all the one to them.
    any ideas what the quote might be next year!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Did you have protected no claims?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

If it wasn't your fault why are you accepting liability for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

If you go into the back of someone you are automatically at fault...pretty much no point in contesting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Lol liberty, defrauding themselves.

Go team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

If you got the cash, pay him off. Going through the insurance and he may get the old whiplash after he meets his mates over the weekend.
    These injuries have a habit of manifesting themselves at times like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

blastman wrote: »
    If you go into the back of someone you are automatically at fault...pretty much no point in contesting it.
    Not always. There are plenty of circumstances when you may not be automatically assumed to be at fault, such as if a car unexpectedly pulled out from a junction so close to you that you couldn't possibly be expected to avoid a collision.

OP, if you honestly feel you are not to blame or only partially to blame then it may well be worth your while to contest.
    BTW I doubt an insurer could accurately next years premium unless it's due for renewal soon. There are many other influences unrelated to you, e.g. general claims, financial performance, etc. It's not unusual to find your premium fluctuate by €100s even without a claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 johnny1916

well lads thanks for posting. ya I don't think there is much point contesting it I just want to know if my insurance will be badly done. he has the claim in already so I know what the cost will be just trying to get some feedback as to bhow much my insurance will go and if it is too much i'll pay it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

johnny1916 wrote: »
    hi. went into the back of a car today , wasn't my fault but your man has me dead to rights. he has gone to my insurance and claimed 1000
    well lads thanks for posting. ya I don't think there is much point contesting it

So you were at accident which wasn't your fault, someone claimed off your insurance, and you don't think there is any point contesting it?
    Did I really got all the facts right?

listen I'd love to contest it. but I was behind him at a junction he pulled out his braked hard I went into the back of him. guards came. I dont have a case. I know it was his fault but there is no way for me to win that case

Sorry to inform you, but this was your fault, no matter how hard he pulled his brakes.
    If you were behind him, he didn't pull from the side, or changed lane in the last moment, and you just didn't manage to stop, it is your fault.

fair enough. but none of what you are saying is helpful in answering my question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

How does he have the cost of repairs already if it only happened today?

heappened early yesterday morning. he rang my insurance they gave a list of there acceptable mechanics is the area. he brought it to them. they wrote it up and contacted my insurance who contacted me today

fair enough. but none of what you are saying is helpful in answering my question.

Because no one here really can answer your question precisely.
    If you loose most of your NCB, your premium will go up significently.
    Losing 50% NCB to 0%, equals increase in premium of 100%.

Also additionally on top of loose of NCB, your insurer might increase your base premium based on fact that you had a claim.
    Effectively, you might pay more than double what you are paying now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Immy

I went into back of someone years ago. It went 50/50. The settlements were around the €1k mark. It only had a very small effect on my insurance premium the next year, I can't remember exactly how much, but very small. I even changed insurance companies the next year to get a cheaper quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Dubwat

TheChizler wrote: »
    How does he have the cost of repairs already if it only happened today?

I'm in almost exactly the same position as the OP. And I'm with Liberty too. I was behind a guy at the traffic lights. Lights went green. He started to move. I started to move. He stopped suddenly (legit reason). I didn't :(

The other guy had been rear-ended about a month before I 'bumped' him so he knew the cost of a new bumper. About €1,100. (and no, they was no whiplash claims etc).

Fecking bumpers - I thought that was the whole point of them!

Anyways, Liberty were pushing me hard to pay the €1,100 so I reckon it's to *their* advantage if I pay it. Might be cheaper to see what my next quote will be in August?

If I understand the OP correctly, his insurance might go up €180/yr next year. That's a lot less than paying out €1,000 in one lump sum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

In all fairness OP, it is up to the person behind to keep good braking distance, so you should have being further back. It's the way of the road I'm afraid. Sorry to hear you have this problem, but stay further back the next time and you should be ok.

hi dubwat, ya we are basically in the same situation, did you let the insurance pay or did you? my insurance will be 480 but then there will be a loading fee ( extra cost on the premium for having a claim) so I'm trying to figure out the loading fee my insurance is up in sept and they wont discuss renewal until 30 days before!! they say 'cant possible comment' on what it mite be due to rates changing daily!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Immy

Why not ring a company for a quote based on the info that you were claims free until a couple of months ago and the settlement was €1k.

I did they said they wont insure me as the accident was in the last 2 years. they said most companies are like that u need 3 letters of decline and then ur old insurance company will have to take you.

Dubwat wrote: »
    I'm in almost exactly the same position as the OP. And I'm with Liberty too. I was behind a guy at the traffic lights. Lights went green. He started to move. I started to move. He stopped suddenly (legit reason). I didn't :(

The other guy had been rear-ended about a month before I 'bumped' him so he knew the cost of a new bumper. About €1,100. (and no, they was no whiplash claims etc).

Fecking bumpers - I thought that was the whole point of them!

Anyways, Liberty were pushing me hard to pay the €1,100 so I reckon it's to *their* advantage if I pay it. Might be cheaper to see what my next quote will be in August?

If I understand the OP correctly, his insurance might go up €180/yr next year. That's a lot less than paying out €1,000 in one lump sum.

hi dubwat, ya we are basically in the same situation, did you let the insurance pay or did you? my insurance will be 480 but then there will be a loading fee ( extra cost on the premium for having a claim) so I'm trying to figure out the loading fee my insurance is up in sept and they wont discuss renewal until 30 days before!! they say 'cant possible comment' on what it mite be due to rates changing daily!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Lol liberty, defrauding themselves.

Go team
    Yeah, a really weird conversation to have with an insurance company, especially one that's going to be paying out and then nailing you for it.

OP, if they do give you any money, save it for any premium increase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Hi op sounds like the Crash 4 Cash scam which is a huge problem in the UK.

Always leave room and expect people around you to do anything.

I have been brake checked by the car in front many a time where entering a roundabout with nothing coming and they just stop.

Let this be a lesson to others that this is happening and is big money to these criminals who run these scams.

Very hard to prove unless you have a witness or cctv from the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Hi op sounds like the Crash 4 Cash scam which is a huge problem in the UK.

Always leave room and expect people around you to do anything.

I have been brake checked by the car in front many a time where entering a roundabout with nothing coming and they just stop.

Let this be a lesson to others that this is happening and is big money to these criminals who run these scams.

Very hard to prove unless you have a witness or cctv from the area.

Hard to imagine that's the case here, based on what the OP has described and the fact the guy went to an insurer approved repairer for the quote.

OP, for €1k I'd be inclined to find the money and pay it myself. Even if you have no-claims protection, or step-back protection, you will be at the mercy of Liberty for your insurance for the next few years. If you look for a quote elsewhere you have to disclose the fact you had a claim in the last few years, even though Liberty are offering you some or full no-claims bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

OP will your insurance go up either way? Even though you won't be claiming your insurance company knows you've been in and accident and you could be seen as a higher risk.

I'd be letting them pay for it, it's what you have insurance for and they seem like they're just trying to push it off on you to save themselves.

I let Liberty pay as I didn't have €1,100 to pay for the bumper at the time.

I don't know what my new premium will be as my renewal is in August. If it's a huge increase, I'll find the €1k somewhere and pay it back then.

Dubwat wrote: »
    I let Liberty pay as I didn't have €1,100 to pay for the bumper at the time.

I don't know what my new premium will be as my renewal is in August. If it's a huge increase, I'll find the €1k somewhere and pay it back then.

hi, did you claim for your car at all? they told me I could claim for damage to my bumper aswell , as long as it came in under 5000 all together it was all the one whether he claimed or we both did!
    I dunno if that's true though!!

No, I didn't. There was little or no damage to my car - cracked licence plate was about it.